Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Free Online Resources: Home

A list of some open access databases and journals

TIPS

If you are looking at a free online database, an “Index” means that the database willprovide some data on an article, usually only a citation or an abstract (short summary). “Full-text” means you can read the article in its entirety.

-Search Google Scholar
-Look for Government Funded Resources
-Check in eCommons or other digital repositories
-See what resources are available from institutions in your area

Open Access Resources

GENERAL RESOURCES

  • Worldcat.org
    An online catalog with 69 million bibliographic records and 1 billion individual holdings. Use WorldCat to determine citations for books, journals, videos, and music and to find a copy in a library near you.
  • IDEALS @ Illinois
    Dissertations and Theses: Research and scholarship of Illinois faculty, students and staff.
  • Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection
    Access digital copies of historic Illinois newspapers.
  • ERIC
    Maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, the Educational Resources Information Center is a digital library of educational literature.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    The DOAJ provides access to over 2,500 scientific and scholarly journals. The DOAJ covers free, full-text, peer-reviewed journals from many disciplines and in many different languages.
  • JSTOR Register and Read
    Register & Read Beta is a new, experimental program to offer free, read-online access to individual scholars and researchers who register for a MyJSTOR account. Register & Read follows the release of the Early Journal Content as the next step in our efforts to find sustainable ways to extend access to JSTOR, specifically to those not affiliated with participating institutions.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library
    A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. Features millions of digitied texts, some freely available in full-text, some limited to search-only.
  • International Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP)
    Coverage includes the following disciplines: agriculture, biology & life science, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering & technology, environment, humanities, information & communication technologies, mathematics & statistics, medicine & health sciences, physics, and social sciences.
  • Agricola
    The National Agricultural Library, as part of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, produces the AGRICultural OnLine Access database. This database contains records for books and articles on agriculture and its allied disciplines.
  • OpenDOAR
    OpenDOAR is a directory of academic open access repositories worldwide. It's possible to search for repositories or repositories contents.

ART, ART HISTORY AND IMAGES

  • Artlibraries.net: An international, specialized virtual catalog that provides access to approximately 13 million bibliographic records.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art: A freely available essential index for art and art history.
  • Getty Research Portal:  International collaboration with libraries that are digitizing art history books, thereby making their resources accessible to a larger audience.  Initial contributors include the Avery Architectural & Fine Arts Library at Columbia University, the Biblioteca de la Universidad de Málaga, the Frick Art Reference Library, the Getty Research Institute, the Heidelberg University Library, the Institut national d’histoire de l’art, members of the New York Art Resources Consortium, and the Thomas J. Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
  • Smarthistory: Open web-based multimedia art history textbook.
  • Rijksstudio: 125,000 images from the Rijksmuseum available for download and manipulation.
  • New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images scanned from the NYPL’s collection, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, and photographs.
  • Google Art Project: More than 32,000 high resolution images from over 151 museums in 40 different countries.
  • World Images: 80,000 images free for educational purposes.
  • Your Paintings: 212,000 paintings from collections all over Britain that are in museums, trusts and private collections.
  • Flickr Commons: A resource for images with no known copyright restrictions. Various collections like the Library of Congress image collection going up on this site.

 BUSINESS

  • CrunchBase: Free Tech Company Database
  • NFIB: searchable database of over 2,000 facts about American small businesses and their owners from National Small Business Poll
  • Everybody’s Money: Bundle’s Database of U.S. Spending and Saving

CHEMISTRY/BIOCHEM

  • NIST Chemistry WebBook: A major source of reliable chemical and chemical physics information from the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
  • Sigma-Aldrich: The chemical product catalog, with loads of reliable data on all kinds of compounds, including biological, with spectra, MSDS, and more.
  • SDBS Spectral Database System: Spectral Database for Organic Compounds’ collection of free chemical spectra on the web.
  • WebElements: A great online periodic table.
  • TOXNET (NIH): Excellent suite of databases for scientists and the public, from the National Institute of Health. Index.

CLASSICS

  • Perseus: This flagship collection covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
  • TOCS-IN: (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists): Provides tables of contents for about 185 journals of interest to classicists. Some have links to online abstracts or full text.

EDUCATION

  • ERIC: Thousands of full-text documents on education (including lesson plans) and plenty more citations.

ENGLISH LITERATURE

  • Directory of Open Access Books: A database connecting to full text of open access books including those published by Open Humanities Press. Browse by subject to see Languages and Literatures books.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals: A database connecting to full text of transnational open access journals. Browse by subject to see Languages and Literatures journals including 19: Interdisciplinary Studies in the Long Nineteenth Century, Asian American Literature: Discourses & Pedagogies, Early Modern Literary Studies, and many more.
  • Google Scholar: The Google index of scholarly publications links to some open access materials as well as to subscription-based materials you would need to access through a library.
  • JSTOR Register & Read: An experimental program that allows individual scholars to register for a free MyJSTOR account, search a subset of JSTOR materials, and download a limited number of items for free every 14 days. Try signing up to receive table of contents for key journals in your field.
  • WorldCat: Indexes books, select journal articles, electronic content, and other materials at libraries worldwide and links to some open access materials through programs like OAIster and others. Create a free log in to save your searches and return to them.
  • OAIster: A database of open access materials, searchable through WorldCat.
  • Open Access Literary Peer-Reviewed Primary and Scholarly Publishing Projects: These projects focus on particular geographies and periods.
  1. Eighteenth Connect (British and American, 1660-1820): http://www.18thconnect.org/
  2. Poetess Archive (British and American, 1750-1900): http://idhmc.tamu.edu/poetess/index.html
  3. Nines (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship): http://www.nines.org/
  4. Victorian Women Writers Project (British and American): http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/vwwp/welcome.do

GEOLOGY

  • Search and Discovery from the American Association of Petroleum Geologists’ : AAPG’s special site with abstracts and free stuff useful for quick research on oil and gas related and geology related searches.

GEOGRAPHY

HEALTH, MEDICINE AND BIOSCIENCES

HISTORY AND ARCHIVES

  • Internet Archive: Includes the Wayback Machine, an archive of current and defunct websites, usable just like they were the day they were captured.
  • The Handbook of Texas Online: multidisciplinary encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture sponsored by the Texas State Historical Association.
  • The Digital Library Center (University of Florida): The DLC develops, manages, and publishes digital content from curatorial collections, including rare children’s literature books, antique maps, oral histories and more.
  • ArchiveGrid: ArchiveGrid connects you with primary source material held in archives, special collections, and manuscript collections around the world. You will find historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. ArchiveGrid also helps researchers contact archives to request information, arrange a visit, and order copies.
  • Archive Finder: Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

HUMAN RIGHTS

  • National Security Archive: A stellar resource for primary resources (declassified U.S. government documents) on global human rights issues and U.S. foreign policy from WWII to the present.
  • The Torture Archive: Full text of government documents related to torture related policy post-9/11.
  • Hurisearch: A human rights search engine that searches over 5,000 human rights web sites.
  • Univeristy of Minnesota Human Rights Library: Site contains full text to 60,000+ documents, including major human rights treaties and other resources.

MATH

MULTIDISCIPLINARY SOURCES

  • Librivox: Free online audiobooks from the public domain.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals: Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
  • OAIster: OAIster is a union catalog of millions of open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide.
  • Berkman Center for Internet & Society: A network of faculty, students, fellows, entrepreneurs, lawyers, and virtual architects working to identify and engage with the challenges and opportunities of cyberspace.

MUSIC

PHILOSOPHY

PSYCHOLOGY

  • PILOTS Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress: Journals, books, book chapters, pamphlets, technical reports, and materials in all languages.
  • American Psychological Association: Topical overviews include overviews and pointers to additional resources, research funding, tools and methods and much more.

PHYSICS

  • ArXiv: Extensive open access to e-print articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. Full-text.
  • INSPIRE: Formerly SLAC-SPIRES, this high-energy physics literature database, from the library at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, includes full-text access.
  • NIST Physical Reference Data: The National Institute of Standards & Technology’s physical reference data.

SOCIAL WORK

SOCIOLOGY

  • Bibliography of Data Related Literature: ICPSR Bibliography of Data-related Literature, a searchable database that contains over 60,000 citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.
  • POPLINE: POPulation information onLINE. Contains citations with abstracts to scientific articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.

STATISTICS

  • American FactFinder: Census data directly from the U.S. government.
  • Pew Research Center: Nonpartisan information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.
  • NIMH Statistics: An extensive collection of U.S. statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders from the National Institute of Mental Health.
  • Google Public Data Explorer: Create visual datasets that can be embedded in websites or simply linked to.

WOMEN’S AND GENDER STUDIES

  • Directory of Open Access Books: A database connecting to full text of open access books including those published by Open Humanities Press.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals: A database connecting to full text of transnational open access journals including feminist journals ThirdSpace, The Scholar & Feminist Online, Aphra Behn Online: Interactive Journal for Women in the Arts, and more.
  • Feminist Africa: An open access journal published out of Cape Town. Try searching for other open access journals in your field. Subscribe to the RSS feeds of journal blogs to stay up to date.
  • Genesis: An index to U.K. women’s history resources.
  • Google Scholar: The Google index of scholarly publications links to some open access materials as well as to subscription-based materials you would need to access through a library.
  • JSTOR Register & Read: An experimental program that allows individual scholars to register for a free MyJSTOR account, search a subset of JSTOR materials, and download a limited number of items for free every 14 days. Try signing up to receive table of contents for key journals in your field.
  • WorldCat: Indexes books, select journal articles, electronic content, and other materials at libraries worldwide and links to some open access materials through programs like OAIster and others. Create a free log in to save your searches and return to them.
  • OAIster: Database of open access materials, searchable through WorldCat.