Welcome
Pre-Nursing
This guide will introduce you to resources that are available to you, if at any point you are not sure where to find information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat.
TEAS Exam: Study Resources
What is the TEAS Exam:
The ATI TEAS, or Test of Essential Academic Skills, is designed specifically to assess a student's preparedness entering the health science fields. The ATI TEAS test is comprised of 170 questions set up in a multiple-choice format with four-option answers. Questions are designed to test the basic academic skills you will need to perform in class in the areas of: Reading, Math, Science, and English and Language Usage.
- TEAS Test Study Guide from Mometrix Academy TEAS study guide tutorials, brush up on any concepts you don’t remember from your college classes. Pinpoint your strengths and weaknesses to get the most out of your studying for nursing school.
- TEAS® Practice Test 50 free TEAS practice questions that match the style and format of the actual test. Our questions cover all four content areas: Reading, Math, Science, and English. Start your test prep right now with our free TEAS practice test!
- Union Test Prep This is a free web site with practice tests, flashcards, and study guides in preparation for the TEAS.
ATI TEAS Crash Course® Book + Online by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0738688282Publication Date: 2017-06-13
ATI TEAS Secrets Study Guide by
This guide helps you study for nursing and allied health programs. Doing well on the Test of Essential Academic Skills (TEAS) will help your chances in succeeding in your career. This guide provides practice test questions, and tips from experts.
Call Number: LB2353.7.T43 S43 2019ISBN: 9781516703838Publication Date: 2016-03-31
ATI TEAS Test Study Guide 2019-2020 by
Prepare for the ATI TEAS nursing school entrance exam with practice questions for all concepts and tips from experts.
Call Number: LB2353.7.T43 A853 2019ISBN: 9781635305432Publication Date: 2019-03-03
TEAS V Test Prep Arithmetic Review--Exambusters Flash Cards--Workbook 1 Of 5 by
TEAS 6 Prep Flashcard Workbook 1: ARITHMETIC REVIEW" 600 questions and answers highlight essential arithmetic definitions, problems, and concepts. Topics: Addition, Subtraction, Multiplication, and Division of Whole Numbers; Fractions and Decimals, Multiplication Tables, Word Problems, Percents, Measurement, Metric System, Square Roots and Powers, Real Numbers, Properties of Numbers
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781576335376Publication Date: 2017-12-01
TEAS V Test Prep Algebra Review--Exambusters Flash Cards--Workbook 2 Of 5 by
"TEAS 6 Prep Flashcard Workbook 2: ALGEBRA REVIEW" 450 questions and answers that highlight introductory algebra definitions, problems, and concepts. Topics: Algebraic Concepts, Sets, Variables, Exponents, Properties of Numbers, Simple Equations, Signed Numbers, Monomials, Polynomials, Additive and Multiplicative Inverse, Word Problems, Prime Numbers, Factoring, Algebraic Fractions, Ratio and Proportion, Variation,
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781576335383Publication Date: 2017-12-01
TEAS V Test Prep Biology Review--Exambusters Flash Cards--Workbook 3 Of 5 by
"TEAS 6 Prep Flashcard Workbook 3: BIOLOGY REVIEW" 450 questions and answers (ILLUSTRATED). Essential definitions and concepts. Topics: Cells, Biochemistry and Energy, Evolution and Classification, Kingdoms: Bacteria, Fungi, Protista; Kingdom: Plantae, Kingdom: Animalia, Human Locomotion, Human Circulation and Immunology, Human Respiration and Excretion, Human Digestion, Human Nervous System, Human Endocrinology, Reproduction and Development, Genetics, Ecology
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781576335413Publication Date: 2017-12-01
TEAS V Test Prep Chemistry Review--Exambusters Flash Cards--Workbook 4 Of 5 by
"TEAS 6 Prep Flashcard Workbook 4: CHEMISTRY REVIEW" 700 questions and answers. Essential definitions, formulas, concepts, and sample problems. Topics: Introduction, Matter, Atoms, Formulas, Moles, Reactions, Elements, Periodic Table, Electrons, Chemical Bonds, Heat, Gases, Phase Changes, Solutions, Reaction Rates, Equilibrium, Acids and Bases, Oxidation and Reduction, Introduction to Organic Chemistry, Radioactivity
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781576335420Publication Date: 2017-12-01
TEAS V Test Prep Essential Vocabulary--Exambusters Flash Cards--Workbook 5 Of 5 by
"TEAS 6 Prep Flashcard Workbook 5: VOCABULARY REVIEW" 350 frequently tested words every college graduate should know. Perfect for anyone who wants to enrich their vocabulary! Improve your reading comprehension and conversation. Includes sample sentence, part of speech, pronunciation, succinct, easy-to-remember definition, and common synonyms and antonyms.
Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9781576335437Publication Date: 2017-12-01
HESI Exam: Study Resources
What is the HESI test?
What’s the test all about? HESI stands for Health Education Systems, Inc., and A2 stands for Admission Assessment. The HESI A2 test is used for nursing schools to screen applicants for admission into nursing programs.
- HESI A2 Review from Mometrix Academy Includes a description of what to expect on the test, video reviews, and practice tests.
- Quizlet: HESI A2 Quizlet is a free web site with flashcards available for studying. See this link for content related to the HESI A2.
- Union Test Prep This is a free web site with practice tests, flashcards, and study guides in preparation for the HESIA2 .
Admission Assessment Exam Review by
professional - make sure you're prepared with Admission Assessment Exam Review, 4th Edition! From the testing experts at HESI, this user-friendly guide walks you through the topics and question types found on admission exams, including: math, reading comprehension, vocabulary, grammar, biology, chemistry, anatomy and physiology, and physics. The guide includes hundreds of sample questions, step-by-step explanations, illustrations, and comprehensive practice exams to help you review the subject areas and hone your test-taking skills. Plus, the pre-test and post-test help identify your specific areas of weakness so you can focus your study time on the subjects you need most. If you want to pass the HESI Admission Assessment Exam or any other admissions assessment exam for health professions that you may encounter, there's no better resource than HESI's Admission Assessment Exam Review.
Call Number: R838.5 .E96 2017ISBN: 9780323353786Publication Date: 2016-03-01
HESI A2 Practice Questions by
Mometrix Test Preparation's HESI A2 Practice Test Book is the simplest way to prepare for your HESI Admission Assessment Exam. Practice is an important part of preparing for a test and improving your chance of success.
Call Number: RT55 .H475 2019ISBN: 9781621200574Publication Date: 2015-02-25
Nursing HESI A2 : A QuickStudy Reference & Study Eguide by
Essential academic skill requirements covered for the HESI test for entry into Nursing School, all in 6 quick-reference pages. The HESI A2 is predictable and this aspect makes the test easier to study for since the same concepts are covered in every test using the same types of questions. However, many people have underestimated this test their first time around and had to take it again, do not be one of them. These 6 pages are a guide to success. Nurses are some of the biggest fans of QuickStudy guides, so start your collection and get started on a new career. 6-page Eguide includes:MathematicsReading ComprehensionVocabularyGrammarBiologyChemistryAnatomy & PhysiologyPhysics
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781423236528Publication Date: 2017-11-01
Databases: Nursing & Biomedical
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Index of abstracts, bibliographic records, and full-text articles related to medicine, especially nursing and allied health professions.
- Medline This link opens in a new window Index of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, and multimedia.
- MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window Index of consumer health resources, including detailed overviews, interactive tools, and videos related to diseases and disorders, as well as genetics, drugs, and medical tests.
- Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window Videos for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. Videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. Coverage: 1985 - present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Index of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
Careers in Nursing
101 Careers in Nursing by Few careers have the advantages that nursing offers: flexibility, room for growth, satisfaction from helping others. And there is a desperate need for nurses--demand will exceed supply for some time to come. This concise and handy volume profiles 101 different types of nursing careers are profiled; each includes a basic description, education requirements, skills needed, compensation, related web sites, and professional organizations.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1281812935Publication Date: 2010-06-02
Opportunities in Nursing Careers by
Insightful details on the range of areas in which you can work, including hospitals, private homes, nursing homes, schools, industry, and the military.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0844245755Publication Date: 1996-01-11
Nursing Now! by
"As a nursing student moving toward becoming a professional you must gain theoretical knowledge, learn clinical skills, and develop professional values. Dr. Catalano presents a wide range of pertinent topics and offers the most up-to-date coverage in this cutting-edge text. He explores the evolution and history of nursing, and examines the impact of reform, the legal system, and politics on the profession."--Jacket.
Call Number: Cudahy Library Main Stacks RT82 .C33 2006ISBN: 0803614470Publication Date: 2005-12-14
Biology
Biology by
Biology is one of the top two major sciences (chemistry is the other) taught in the classroom at any level, and students of all different aptitudes and propensities are required to take biology. For a new and more focused audience Biology For Dummies, 3rd Edition is a course supplement for those students currently enrolled in an introductory biology course whether at the high school or fundamental college level
Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks QH307.2 .K73 2017ISBN: 9781119345374Publication Date: 2017-03-20
Biology 2e by
Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
Publication Date: 2018
Concepts of Biology by
Concepts of Biology is designed for the introductory biology course for nonmajors taught at most two- and four-year colleges. The scope, sequence, and level of the program are designed to match typical course syllabi in the market. Concepts of Biology includes interesting applications, features a rich art program, and conveys the major themes of biology.
Publication Date: 2013
Biology LibreTexts
The Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes (i.e., texts that are generated from existing content often with customized editing and/or content interspersed) for use in campus Course Shells. There are two classes of texts found in the Bookshelves: "Textbooks" and "Textmaps". Textbooks are the central spot for integrated content into our library and are identified by "Book:" in their titles. Textmaps are specialized remixes that are constructed to follow the organization of existing commercial textbooks. Textmaps facilitate adoption by faculty that are unable to switch from a commercial textbook to an OER alternative; these texts are identified by "Map:" in their titles. For details on how to have a text added to the bookshelves or how to remix content into your customized remix contact us at info@libretexts.org.
Call Number: Online Resource
Psychology
- General Psychology: An Introduction by The NOBA Project is a growing collection of expert-authored, open-licensed modules in psychology, funded by the Diener Education Fund. From these open modules, Tori Kearns and Deborah Lee created an arranged open textbook for her introductory psychology class. This textbook was created under a Round One ALG Textbook Transformation Grant.Publication Date: 2015
- Introduction to Psychology: The Full Noba Collection by This textbook represents the entire catalog of Noba topics. It contains 90 learning modules covering every area of psychology commonly taught in introductory courses. This book can be modified: feel free to rearrange or remove modules to better suit your specific needs.Please note that the publisher requires you to login to access and download the textbooks.Publication Date: 2016
- Psychology by Psychology is designed to meet the scope and sequence for the single-semester introduction to psychology course. For many students, this may be their only college-level psychology course. As such, this textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of psychology and understand how those concepts apply to their lives. The authors strive to make psychology, as a discipline, interesting and accessible to students. A comprehensive coverage of core concepts is grounded in both classic studies and current and emerging research, including coverage of the DSM-5 in discussions of psychological disorders. The text incorporates discussions that reflect the diversity within the discipline, as well as the diversity of cultures and communities across the globe.Publication Date: 2014
- Principles of Social Psychology by Have you ever had trouble teaching the various topics of social psychology and fitting them together to form a coherent field? Unnamed Author felt like he was presenting a laundry list of ideas, research studies, and phenomena, rather than an integrated set of principles and knowledge. He wondered how his students could be expected to remember and understand the many phenomena that social psychologists study? How could they tell what was most important? It was then that he realized a fresh approach to a Social Psychology textbook was needed to structure and integrate student learning; thus, Principles of Social Psychology was born.ISBN: 9781946135209Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Dictionaries
Wiley's English-Spanish, Spanish-English chemistry dictionary by
This Dictionary provides over 75,000 entries covering all areas of chemistry, such as Chemical Biology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology, and Nanochemistry, plus relevant terms in related spheres of expertise. In order to prepare this Second Edition, the First Edition was completely revised, and over 35,000 new terms were added. This new edition will continue to be the Dictionary that chemists, educators, students, translators, and those working in English and Spanish in chemistry and associated fields have been trusting since the First Edition was published in 1998.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781118237977Publication Date: 2014
A Dictionary of Chemistry by
Fully revised and updated, this seventh edition contains many new entries as well as biographies of key scientists. It covers all aspects of chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0198722826Publication Date: 2016-03-21
Dictionary of Biology by
Fully revised and updated for the sixth edition, this market-leading dictionary is the perfect guide for anyone studying biology at school or university. With 5,500 entries, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780199204625Publication Date: 2008-03-15Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Biology by
Call Number: Online Access
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9780803659049Publication Date: 2017-01-31
Stanfield's Essentials Medical Terminology by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781284142211Publication Date: 2018-09-27
Anatomy & Physiology
- Human Anatomy and Physiology Preparatory Course by The overall purpose of this preparatory course textbook is to help students familiarize with some terms and some basic concepts they will find later in the Human Anatomy and Physiology I course.The organization and functioning of the human organism generally is discussed in terms of different levels of increasing complexity, from the smallest building blocks to the entire body. This Anatomy and Physiology preparatory course covers the foundations on the chemical level, and a basic introduction to cellular level, organ level, and organ system levels. There is also an introduction to homeostasis at the beginning.Publication Date: 2015
- Human Biology by This textbook has been created with several goals in mind: accessibility, customization, and student engagement—all while encouraging students toward high levels of academic scholarship. Students will find that this textbook offers a strong introduction to human biology in an accessible format.Publication Date: 2015
- Anatomy and Physiology by Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level. The lucid text, strategically constructed art, inspiring career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course.Publication Date: 2013
- Medical LibreTexts The Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes (i.e., texts that are generated from existing content often with customized editing and/or content interspersed) for use in campus Course Shells.Call Number: Online Resource
Chemistry
- Chemistry 2e by Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.Publication Date: 2019
- Introductory Chemistry by David W. Ball of Cleveland State University brings his new survey of general chemistry text, Introductory Chemistry, to the market with a fresh theme that will be sure to hold student interest: "Chemistry is Everywhere." Introductory Chemistry is intended for a one-semester introductory or preparatory chemistry course. Throughout the chapters, David presents two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook, that chemistry is everywherePublication Date: 2011
- The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by The Basics of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by David W. Ball, John W. Hill, and Rhonda J. Scott is for the one-semester General, Organic and Biological Chemistry course. The authors designed this textbook from the ground up to meet the needs of a one-semester course. It is 20 chapters in length and approximately 350-400 pages; just the right breadth and depth for instructors to teach and students to grasp.Publication Date: 2011
- Chemistry LibreTexts The Bookshelves area in this LibreTexts Library holds texts that are curated by the LibreTexts Development team and can be used either directly or as content for building customized remixes (i.e., texts that are generated from existing content often with customized editing and/or content interspersed) for use in campus Course Shells.Call Number: Online Resource
Recursos en español
Diccionario de química general e inorgánica by
En los últimos años, la investigación científica y el desarrollo tecnológico han tenido un vertiginoso avance, y sus roles se hacen cada vez más preponderantes en nuestras vidas.
En este avance la química no ha estado ajena, y como ciencia y asignatura científica precisa comunicar sus resultados en un lenguaje exacto y directo.
Este libro no es un texto, sino como su nombre lo indica, un Diccionario de Química en español, que contiene una descripción clara y concisa de términos y conceptos que permitirá a los estudiantes de distintas áreas hacer suyo el lenguaje de la Química. Reúne, además, datos sobre las propiedades físicas de los elementos y compuestos, la traducción al inglés de los términos aquí seleccionados, y, en algunos casos, ejemplos que permiten una mejor comprensión de ellos, por lo que será una herramienta de gran utilidad para una búsqueda rápida de información.
Call Number: acceso en líneaPublication Date: 2007
Introducción a la química general by
INTRODUCCIÓN A LA QUÍMICA GENERAL -- PÁGINA LEGAL -- INDICE -- INTRODUCCIÓN -- CONTENIDOS CONCEPTUALES -- 1 NOCIONES BASICAS -- 2 MATERIA Y ENERGIA -- 3 ENLACES QUÍMICOS -- 4 FUNCIONES DE LA QUÍMICA INORGÁNICA -- 5 LÍQUIDOS -- 6 PROPIEDADES DE LOS GASES -- 7 CALORIMETRÍA -- 8 LAS REACCIONES QUÍMICAS. CINÉTICA QUÍMICA -- 9 ELECTROLITOS -- 10 REACCIONES DE ÓXIDO - REDUCCIÓN -- 11 INTRODUCCIÓN A LA TEORÍA ATÓMICO-MOLECULAR ESTRUCTURA ATÓMICA -- ANEXO.
Call Number: acceso en líneaPublication Date: 2009
Química general by
Química General, del profesor Ramírez Regalado, es una obra realizada bajo un enfoque actualizado de los temas tratados en esta disciplina y diseñada e impresa a todo color. De esta manera, constituye una herramienta de gran utilidad para la enseñanza de la química en el nivel medio superior. Está conformada por cinco unidades que apoyan las explicaciones de los temas en cuadros, tablas, esquemas e ilustraciones a todo color, así como en actividades experimentales y autoevaluaciones. Así, el estudiante adquirirá diversos elementos que le facilitarán la adquisición de los conocimientos fundamentales para entender la importancia de la química y su relación con nuestro medio ambiente, pudiendo disponer, además, con esta edición, de diferentes recursos académicos en línea.
Call Number: acceso en líneaPublication Date: 2014- Química LibretextsCall Number: Online Resource