Women's History Month
Women’s History Month had its origins as a national celebration in 1981 when Congress passed Pub. L. 97-28 which authorized and requested the President to proclaim the week beginning March 7, 1982 as “Women’s History Week." Throughout the next five years, Congress continued to pass joint resolutions designating a week in March as "Women’s History Week." In 1987 after being petitioned by the National Women’s History Project, Congress passed Pub. L. 100-9 which designated the month of March 1987 as “Women’s History Month." Between 1988 and 1994, Congress passed additional resolutions requesting and authorizing the President to proclaim March of each year as Women’s History Month. Since 1995, US presidents have issued a series of annual proclamations designating the month of March as “Women’s History Month.”
Art Club (Arrupe College of Loyola University Chicago), created by Laura Perez and Sarah Tejada (Class of 2018) -
Image courtesy of the Women and Leadership Archives, Loyola University Chicago
- National Women's History Museum For the last twenty years, the National Women’s History Museum has served as the largest online cultural institution dedicated to US women’s history.
- Smithsonian American Women's History Museum To create a more equitable America, the Smithsonian is researching, disseminating, and amplifying the histories of American women through its American Women’s History Initiative in preparation for the future Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum.
- Women & Leadership Archives - Loyola University Chicago Established in 1994, the Women and Leadership Archives (WLA) collects, preserves, and makes available permanently valuable records of women and women’s organizations, which document women’s lives, roles, and contributions.
Women's Rights/Wrongs
International Women's Day is celebrated in various countries across the world to recognize the political and social achievements of women.
- International Women's Day Global news, events, and resources.
- UN Women UN Women, the United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women. has the goals of promoting gender equality and the empowerment of women. by bringing together resources and mandates for greater impact.
The National Women’s History Month’s theme for 2024 celebrates “Women Who Advocate for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.” The theme recognizes women throughout the country who understand that, for a positive future, we need to eliminate bias and discrimination entirely from our lives and institutions.
Women from every background have long realized that an uneven playing field will never bring equality or justice. Many feel the critical need to speak up and work harder for fairness in our institutions and social interactions.
During 2024, we recognize the example of women who are committed to embracing everyone and excluding no one in our common quest for freedom and opportunity. They know that people change with the help of families, teachers and friends, and that young people in particular need to learn the value of hearing from different voices with different points of view as they grow up.
(Source: NWHA)
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowIndex of some-full text articles and abstracts related to gender studies, including women's studies, feminism, masculine studies, masculinity studies, transgender studies, LGBTQ, LGBTQA, and sexuality.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text archive of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership including Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, and Woman's Day. Also includes titles such as Parents, Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and Essence. Coverage: 19th century - 2005.
- Women and Social Movements Scholar's Edition This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources related to the history of women in American social movements. Coverage: 1600 - 2000.
- Women's Studies & Gender Studies Locate core research resources related to women's studies and gender studies
The Disappearing L by
"LGBT Americans now enjoy the right to marry-- but what will we remember about the vibrant cultural spaces that lesbian activists created in the 1970s, 80s, and 90s? Most are vanishing from the calendar-- and from recent memory. The Disappearing L explores the rise and fall of the hugely popular women-only concerts, festivals, bookstores, and support spaces built by and for lesbians in the era of woman-identified activism. Through the stories unfolding in these chapters, anyone unfamiliar with the Michigan festival, Olivia Records, or the women's bookstores once dotting the urban landscape will gain a better understanding of the era in which artists and activists first dared to celebrate lesbian lives. This book offers the backstory to the culture we are losing to mainstreaming and assimilation. Through interviews with older activists, it also responds to recent attacks on lesbian feminists who are being made to feel that they've hit their cultural expiration date."
Call Number: HQ76.96 .M67 2016ISBN: 9781438461779Publication Date: 2016-09-01
A Black Women's History of the United States by
In centering Black women’s stories, two award-winning historians seek both to empower African American women and to show their allies that Black women’s unique ability to make their own communities while combatting centuries of oppression is an essential component in our continued resistance to systemic racism and sexism
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780807033555Publication Date: 2020-02-04
Black Feminism Reimagined by
In Black Feminism Reimagined Jennifer C. Nash reframes black feminism's engagement with intersectionality, often celebrated as its primary intellectual and political contribution to feminist theory. Charting the institutional history.
Call Number: Online & HQ1197 .N37 2019ISBN: 9781478002253Publication Date: 2018-12-06
Reshaping Women's History by
"Award-winning women scholars from nontraditional backgrounds have often negotiated an academic track that leads through figurative--and sometimes literal--minefields. Their life stories offer inspiration, but also describe heartrending struggles and daunting obstacles. Reshaping Women's History presents autobiographical essays by eighteen accomplished scholar-activists who persevered through poverty or abuse, medical malpractice or family disownment, civil war or genocide. As they illuminate their own unique circumstances, the authors also address issues all-too-familiar to women in the academy: financial instability, the need for mentors, explaining gaps in resumes caused by outside events, and coping with gendered family demands, biases, and expectations. "
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780252050749Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Feminism for the Americas by
Reveals the story of six dynamic women who drove Pan-American feminism from the 1920s-1940s: Uruguayan Paulina Luisi, Brazilian Bertha Lutz, Chilean Marta Vergara, Cuban Ofelia Dominguez Navarro, Panamanian Clara Gonzalez, and U.S. citizen Doris Stevens. The deep friendships and intense rivalries among these women during an era marked by imperialism, racism, and fascism gave rise to a feminism sensitive to multiple forms of oppression.
Call Number: HQ1460.5 .M35 2019ISBN: 9781469649696Publication Date: 2019-03-04
U. S. Women's History by
Spanning the antebellum era to the present day, the ten original essays in U.S. Women's History represent a cross-section of current scholarship, examining both the causes that have united American women and the conflicts that have divided them. The book offers a fresh take on familiar events and figures, from Rosa Parks to Take Back the Night marches, while vividly conveying the multi-textured and multi-hued tapestry that is U.S. women's history.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780813575858Publication Date: 2017-01-25
Invisible Women by
Data is fundamental to the modern world. From economic development, to healthcare, to education and public policy, we rely on numbers to allocate resources and make crucial decisions. But because so much data fails to take into account gender, because it treats men as the default and women as atypical, bias and discrimination are baked into our systems. And women pay tremendous costs for this bias in time, money, and sometimes with their lives. Celebrated feminist advocate Caroline Criado Perez investigates the shocking root cause of gender inequality and research in Invisible Women, diving into women's lives at home, the workplace, the public square, the doctor's office, and more. Chapters here include: Can Snow-Clearing Be Sexist The Myth of Meritocracy The Henry Higgins Effect One-Size-Fits-Men Yentl Syndrome From Purse to Wallet Women's Rights Are Human Rights Perez writes in her preface, "It's when women are able to step out from the shadows with their voices and their bodies that things start to shift. The gaps close. And so, at heart, Invisible Women is also a call for change. For too long we have positioned women as a deviation from standard humanity and this is why they have been allowed to become invisible. It's time for a change in perspective. It's time for women to be seen." Built on hundreds of studies in the US, the UK, and around the world, and written with energy, wit, and sparkling intelligence, this is a groundbreaking, unforgettable exposé that will change the way you look at the world.
Call Number: Online & HQ1237 .C745 2019ISBN: 9781419729072Publication Date: 2019-03-12
After Misogyny by
A rigorous analysis of systemic misogyny in the law and a thoughtful exploration of the tools needed to transcend it through constitutional change beyond litigation in the courts. Just as racism is embedded in the legal system, so is misogyny--even after the law proclaims gender equality and criminally punishes violence against women. In After Misogyny, Julie C. Suk shows that misogyny lies not in animus but in the overempowerment of men and the overentitlement of society to women's unpaid labor and undervalued contributions. This is a book about misogyny without misogynists. From antidiscrimination law to abortion bans, the law fails women by keeping society's dependence on women's sacrifices invisible. Via a tour of constitutional change around the world, After Misogyny shows how to remake constitutional democracy. Women across the globe are going beyond the antidiscrimination paradigm of American legal feminism and fundamentally resetting baseline norms and entitlements. That process, what Suk calls a "constitutionalism of care," builds the public infrastructure that women's reproductive work has long made possible for free.
Call Number: K 644 .S85 2023ISBN: 9780520381957Publication Date: 2023-04-11
Say More about That by
Concrete strategies to call out wrongdoing at home, at work, at school, and elsewhere In Say More About That, veteran inclusion strategist, coach, writer, and speaker Amber Cabral delivers an incisive and practical guide to assertively addressing inequitable treatment you see at home, work, school, and other settings. The book offers a complete communications toolkit for equity advocacy you can deploy on your own behalf and on behalf of others. You'll get the tactics, context, and tools that make being brave and speaking up a lot easier. You'll also find: A thorough discussion of the fundamentals of inclusion and equity, including concepts of advocacy and allyship, privilege, and identity An examination of the social landscape that makes speaking up so daunting Explorations of the most effective language and tactics you can use when you make a stand for yourself or others The perfect resource for underrepresented professionals, allies, advocates, and people seeking to make a positive difference in the world, Say More About That is the assertiveness manual you need if you've been meaning to speak up but are worried about being drowned out.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781119839323Publication Date: 2022-07-26
The Women's Suffrage Movement by
An intersectional anthology of works by the known and unknown women that shaped and established the suffrage movement, in time for the 2020 centennial of women's right to vote, with a foreword by Gloria Steinem Comprised of historical texts spanning two centuries, The Women's Suffrage Movement is a comprehensive and singular volume with a distinctive focus on incorporating race, class, and gender, and illuminating minority voices. This one-of-a-kind intersectional anthology features the writings of the most well-known suffragists, such as Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony, alongside accounts of those often overlooked because of their race, from Native American women to African American suffragists like Ida B. Wells and the three Forten sisters. At a time of enormous political and social upheaval, there could be no more important book than one that recognizes a group of exemplary women--in their own words--as they paved the way for future generations. The editor and introducer, Sally Roesch Wagner, is a pre-eminent scholar of the diverse backbone of the women's suffrage movement, the founding director of the Matilda Joslyn Gage Foundation, and serves on the New York State Women's Suffrage Commission.
Call Number: K1896 .W46 2019ISBN: 9780143132431Publication Date: 2019-03-05
Sister Outsider by
The leader of contemporary feminist theory discusses such issues as racism, self-acceptance, and mother- and woman-hood.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780307809049Publication Date: 2020
The Equivalents by
The timely, never-before-told story of five brilliant, passionate women who, in the early 1960s, converged at the newly founded Radcliffe Institute for Independent Study and became friends as well as artistic collaborators, and who went on to shape the course of feminism in ways that are still felt today. In 1960, Harvard's sister college, Radcliffe, announced the founding of an Institute for Independent Study, a "messy experiment" in women's education that offered paid fellowships to those with a PhD or "the equivalent" in artistic achievement. Five of the women who received fellowships--poets Anne Sexton and Maxine Kumin, painter Barbara Swan, sculptor Mariana Pineda, and writer Tillie Olsen--quickly formed deep bonds with one another that would inspire and sustain their most ambitious work. They called themselves "the Equivalents." Drawing from notebooks, letters, recordings, journals, poetry, and prose, Maggie Doherty weaves a moving narrative of friendship and ambition, art and activism, love and heartbreak, and shows how the institute spoke to the condition of women on the cusp of liberation.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781524733056Publication Date: 2020-05-19
Women, Race and Class by
From one of our most important scholars and civil rights activist icon, a powerful study of the women's liberation movement and the tangled knot of oppression facing Black women. "Angela Davis is herself a woman of undeniable courage. She should be heard."-The New York Times Angela Davis provides a powerful history of the social and political influence of whiteness and elitism in feminism, from abolitionist days to the present, and demonstrates how the racist and classist biases of its leaders inevitably hampered any collective ambitions. While Black women were aided by some activists like Sarah and Angelina Grimke and the suffrage cause found unwavering support in Frederick Douglass, many women played on the fears of white supremacists for political gain rather than take an intersectional approach to liberation. Here, Davis not only contextualizes the legacy and pitfalls of civil and women's rights activists, but also discusses Communist women, the murder of Emmitt Till, and Margaret Sanger's racism. Davis shows readers how the inequalities between Black and white women influence the contemporary issues of rape, reproductive freedom, housework and child care in this bold and indispensable work.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780394713519Publication Date: 1983-02-12
The Woman's Hour by
"Both a page-turning drama and an inspiration for every reader"--Hillary Rodham Clinton Soon to Be a Major Television Event The nail-biting climax of one of the greatest political battles in American history: the ratification of the constitutional amendment that granted women the right to vote. "With a skill reminiscent of Robert Caro, [Weiss] turns the potentially dry stuff of legislative give-and-take into a drama of courage and cowardice."--The Wall Street Journal "Weiss is a clear and genial guide with an ear for telling language ... She also shows a superb sense of detail, and it's the deliciousness of her details that suggests certain individuals warrant entire novels of their own... Weiss's thoroughness is one of the book's great strengths. So vividly had she depicted events that by the climactic vote (spoiler alert: The amendment was ratified!), I got goose bumps."--Curtis Sittenfeld, The New York Times Book Review Nashville, August 1920. Thirty-five states have ratified the Nineteenth Amendment, twelve have rejected or refused to vote, and one last state is needed. It all comes down to Tennessee, the moment of truth for the suffragists, after a seven-decade crusade. The opposing forces include politicians with careers at stake, liquor companies, railroad magnates, and a lot of racists who don't want black women voting. And then there are the "Antis"--women who oppose their own enfranchisement, fearing suffrage will bring about the moral collapse of the nation. They all converge in a boiling hot summer for a vicious face-off replete with dirty tricks, betrayals and bribes, bigotry, Jack Daniel's, and the Bible. Following a handful of remarkable women who led their respective forces into battle, along with appearances by Woodrow Wilson, Warren Harding, Frederick Douglass, and Eleanor Roosevelt, The Woman's Hour is an inspiring story of activists winning their own freedom in one of the last campaigns forged in the shadow of the Civil War, and the beginning of the great twentieth-century battles for civil rights.
Call Number: JK1896 .W45 2018ISBN: 9780525429722Publication Date: 2018-03-06
Hood Feminism by
A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "The fights against hunger, homelessness, poverty, health disparities, poor schools, homophobia, transphobia, and domestic violence are feminist fights. Kendall offers a feminism rooted in the livelihood of everyday women." --Ibram X. Kendi, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of How to Be an Antiracist, in The Atlantic "One of the most important books of the current moment."--Time "A rousing call to action... It should be required reading for everyone."--Gabrielle Union, author of We're Going to Need More Wine A potent and electrifying critique of today's feminist movement announcing a fresh new voice in black feminism Today's feminist movement has a glaring blind spot, and paradoxically, it is women. Mainstream feminists rarely talk about meeting basic needs as a feminist issue, argues Mikki Kendall, but food insecurity, access to quality education, safe neighborhoods, a living wage, and medical care are all feminist issues. All too often, however, the focus is not on basic survival for the many, but on increasing privilege for the few. That feminists refuse to prioritize these issues has only exacerbated the age-old problem of both internecine discord and women who rebuff at carrying the title. Moreover, prominent white feminists broadly suffer from their own myopia with regard to how things like race, class, sexual orientation, and ability intersect with gender. How can we stand in solidarity as a movement, Kendall asks, when there is the distinct likelihood that some women are oppressing others? In her searing collection of essays, Mikki Kendall takes aim at the legitimacy of the modern feminist movement, arguing that it has chronically failed to address the needs of all but a few women. Drawing on her own experiences with hunger, violence, and hypersexualization, along with incisive commentary on reproductive rights, politics, pop culture, the stigma of mental health, and more, Hood Feminism delivers an irrefutable indictment of a movement in flux. An unforgettable debut, Kendall has written a ferocious clarion call to all would-be feminists to live out the true mandate of the movement in thought and in deed.
Call Number: Online & E185.86 .K46 2020ISBN: 9780525560548Publication Date: 2020-02-25
New Women in the Old West by
A riveting history of the American West told for the first time through the pioneering women who used the challenges of migration and settlement as opportunities to advocate for their rights, and transformed the country in the process. Drawing on an extraordinary collection of research, including personal letters and diaries, Gallagher weaves together the striking achievements of those who not only created homes on weather-wracked prairies and built communities in muddy mining camps, but played a crucial, unrecognised role in the women's rights movement.
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780735223257Publication Date: 2021-07-20
For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow Is Enuf by
A "choreo-poem" reflecting the views of a black American woman regarding the women of her race.
First published in 1975, Shange's choreopoem has been read and performed because it truly revealed what it meant to be of color and female in the twentieth century. Here is the complete text, with stage directions of the dramatic prose poem that resonates with unusual beauty in its fierce message to the world.
Call Number: PS3569.H3324 F67 2010ISBN: 9781451624205Publication Date: 2010-11-09
The Glass Universe by
The little-known true story of the unexpected and remarkable contributions to astronomy made by a group of women working in the Harvard College Observatory from the late 1800s through the mid-1900s.
Call Number: QB34.5 .S63 2016ISBN: 9780670016952Publication Date: 2016-12-06
The Moment of Lift by
"For the last twenty years, Melinda Gates has been on a mission to find solutions for people with the most urgent needs, wherever they live. Throughout this journey, one thing has become increasingly clear to her: If you want to lift a society up, you need to stop keeping women down. In this moving and compelling book, Melinda shares lessons she's learned from the inspiring people she's met during her work and travels around the world. As she writes in the introduction, 'That is why I had to write this book -- to share the stories of people who have given focus and urgency to my life. I want all of us to see ways we can lift women up where we live.' Melinda provides an unforgettable narrative backed by startling data as she presents the issues that most need our attention -- from child marriage to lack of access to contraceptives to gender inequity in the workplace. And, for the first time, she writes about her personal life and the road to equality in her own marriage. Throughout, she shows how there has never been more opportunity to change the world -- and ourselves. Writing with emotion, candor, and grace, she introduces us to remarkable women and shows the power of connecting with one another. When we lift others up, they lift us up, too."--Dust jacket.
Call Number: HQ1155 .G38 2019ISBN: 9781250313577Publication Date: 2019-04-23
My Own Words by
In this witty, engaging, New York Times-bestselling book, Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg discusses gender equality and the work of the Supreme Court as well as her own fascinating personal life and the impact of her Jewish faith.
Call Number: Online & KF373.G565 G56 2016ISBN: 9781501145254Publication Date: 2018-08-07
The Purpose of Power by
rst edition.
Description
"Coupled with the speed and networking capacities of social media, #blacklivesmatter was the hashtag heard round the world. But Alicia Garza well knew that the distance between a hashtag and real change would take more than a single facebook to cover. It would take a movement. Garza was a lifelong activist who had spent the previous decades educating herself on the hard lessons of organizing. She started as a kid, working on sexual education for her peers, and then moved on to major campaigns around housing, policing, and immigrant and labor rights in California and then nationally. The lessons she extracted were different from the "rules for radicals" that animated earlier generations of lefitists; they were also different than the charismatic, patriarchal model of the American Civil Rights Movement. She instead developed a mode of organizing based on creating deep connections with communities, forging multiracial, intersectional coalitions, and, most of all, calling in all sorts of people to join the fight for the world we all deserve.
Call Number: Online & HM881 .G37 2020ISBN: 9780525509691Publication Date: 2020-10-20
We Are Here by
Curated by Jasmin Hernandez, the dynamic founder of Gallery Gurls, We Are Here presents the bold and nuanced work of Black and Brown visionaries transforming the art world, with a particular focus on queer, trans and nonbinary artists. This collection features fifty of the most influential voices in New York, Los Angeles, and beyond. Striking photography of art, creative spaces, materials, and the subjects themselves is paired with intimate interviews that engage with each artist and influencer, delving into their creative process and unpacking how each subject actively works to create a more radically inclusive world across the entire art ecosystem.
Call Number: N6490 .H4645 2021ISBN: 9781419747595Publication Date: 2021-02-02
We Should All Be Feminists by
In this essay -- adapted from her TEDx talk of the same name -- Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, award-winning author of Americanah, offers readers a unique definition of feminism for the twenty-first century, one rooted in inclusion and awareness. Drawing extensively on her own experiences and her understanding of the often masked realities of sexual politics, here is one remarkable author's exploration of what it means to be a woman now -- and an of-the-moment rallying cry for why we should all be feminists.
Call Number: Online & HQ1206 .A35 2015ISBN: 9781101911761Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Women Who Run with the Wolves by Call Number: GR470 .E88 1992ISBN: 9780345409874Publication Date: 1996-11-27
Abina and the Important Men by Call Number: KRX46.M36 G48 2012ISBN: 0199844399Publication Date: 2011-09-02
Coretta Scott King - I Kept On Marching by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) E185.97.K47 K89 2015
Disability Visibility (Adapted for Young Adults) by
A young adult adaptation of Alice Wong's Disability Visibility: First Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century"-- Provided by publisher.
According to the last census, one in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some are visible, some are hidden-- but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Wong brings together an urgent, galvanizing collection of personal essays by contemporary disabled writers. Inside you will find activists, authors, lawyers, politicians, artists, and everyday people whose daily lives include the vast richness and complexity of the disabled experience. They invite readers to question their own assumptions and understandings, while documenting disability culture in the now.
Call Number: HV1552.3 .D572 2020ISBN: 9780593381670Publication Date: 2021-10-26
Good night stories for rebel girls : 100 tales of extraordinary women by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) CT3207 .F38 2017
History vs Women: the Defiant Lives That They Don't Want You to Know by Call Number: HQ1121 .S27 2018ISBN: 9781250146731Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Magnificent Minds: sixteen pioneering women in science and medicine by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q141 .N758 2015
Not for Ourselves Alone by Call Number: HQ1412 .W36 1999ISBN: 0375405607Publication Date: 1999-10-19
Remarkable Minds: seventeen more pioneering women in science and medicine by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) Q141 .N7585 2015
