Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

THEO 100: Introduction to Christian Theology: Meet a Theologian Assignment

Information resources for the Meet a Theologian assignment and other assignments

Meet a Theologian Assignment Guide

  This guide supports students enrolled in any of the multiple Introduction to Christian Theology (THEO 100) classes.

Students assigned the shared Meet a Theologian assignment will find useful information resources and strategies linked from this page. For guides to other assignments, see the Other Assignments page through the tab on the right of this one.

Spring Semester 2021

  How can we together insure you do your best when learning remotely and performing digital research?

Start with our library guide for remote learning, then write to me at jcurrie@luc.edu for research support, appointment requests, ebook recommendations, and instruction opportunities. All questions welcome!

Select a theologian

Choose a theologian who interests you!  Your curiosity motivates you to do the work, and to do your best.

Consider the possibilities:

  • Historical periods from Apostolic to Modern
  • Affiliations from Roman Catholic to non-denominational Christian
  • Aspect of theological inquiry from doctrinal (such as on the trinity) to perspective (such as feminist)

You do want to choose a theologian who has published something that you can use as a primary source (see the next section of this guide) and whose publication has been sufficiently analyzed (see a later section of this guide).

Having trouble?  Talk with your instructor.  Your instructor may give you a list of recommended theologians/topics or will talk with you about your interests and a suitable choice given those suggestions.

In the meantime, take a look at Britannica Academic's list of people known for theology​ or browse one of the books listed below.

Find the primary sources

If you know the source you want to use, search for it by title in the library catalog (in the case of a book) or by starting with the journals list at the library website (to find the full text of an article in an ejournals collection or database). Alternatively, email the citation to jcurrie@luc.edu so that I may find the full text for you.

If you do not know the source you want to use, search for possibilities in the library catalog (especially to locate books) and the research databases (especially to locate articles). See the next section for details.  In addition, you are welcome to email jcurrie@luc.edu with the name of the theologian and a request for help.

Find the secondary sources

Cite your sources and write the annotations

All of the major style guides and handbooks are available at the service desks on all floors in the Information Commons. Copies are available on reserve at the Circulation Desk in Cudahy Library. A simple, accurate tool to help format your citations is the NCSU Citation Builder.  Note the tabs across the top of each template that allow the selection of the style of choice (MLA, for example; APA is selected by default). In addition, note that for Chicago style, the citation builder supports only the author-date method. For the complete Chicago Manual of Style, including the complete notes-bibliography method, consult a quick guide or use the library's ebook edition.

Remember that all of the citation styles have a unique form for passages from the Bible. Instructions for citing scripture in each of the major styles is at https://www.messiah.edu/murraylibrary/guides/bible_cite.pdf.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides concise, helpful information on writing annotations in an annotated bibliography.

 

If presenting, create your slides with care

Your slides should not be a recitation of your presentation--they reinforce for your audience how you are progressing through the presentation, "introducing" them to your theologian of choice.  You may wish to begin with an image (photograph, painting, icon) of your theologian followed by images that connote that person's life and theological contributions. 

For example, an image of candles might be used to remind an audience of contemplative prayer.  The only text on the slide would read "contemplative prayer" and, combined with the image, simply remind the audience of that moment's topical focus.

Remember to place on each slide or on a single slide at the end a URL for the original source of each featured image.

Subject Librarian

Jane Currie's picture
Jane Currie
chat loading...
Contact:
jcurrie@luc.edu
Website