Covers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Each report is divided into specific sections to guide research. Each report is on a single topic--more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies. See some specific examples below.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints in Context covers today’s hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more. This resource helps students explore issues from all perspectives, and includes: More than 14,000 pro/con viewpoint essays 5,000+ topic overviews More than 300 primary source documents 300 biographies of social activists and reformers More than 775 court-case overviews 5 million periodical articles Nearly 6,000 statistical tables, charts and graphs Nearly 70,000 images and a link to Google Image Search Thousands of podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs A national and state curriculum standards search, correlated to the content that allows educators to quickly identify material by grade and discipline.
Open Access Books (OER)
Protect, Serve, and Deport by Amada ArmentaProtect, Serve, and Deport exposes the on-the-ground workings of local immigration enforcement in Nashville, Tennessee. Between 2007 and 2012, Nashville's local jail participated in an immigration enforcement program called 287(g), which turned jail employees into immigration officers who identified over ten thousand removable immigrants for deportation. The vast majority of those identified for removal were not serious criminals but Latino residents arrested by local police for minor violations. Protect, Serve, and Deport explains how local politics, state laws, institutional policies, and police practices work together to deliver immigrants into an expanding federal deportation system, conveying powerful messages about race, citizenship, and belonging.
Not sure where to start your research? The interdisciplinary databases are good places to search for information on any topic, and have lots of full-text material available.
Academic Search CompleteFeatures thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields
JSTORA collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
OmniFile Full Text SelectProvides access to full text articles, images, abstracts, and citations from over 4,000 journals contained in the following six Wilson full text databases: Education, General Science, Humanities, Reader's Guide, Social Sciences & Business.
Project MUSEOver 380 electronic full-text journals by a wide array of academic publishers. Covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
HeinOnlineHeinOnline indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories including bills and laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, public policy, state newspapers of record, and more.
ProQuest CongressionalFormerly LexisNexis Congressional. Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes congressional publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking and research reports from the Congressional Research Service and LRS.
ProQuest Legislative InsightProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that provides access to thoroughly researched compilations of full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Compiled histories include the Public Laws (covering 1929 to the present), along with related bills, hearings, Congressional Research Service reports, committee prints, committee reports, Congressional Record sections, and Presidential Signing Statements, with all documents available as fully-searchable PDF files. ProQuest Legislative Insight also connects to ProQuest Regulatory Insight for access to related administrative law resources. Access is available on campus, or off campus with a valid Loyola ID and password.
Nexis UniFormerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.
American Gulag by Mark DowBefore September 11, 2001, few Americans had heard of immigration detention, but in fact a secret and repressive prison system run by the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service has existed in this country for more than two decades. In American Gulag, prisoners, jailers, and whistle-blowing federal officials come forward to describe the frightening reality inside these INS facilities.
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks JV6475 .P47 2016
Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Go home? the politics of immigration controversies by Hannah JonesThe 2013 Go Home vans marked a turning point in government-sponsored communication designed to demonstrate control and toughness on immigration. In this study, the authors explore the effects of this toughness: on policy, public debate, pro-migrant and anti-racist activism, and on the everyday lives of people in Britain. Bringing together an authorial team of eight respected social researchers, alongside the voices of community organisations, policy makers, migrants and citizens, and with an afterword by journalist Kiri Kankhwende, this is an important intervention in one of the most heated social issues of our time.
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks JV6455 .I54 1999
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Immigration by Cari Lee Skogberg EastmanThis book provides readers with an impartial understanding of the true state of immigration and immigration policy in the United States by refuting falsehoods, misinformation, and exaggerations surrounding this topic--and confirming the validity of other assertions"--ABC-CLIO website.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks JV6465 .E25 2017
Publication Date: 2016-12-12
Immigration by Ilan Stavans (Editor)Immigration is a topic on the minds of a large portion of Americans. In 2006, a series of large marches and political debates shook the nation to the core. With the 2008 presidential campaign under way, the controversy is alive and well. However, it is essential to approach it in an informed, balanced fashion, and the material presented in this volume is designed to accomplish the task. To what extent are immigrants from Mexico and Central America different from their predecessors from say Italy, Poland, and Finland?
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks JV6475 .H33 2017
Publication Date: 2017-10-20
Journey into Europe by Akbar AhmedAn unprecedented, richly detailed, and clear-eyed exploration of Islam in Europe and the place of Islam in European history and civilization.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Just Immigration by Mark R. AmstutzFew issues are as complex and controversial as immigration in the United States. The only thing anyone seems to agree on is that the system is broken. Mark Amstutz offers a succinct overview and assessment of current immigration policy and argues for an approach to the complex immigration debate that is solidly grounded in Christian political thought. After analyzing key laws and institutions in the US immigration system, Amstutz examines how Catholics, evangelicals, and main-line Protestants have used Scripture to address social and political issues, including immigration. He critiques the ways in which many Christians have approached immigration reform and offers concrete suggestions on how Christian groups can offer a more credible political engagement with this urgent policy issue.
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks BR516 .A535 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
Political asylum deceptions : the culture of suspicion by Carol BohmerThis book explores the legitimacy of political asylum applications in the US and UK through an examination of the varieties of evidence, narratives, and documentation with which they are assessed. Credibility is the central issue in determining the legitimacy of political asylum seekers, but the line between truth and lies is often elusive, partly because desperate people often have to use deception to escape persecution. The vetting process has become infused with a climate of suspicion that not only assesses the credibility of an applicant's story and differentiates between the economic migrant and the person fleeing persecution, but also attempts to determine whether an applicant represents a future threat to the receiving country. This innovative text approaches the problem of deception from several angles, including increased demand for evidence, uses of new technologies to examine applicants' narratives, assessments of forged documents, attempts to differentiate between victims and persecutors, and ways that cultural misunderstandings can compromise the process. Essential reading for researchers and students of Political Science, International Studies, Refugee and Migration Studies, Human Rights, Anthropology, Sociology, Law, Public Policy, and Narrative Studies.
Call Number: Lewis Library Reference JV6465 .E53 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-12
Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West by Gordon Morris Bakken (Editor); Alexandra Kindell (Editor)Immigration from foreign countries was a small part of the peopling of the American West but an important aspect in building western infrastructure, cities, and neighborhoods. The Encyclopedia of Immigration and Migration in the American West provides much more than ethnic groups crossing the plains, landing at ports, or crossing borders; this two-volume work makes the history of the American West an important part of the American experience. Through sweeping entries, focused biographies, community histories, economic enterprise analysis, and demographic studies, this Encyclopedia presents the tapestry of the West and its population during various periods of migration. The two volumes examine the settling of the West and include coverage of movements of American Indians, African Americans, and the often-forgotten role of women in the West's development.
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stack JV6465 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001-02-28
The Making of Modern Immigration by Patrick J. HayesCombining the insight of two-dozen expert contributors to examine key figures, events, and policies over 200 years of U.S. immigration history, this work illuminates the foundations of the ethnic and socioeconomic makeup of our nation.
Immigrant America: The High Cost of Deporting Parents
Murder at America's Border: The Story of an Anti-Immigration Vigilante
Online Video Collections
Alexander Street Press Streaming VideoAccess to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
Black Studies in VideoBlack Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations.
Kanopy Streaming VideoKanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
LGBT Studies in VideoLGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This first-of-its-kind collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.