Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks PS586 .A14 1998
Publication Date: 1998-01-21
The Poetry Project
Almanac by Austin SmithAlmanac is a collection of lyrical and narrative poems that celebrate, and mourn the passing of, the world of the small family farm. But while the poems are all involved in some way with the rural Midwest, particularly with the people and land of the northwestern Illinois dairy farm where Austin Smith was born and raised, they are anything but merely regional. As the poems reflect on farm life, they open out to speak about childhood and death, the loss of tradition, the destruction of the natural world, and the severing of connections between people and the land.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2013-09-22
Faster Than Light by Marilyn NelsonConjuring numerous voices and characters across oceans and centuries, Faster Than Light explores widely disparate experiences through the lens of traditional poetic forms. This volume contains a selection of Marilyn Nelson's new and uncollected poems as well as work from each of her lyric histories of eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century African American individuals and communities.Poems include the stories of historical figures like Emmett Till, the fourteen-year-old boy lynched in 1955, and the inhabitants of Seneca Village, an African American community razed in 1857.
Call Number: Online Access
Publication Date: 2012-11-12
Hope Mirrlees: Collected Poems by Hope Mirrlees; Sandeep Parmar (Editor)Spanning several decades of her life, multiple continents, and significant events, this collection of Hope Mirrlees's poetry includes previously unpublished work and the modernist writer's later poems and essays, written circa 1920. Also included is the full text of Paris: A Poem?a daylong, psycho-geographical flânerie through the streets and metro tunnels of post?World War I Paris. Groundbreaking and illuminating, this volume is a testament to Mirrlees's contribution to 20th-century poetry.
Kanopy Streaming VideoKanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
Alexander Street Press Streaming VideoAccess to Alexander Street Press streaming media includes the following individual collections: Black Studies in Video, Black Thought & Culture, Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols.1-3, Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video, Ethnographic Video Online :Vols.1-2, Filmmakers Library Online: Vols.1-2, LGBT Studies in Video, New World Cinema: Major Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present, Nursing Education in Video, and Theatre in Video: Vol.2.
Ambrose Video 2.0An extensive library of award-winning Streaming education materials, in social studies, literature, fine arts and the sciences. Includes the BBC Shakespeare Plays.