This is the "Public History Home" page of the "Public History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public History  

Public History applies the skills and methods of history to the study, management, preservation, and interpretation of historical records, artifacts, and sites. This guide has resources for Archives, Museum Studies, Historic Preservation, and Oral History
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2012 URL: http://libguides.luc.edu/publichistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Public History Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Public History at Loyola

 

The graduate programs in Public History offered by the Department of History rest upon a combination of solid historical training and skill development in applied history research.

Public history uses the past to serve a variety of contemporary needs. It entails the application of the skills and methods of history to the study, management, preservation and interpretation of historical records and artifacts. A public historian is a professional who can put his or her knowledge and skills to use in our society in such diverse activities as museum, historical society or archival work; neighborhood or community history projects; historic preservation and cultural resource management programs; and local, state or federal research projects.

View a short video about the Public History Program at Loyola!

Professional Organizations

Call for Papers

  • Conference on Illinois History
    Proposals for individual papers or panels on any aspect of Illinois' history, culture, politics, geography, literature, and archaeology are requested for the Conference on Illinois History. The Conference welcomes submissions from professional and avocational historians, graduate students, and those engaged in the study of Illinois history at libraries, historic sites, museums, and historical societies.
 

About This Guide

This guide is intended primarily to assist graduate students in Public History courses identify and locate valuable print and online resources available through the Loyola University Libraries as well as freely available web resources. Graduate and undergraduate students in History and in other programs may also find it useful. 

The guide is arranged by subject, with each page (see tabs) providing an introduction to core resources.  The Public History Overview page includes resources of value across the many professional fields that comprise Public History as well as general reference sources. 

Visitors to this page may also find it beneficial to view the History Subject Guide, which provides broader resources for historical research, lists digital collections of primary source materials, and explains how to identify and locate primary sources.

The original author of this guide is Susan Hanf, a 2002 graduate of Loyola University of Chicago's Public History M.A. program.  She completed the guide in fall 2008 as part of a fieldwork/practicum while working towards a M.L.I.S. (Master of Library and Information Science) degree at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

 

Selected Journals & Periodicals

The Public Historian
Call Number: HN1 .P8
ISBN: 02723433
Scholarly articles on history; historic preservation; oral history; and museum and historic site administration. Book, film, and exhibit reviews. Published by the University of California Press for the National Council on Public History

Public History News
The National Council on Public History's quarterly newsletter offers updates on NCPH activities; news on developments in the field; and information on upcoming conferences, fellowships, meetings, and position vacancies.
Loyola Libraries retain a print copy of only the most recent issue in the recent periodicals area of Cudahy. A complete index of back issues, plus links to PDFs versions of issues from recent years, is freely available on the NCPH web site.

Public History Review
An open access journal of peer reviewed articles written by historians and others who work in museums, cultural institutions, and educational and government settings. The journal aims to engage academic historians more fully with the concerns of the public and public history work. It also seeks to articulate creative tensions between theory and practice. To view articles, you will need to register.

History News
Call Number: Cudahy Periodicals E172 .A533
This quarterly publication of the American Association for State and Local History provides articles on current trends, timely issues, and best practices for professional development, and the overall improvement of the field of state and local history.

Citations and/or abstracts are available in Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life.

 

Recommended Books - History/Public History

Scholary works that address American popular culture and memory and their relation to the theory and practice of Public History.

Cover Art
Historians in Public: The Practice of American History, 1890-1970 - Ian R. Tyrrell
Call Number: Cudahy Main Stacks E175 .T975 2005
ISBN: 0226821943

Cover Art
In the Past Lane: Historical Perspectives on American Culture - Michael Kammen
Call Number: Cudahy Main Stacks E169.1 .K256 1999
ISBN: 019513091X

Cover Art
Mickey Mouse History and Other Essays on American Memory - Mike Wallace
Call Number: Cudahy Main Stacks E 172 .W35 1996
ISBN: 1566394457

Cover Art
On Doing Local History - Carol Kammen
Call Number: E180 .K28 2003
ISBN: 0759102538





Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Jeannette Pierce
Contact Info
Cudahy Library
Loyola University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
6525 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626
Phone: 773-508-2637
Fax: 773-508-2993
Send Email
 

LOCL News

Loading Loading...
blank padding

CUDAHY | IC | LEWIS | ROME
UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES | WOMEN & LEADERSHIP ARCHIVES
LAW | HEALTH SCIENCE

Loyola University Chicago Libraries
Cudahy Library · 1032 W. Sheridan Rd., Chicago, IL 60660 · 773.508.2632
Lewis Library · 25 E. Pearson St., Chicago, IL 60611 · 312.915.6622
Comments & Suggestions
Notice of Non-discriminatory Policy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip