Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spring Semester 2021
How can we together insure you do your best when learning remotely and performing digital research?
Start with our library guide for remote learning, then write to me at firstname.lastname@example.org for research support, appointment requests, ebook recommendations, and instruction opportunities. All questions welcome!
Researching Contemporary Issues in a Christian Context
This guide provides access to recommended newspaper articles, magazine articles, and reports using newspaper repositories, research databases, and reporting services.
Newspapers: The New York Times
The newspaper's own website limits access to full articles. Read an unlimited number by obtaining a pass through the library. Start by creating your own account with your university email address and the password of your choice. I hope you will continue to read the Times even after you've completed this assignment! Note that you will need to reconfirm your pass annually. When you're due, you will receive an email explaining how to update and confirm your pass.
Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal
The newspaper's website only provides full articles to subscribers. Student accounts through the library gain full access to each day's articles. First activate your account using your university email address and the password of your choice. Make Journal reading a daily habit! Note that you will receive a reminder twice annually asking that you reconfirm your account activation.
Newspapers: Other Titles
Newsstream, a digital collection of articles published in hundreds of newspapers, will allow you to supplement the articles you find in the New York Times and Wall Street Journal with regional perspectives.
Magazines: General Interest and Christian Focused
Academic Search Complete, a research database providing access to general interest magazines (as well as academic journals), includes content from a variety of Christian publications. Link directly to those titles within the research database (and elsewhere) using the list below, as well as to the database in its entirety.
Academic Search Complete
After conducting a search, use the filter on the left side of the search results list to see only articles from magazines, not those from academic journals.
Especially Noteworthy Christian Magazines
America: The Jesuit Review
This monthly magazine presents articles and editorials "for thinking Catholics and those who want to know what Catholics are thinking."
The Christian Century
Content in this monthly magazine magazine "explores what it means to believe and live out the Christian faith in our time."
This monthly magazine seeks to provide "a forum for civil, reasoned debate on the interaction of faith with contemporary politics and culture."
This quarterly publication includes articles that "demonstrate that Christian truth is relevant to the whole of life."
A web-based publication featuring "critical and timely issues at the intersection of religion, politics and culture." New content appears daily.
This monthly magazine seeks to present "faith in the context of everyday life, with a strong focus on social justice."
Reports: CQ Researcher
A new report appears each week; the archive contains hundreds on social, political, and cultural issues.
Reports: Congressional Research Service
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Read what your members of Congress read! Researchers prepare these documents for Congress as new issues and legislative debates emerge. Reports include analysis, statistics, and arguments pro and con.
Reports: Pew Research Center on Religion and Public Life
Pew Research Center
Reports, data sets, and interactive graphical representations of trends and movements related to religion and society.
Adding Sources to a Bibliography
Your assignment asks that you choose a citation style and use it in your bibliography. A reliable citation tool that supports each of the major styles is the NCSU Citation Builder.