This is the "Home" page of the "Surveys, Tests and Measures for Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Surveys, Tests and Measures for Research  

Last Updated: Jun 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.luc.edu/psyctests Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Tools

Cover Art
Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment - Ian Stuart-Hamilton
Call Number: BF176 .S78 2007
ISBN: 1843104946
Publication Date: 2007
Lewis Ready Reference
London ; Philadelphia : Jessica Kingsley Publishers

 

For More Materials

For other materials on psychological test, surveys, and measures, search the Libraries' catalog, Pegasus (http://pegasus.luc.edu) - some suggested terms are:

  • psychological tests
  • educational tests
  • occupational aptitude tests
  • research -- methodology

Types of Tests

Availability of psychological tests and measures depends on whether they are published or unpublished, as defined below:

Published tests are commercially available for purchase. These measurement instruments have established validity, reliablility and norms and typically come with test manuals and testing protocols. In many cases only qualified or professionally trained individuals can purchase copies.

Unpublished tests are found in the scholarly literature of psychology and have typically been developed by university researchers or other professionals, government agencies, or nonprofit organizations. Copies of these tests may sometimes be found as appendices to journal articles, dissertations, books and other research reports. While access to these tests is not restricted, ethical conduct requires that these tests should be used only with the permission of the instrument's author.

      

    Other Ways

    One way to identify smaller measures, get critiques, and/or get copies, is in articles, studies and dissertations where they were used. Below are some databases (beyond those in your research area)  you may want to search for the measures used by others:

    • Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
      Formerly Digital Dissertations, this database contains over 2.3 million dissertations and theses completed from around the world. Citations are available dating from 1861, and more than 60,000 new citations are added each year.
    • ERIC via EBSCO
      Includes thousands of educational topic, journal articles, books, theses, curriculi, conference papers, and standards and guidelines. Also searches the Professional Development Collection, a specialized collection of hundreds of full text articles.
    • PsycINFO
      Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Susan Wardzala
    Logo - Yahoo IM
    Contact Info
    Lewis Library
    Loyola University
    25 E Pearson #616
    Chicago, IL
    60611
    312-915-6635
    swardza@luc.edu
    GWIM.luc.edu: swardza
    Send Email

    Reference Librarian

    Profile Image

    Need assistance? Please access our Need Help guide for all of our help options, including our 24/7 AskLive reference chat service.
    Contact Info
    Cudahy/IC Reference (773) 508-2654
    Lewis Reference
    (312) 915-6631
    Send Email
     

    CUDAHY | IC | LEWIS | ROME
    UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES | WOMEN & LEADERSHIP ARCHIVES
    LAW | HEALTH SCIENCE

    Loyola University Chicago Libraries
    Cudahy Library · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.508.2632
    Lewis Library · 25 E. Pearson St., Chicago, IL 60611 · 312.915.6622
    Comments & Suggestions
    Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip