Encyclopedia of the Modern World by Peter N. Stearns (Editor)This multivolume encyclopedia includes articles on countries regions, and ethnic groups, themes involving social history demography, family life, politics, economics, religion, thought education, science and technology, and culture, and events such as major wars.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Online Video Resources
Alexander Street Press Streaming VideoAccess to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
Black Studies in VideoBlack Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in VideoCriminal Justice and Public Safety in Video includes hundreds of hours of video for professionals and students in criminal justice and public safety. Documentaries and interviews provide personal field experiences as well as insight into the function and controversies of the justice system. Students will benefit from invaluable training videos that demonstrate how to respond to potentially-dangerous situations, all from the safety of the classroom. Featuring titles by In the Line of Duty, BBC, and A&E Television, Criminal Justice & Public Safety in Video provides an authoritative resource for both students and experts.
Ethnographic Video OnlineEthnographic Video Online is a multidisciplinary streaming video resource. It brings together thousands of video titles in a wide range of disciplines. With thousands and thousands of complete titles (not clips) and growing by more than 400 titles per month.
Filmakers Library Online IIFilmmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide. This release features approximately 100 new titles and is in addition to level 1 of the collection which the library subscribes to as part of the VAST collection.
Kanopy Streaming VideoKanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
LGBT Studies in VideoLGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
New World Cinema: Independent Features and ShortsThe collection includes over 200 full-length feature films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award-winning short films.
Theatre in VideoContains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Series.
Vanderbilt Television News ArchiveIndexes evening network news broadcasts from 1968 to the present with streaming video for broadcasts from NBC and CNN (broadcasts from other networks only available with payment)
Cultures & Countries
Not sure where to start your research? The interdisciplinary databases are good places to search for information on any topic, and have lots of full-text material available.
Academic Search CompleteFeatures thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields
JSTORA collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
OmniFile Full Text SelectProvides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.
Project MUSEOver 380 electronic full-text journals by a wide array of academic publishers. Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Anthropology OnlineAnthropology Online is the most comprehensive resource for the study of social and cultural life yet created, featuring a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
Anthropology PlusA combined search of Harvard University's Anthropological Literature database and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index.
AnthroSourceThe American Anthropological Association (AAA) collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings.
AP Newsroom (Associated Press)One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteIncludes indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals related to communication and mass media, and selected coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Full text for more than 240 journals.
eHRAF World CulturesContains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music OnlineOne of the most comprehensive online resources devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Containing more than 9,000 pages of material, 1,210 essays and images from 10 sources and hundreds of audio examples.
Humanities and Social Sciences RetrospectiveIndexes nearly 1200 periodicals from 1907-1984 (including 240,000+ book reviews.) A wide range of interdisciplinary fields are covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals, as well as many important scientific journals.
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online)This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.
Sociological AbstractsIndexes journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law and penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies.
Women & Politics Around the WorldThese volumes fill a gap in existing literature on women and politics by presenting a unique cross-national perspective, as well as by providing analysis of issues that cross borders and other traditional boundaries used in political analysis.
Women's Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines - including sociology, history, political science & economics, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education - in Women's Studies for the latest scholarship in feminist research.
World Religions OnlineWorld Religions Online explores religion and spirituality from the ceremonies of the first practitioners to the elaborate rituals of today. Topic Centers focus on the world's major religions and traditional spiritual practices, such as Judaism and Native American religions, quickly guiding users to important topics, spiritual leaders, sacred texts, holy days, and festivals.
CQ ResearcherCovers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Each report is divided into specific sections to guide research. Each report is on a single topic--more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays 5,000+ topic overviews More than 300 primary source documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers More than 775 court-case overviews 5 million periodical articles Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Access World NewsProvides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.
Current Digest of the Chinese PressThe Current Digest of the Chinese Press is collection of articles from key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, culture and more.
Current Digest of the Russian PressEach week a selection of Russian-language press materials are presented in carefully translated English. They are intended for use in teaching and research. Therefore they are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment.
Mideast Wire.comA daily email newsletter of translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media within 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
ProQuest NewsstreamProQuest Newsstream is the online gateway to over 850 international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Over 575 are full-text titles and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.
Online Newspaper Website
New York Times WebsiteComplete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users can create an account while on campus, from a computer on Loyola’s network, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.
For new accounts and renewals: http://flagship.luc.edu/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir
Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverageof the last 90 days and search abilities back 4 years. See Factiva for archives to 1997. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again). Please register here: https://flagship.luc.edu/loggedin/wsj.html before attempting to access this resource.