Celebrate Transgender Day of Visibility
On March 31st, Transgender Day of Visibility is celebrated around the world. The day is dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments of transgender and gender-nonconforming people while raising awareness of the work that still needs to be done to achieve trans justice.
- LUC CDI LGBTQIA Initiatives Q-Initiatives (Queer Initiatives) are spaces and programs for LGBTQIA students. There are meant for discussing, singing, laughing, grieving, celebrating, and speaking out. Whether you identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, intersex or queer in any way, we invite you to share, listen, and build community with your peers and fellow community members.
- LUC CDI Safe Space Workshops Safe Space Trainings are introductory sessions that work to assist individuals who wish to support the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning, Intersex, and Asexual (LGBTQIA) community of Loyola University Chicago.
- Unisex Restroom Locations - LUC Campuses All restrooms on this page listed are considered by some to be gender-neutral, but are often marked as 'family' restrooms, or single-sex stalls.
- Queer Undergraduates of Empowerment, Support & Triumph (QUEST) QUEST (Queer Undergraduates of Empowerment, Support, and Triumph) is a yearlong mentorship program designed for first-year undergraduate and transfer students that identify within the LGBTQ+ community. Students will be matched with an LGBTQ+ faculty or staff member and one undergraduate student mentor.
- Gerber/Hart Library and Archives: Midwest LGBTQ History & Culture Gerber/Hart Library was founded in 1981 to be a depository for the records of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals and organizations, and for other resources bearing upon their lives and experiences in American society. Gerber/Hart Library has since grown into being the Midwest's largest LGBT circulating library with over 14,000 volumes, 800 periodical titles, and 100 archival collections.
- ALMA (Association of Latino Men for Action) The Association of Latino Men for Action (ALMA) is an educational, social, advocacy, and support group for gay, bisexual, or questioning men. For over a decade, ALMA has nurtured a group identity based on the experiences of gay Latino men and has become an important voice on social and political issues both locally and nationally.
- Asians & Friends Chicago Founded in 1984 to bring together gay people interested in developing a greater understanding of Asian cultures and in developing friendships through social, cultural, and educational activities, Asians & Friends Chicago continues to offer opportunities to meet people and make friends in Chicago and beyond.
- Broadway Youth Center The Broadway Youth Center is a program of Howard Brown Health Center and [its] community partners, offering comprehensive services to youth, ages 12-24 including a safe space for young people experiencing homelessness.
- Center on Halsted Center on Halsted offers a safe and comfortable setting for the youth in the LGBTQIA+ community. Services are offered to youth ages 13-24 for both people who may be questioning their sexuality or have already come to terms with it, and the people who support them.
- The Crib The Night Ministry’s overnight youth shelter, The Crib, first opened in January 2011 as a 4-month pilot program funded by the City of Chicago...The Crib has grown substantially in its first two seasons, but continues to be an overnight space for young people ages 18-24 to get a hot meal, sleep, do yoga, dance, rest, and be safe. The space is welcoming to people of all genders and sexual orientations and is open seven nights a week. [The Crib believes] that every person deserves a warm, safe place to rest, and [The Crib does its] best to build community with the 20 young people who come to stay...each night.
- Gender Just Gender JUST formed itself as a place for those marginalized within traditional LGBTQA communities, namely people of color, youth, trans people, immigrants, people living with disabilities, and others who have not felt that mainstream LGBTQA organizations represented their interests.
- Lambda Legal Illinois Founded in 1973, Lambda Legal is the oldest and largest national legal organization whose mission is to achieve full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.
Man Alive by
"What does it really mean to be a man?In Man Alive, Thomas Page McBee attempts to answer that question by focusing on two of the men who most impacted his life--one, his otherwise ordinary father who abused him as a child, and the other, a mugger who threatened his life and then released him in an odd moment of mercy. Standing at the brink of the life-changing decision to transition from female to male, McBee seeks to understand these examples of flawed manhood as he cobbles together his own identity.
Call Number: HQ77.8.M385 A3 2014ISBN: 9780872866249Publication Date: 2014-09-09
Subject to Change by
Subject to Change is an anthology celebrating the work of five poets who are unapologetically trans: Joshua Jennifer Espinoza, Christopher Soto, beyza ozer, Cameron Awkward-Rich, and Kay Ulanday Barrett. Featuring poetry and interviews, this collection is a testament to the power of trans poets speaking to one another--about family, race, class, disability, religion, and the body.
Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 S83 2017ISBN: 9781943977437Publication Date: 2017-11-16
Trans by
The first poetic exploration of transgender issues by the mother of a transgendered child.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0819572659Publication Date: 2012-01-11
The Unstill Ones by
"On Trans" draw lyrical connections between multiple processes of change and boundary crossing, from translation to transgender identity. Richly combining scholarly rigor, a finely tuned contemporary aesthetic, and an inventiveness that springs from a deep knowledge of the earliest forms of English, The Unstill Ones marks the emergence of a major new voice in poetry.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781400888771Publication Date: 2017-09-25
On My Way to Liberation by
How do you imagine trans liberation while living in a cis world? On My Way To Liberation follows a gender nonconforming body moving through the streets of Chicago. From the sex shop to the farmers market, the family dinner table to the bookstore, trans people are everywhere, though often erased. Writing towards a trans future, H. Melt envisions a world where trans people are respected, loved and celebrated every day.
Call Number: PS3613.E458 O5 2018ISBN: 9781608465927Publication Date: 2018-09-18
There Are Trans People Here by
There are trans people here in the past, the present, and the future. H. Melt’s writing centers the deep care, love, and joy within trans communities. This poetry collection describes moments of resistance in queer and trans history as catalysts for movements today. It honors trans ancestors and contemporary activists, artists, and writers fighting for trans liberation. There Are Trans People Here is a testament to the healing power of community and the beauty of trans people, history, and culture.
Call Number: PS3613.E4644 A6 2021ISBN: 9781642595727Publication Date: 2021-11-16
Don't Call Us Dead by
Smith's unflinching poetry addresses race, class, sexuality, faith, social justice, mortality, and the challenges of living HIV positive at the intersection of black and queer identity. The collection opens with a heartrending sequence that imagines an afterlife for black men shot by police, a place where suspicion, violence, and grief are forgotten and replaced with the safety, love, and longevity they deserved on earth. "Dear White America," which Smith performed at the 2014 Rustbelt Midwest Region Poetry Slam, has as strong an impact on the page as it did on the spoken word stage. Smith's courage and hope amidst the struggle for unity in America will humble and uplift you.
Call Number: PS3619.M5748 A6 2017ISBN: 9781555977856Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Be Who You Are by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.C22969 B4 2010Topics: MTF Transgender Character, Family
I Am Jazz by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ77.7 .H467 2014Topics: MTF Transgender Character, Non-Fiction
Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) PZ7.C88149 Be 20122014 Award Winner
Topics: FTM Transgender Character, Music
Freakboy by Topics: Genderqueer Character, MTF Transgender Character, Mexican Character, Poetry
Being Emily by Topics: MTF Transgender Character
Beyond Magenta: transgender teens speak out by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HQ77.9 .K85 20142015 Honor
Topics: Transgender, Gender Neutral, Non Fiction
Critical Perspectives on Gender Identity by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .C75 2017ISBN: 9780766076723Publication Date: 2016-07-30
Identifying As Transgender by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .W66 2017ISBN: 9781508173496Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Transgender Role Models and Pioneers by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .P46 2017ISBN: 9781508171850Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Helping Your Transgender Teen, 2nd Edition by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .K75 2018ISBN: 9781785928017Publication Date: 2018-01-18
Transgender Rights and Protections by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .K574 2017ISBN: 9781499464603Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Coming Out As Transgender by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .B746 2017ISBN: 9781508171812Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Transgender Teen by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .B753 2016ISBN: 9781627781749Publication Date: 2016-09-13
Supporting Transgender and Gender Creative Youth by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.9 .S86 2014ISBN: 9781433122101Publication Date: 2014-05-28
Welcome to St. Hell by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.8.H36 A3 2022ISBN: 9781338824445Publication Date: 2022-07-19
Being Jazz by Call Number: Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) ; HQ77.8.J47 A3 2016ISBN: 9780399554650Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Detransition, Baby by
Reese wants to be a mom so badly, she'll do almost anything. So when her former partner Ames has an affair with his coworker Katrina that results in her pregnancy, they see an opportunity to create a new kind of family. It's a story of queer community, complicated relationships and creating the kind of world we want to live in.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780593133392Publication Date: 2021-01-12
Middlesex by
The introduction to this novel reads, "I was born twice: first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day of January 1960; and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August of 1974." This coming-of-age story has received some criticism as society has evolved, but it's undoubtedly one of the landmarks of queer literature.
Call Number: PS3555.U4 M53 2002ISBN: 0374199698Publication Date: 2002-09-04
This Is How It Always Is by
"This is Claude. He's five years old, the youngest of five brothers. He also loves peanut butter sandwiches. He also loves wearing a dress, and dreams of being a princess.When he grows up, Claude says, he wants to be a girl. Rosie and Penn want Claude to be whoever Claude wants to be. They're just not sure they're ready to share that with the world. Soon the entire family is keeping Claude's secret. Until one day it explodes."
Call Number: PS3606.R389 T48 2017ISBN: 9781250088550Publication Date: 2017-01-24
The Days of Anna Madrigal by
Follows ninety-two-year-old Anna Madrigal, the legendary transgender landlady of 28 Barbary Lane, as she joins her former tenant Brian on a road trip to Nevada where she attends to unfinished business she has long avoided.
Call Number: PS3563.A878 D39 2014ISBN: 9780062196248Publication Date: 2014-01-21
Small Beauty by
Small Beauty tells the story of Mei, a mixed race trans woman managing the death of her cousin, the ways she contorts to navigate racism and transphobia, and her desire for community as she takes an opportunity to leave the city and revisit a town from her family’s past, where she discovers queer family history while parsing through her own anger and trauma.
Call Number: PR9199.4.W557 S63 2016ISBN: 9780994047120Publication Date: 2016-05-13
Sissy by
"A heart-wrenching, eye-opening, and giggle-inducing memoir about what it's like to grow up not sure if you're (a) a boy, (b) a girl, (c) something in between, or (d) all of the above"-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: CT275.T69 A3 2019ISBN: 9780735218826Publication Date: 2019-03-05
He Said, She Said by
In He Said, She Said, Gigi brings us on her personal journey from Gregory to Gigi, going deeper than ever before and exposing her vulnerability behind each struggle and triumph, with her signature humor on every page. He Said, She Said takes us back to Gigi's early years as an Olympic-bound diver and high school mean girl, losing her mom at a tragically young age, and her journey of opening up about her sexuality and gender identity. She walks us through her transition, baring it all about dating and heartbreak in her stories of falling in love with both men and women.
Call Number: HQ2042 .L395 2019ISBN: 9780525573425Publication Date: 2019-04-02
Trans Bodies, Trans Selves by
"Trans Bodies, Trans Selves (TBTS) will be the go-to resource for transgender populations, covering health, cultural and social questions, history, theory, legal issues, and more. It is a place for transgender and gender-questioning people, their partners and families, students, educators, counselors, and others to look for up-to-date information on transgender life. It is intended to become the ultimate commercial resource..
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T714 2014 & Online AccessISBN: 9780199325351Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Transgender Mental Health by
Four sections address topics such as the history of the TGNC experience, mental health factors particular to the TGNC community, physical health -- including hormones -- of TGNC individuals, gender-affirming surgical procedures, and nonsurgical interventions. Summarizing key points and review questions are included at the end of each chapter.
Call Number: RC451.4.G39 Y37 2018ISBN: 9781615371891Publication Date: 2018-03-08
Health Issues When You're Transgender by
Discusses some of the health-related issues that transgender people deal with, including gender dysphoria, hormone replacement therapy, and gender affirmation surgeries.
Call Number: RC560.G45 M49 2017ISBN: 9781499464641Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Transgender Children and Youth by
A comprehensive guide to the medical, emotional, and social issues of trans kids. These days, it is practically impossible not to hear about some aspect of transgender life. Whether it is the bathroom issue in North Carolina, trans people in the military, or on television, trans life has become front and center after years of marginalization. And kids are coming out as trans at younger and younger ages, which is a good thing for them. But what written resources are available to parents, teachers, and mental health professionals who need to support these children? Elijah C. Nealy, a therapist and former deputy executive director of New York City’s LGBT Community Center, and himself a trans man, has written the first-ever comprehensive guide to understanding, supporting, and welcoming trans kids. Covering everything from family life to school and mental health issues, as well as the physical, social, and emotional aspects of transition, this book is full of best practices to support trans kids.
Call Number: HQ77.9 .N43 2017ISBN: 9780393711394Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Transgender and Gender Nonconfirming Health and Aging by Call Number: HQ77.9 .T71536 2019ISBN: 9783319950303Publication Date: 2018-10-30
Christ the King CWSP
The students of Christ the King Corporate Work Program helped put together the list of books for this guide, but also created posters for our physical displays at the LUC Libraries. You are welcome to download and print.