Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Print Sources
Anchor Bible Commentary Series
Provides more extensive discussions of scripture; shelved in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Cudahy Library at the call number Ref BS 192.2 .A1. Second copies of select volumes are available in the main stacks at the same call number.
Old Testament Library
Find titles in this series by searching the library catalog; locate most print editions in the Cudahy Library Main Stacks and some in ebook editions linked from the catalog.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
Find these volumes in the Cudahy Library Reference Collection at the call number BS 440 .B5713 1974on the main level stack deck; ask for directions at the Circulation Desk.
Essential Research Databases
Review the scripture searching technique in both databases with this library resource guide.
Old Testament Abstracts
Search this research database using its scriptures index or by conducting topical searches with keywords; results typically include more books and book chapters than journal articles.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Search this research database using its scriptures index or by conducting topical searches with keywords; results typically include more journal articles than books or book chapters. In result lists, watch especially for articles published in the Journal of Biblical Literature, Catholic Biblical Quarterly, Vetus Testamentum, Revue Biblique, and the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament.
Reading and Writing Guides
All of the major citation styles employ special formats for citing the bible; a summary created by the library at Messiah College helps with the abbreviations and formatting.
The NCSU Citation Builder generates citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago style's simplified author-date form for the most basic source types: journal articles, books, and book chapters, whether electronic or print.
Print copies of The Chicago Manual of Style, the MLA Handbook, and the Publication Manual of the APA are available on every floor of the Information Commons and on reserve in Cudahy Library. Students using The SBL Handbook of Style for their citations will find a print copy in the reference collection in Cudahy Library; ask for directions to the reference collection at the Circulation Desk.
All-Hours Research Help
Chat at any time
Generalist librarians offer particularly helpful guidance with online source identification and access.