CQ ResearcherCovers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Each report is divided into specific sections to guide research. Each report is on a single topic--more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
AP Newsroom (Associated Press)One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment.
eHRAF World CulturesContains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
Britannica AcademicConsists of a fully searchable and browse-able, authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database, and articles not found in the print Britannica.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays 5,000+ topic overviews More than 300 primary source documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers More than 775 court-case overviews 5 million periodical articles Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Oxford Reference OnlineOver 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.
Reference UniverseReference Universe not only provides data about reference works but searches deeply into the indexes of more than 20,000 electronic and print reference works.
Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online)This e-book collection contains over 60 of Sage's authoritative and award-winning encyclopedias. Browse by either the Readers Guide, Entries, A to Z listing or by Index.
Causes and Effects of Climate Change | National Geographic
Web of ScienceA suite of citation databases including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. You can also access Medline and Journal Citation Reports from this interface.
ScopusScopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. It contains resources in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
AgricolaContains materials on agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition and environmental sciences.
GreenFILEThis bibliographic database of information about environmental concerns, indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
MedlineMedline is a comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records.
PubMedThe U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of bio-medical and life sciences journal literature.
Science Direct (Elsevier)ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
SciFinder ScholarCompilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.
Springer LinkA collection of full-text math and science journals.
E-Books: Environmental Justice
A People's History of Environmentalism in the United States by Chad MontrieThis book offers a fresh and innovative account of the history of environmentalism in the United States, challenging the dominant narrative in the field. In the widely-held version of events, the US environmental movement was born with the publication of Rachel Carson's Silent Spring in 1962 and was driven by the increased leisure and wealth of an educated middle class. Chad Montrie's telling moves the origins of environmentalism much further back in time and attributes the growth of environmental awareness to working people and their families. From the antebellum era to the end of the twenties.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2011-12-08
Garbage Wars by David Naguib PellowIn Garbage Wars, the sociologist David Pellow describes the politics of garbage in Chicago. He shows how garbage affects residents in vulnerable communities and poses health risks to those who dispose of it. He follows the trash, the pollution, the hazards, and the people who encountered them in the period 1880-2000. What unfolds is a tug of war among social movements, government, and industry over how we manage our waste, who benefits, and who pays the costs.
Toxic Communities by Dorceta TaylorRenowned environmental sociologist Dorceta Taylor focuses on the locations of hazardous facilities in low-income and minority communities and shows how they have been dumped on, contaminated and exposed.Drawing on an array of historical and contemporary case studies from across the country, Taylor explores controversies over racially-motivated decisions in zoning laws, eminent domain, government regulation (or lack thereof), and urban renewal.
Religion and Sustainability by Lucas F. JohnstonSustainability is now key to international and national policy, manufacture and consumption. It is also central to many individuals who try to lead environmentally ethical lives. Historically, religion has been a significant part of many visions of sustainability. Pragmatically, the inclusion of religious values in conservation and development efforts has facilitated relationships between people with different value structures.