Scholarships
Apps to Find the Best Scholarships
- College Raptor College Raptor is a college search directory, but their real power comes in the form of their College Scholarship Calculator app. This app allows you to see a colleges true cost when financial aid and scholarships are factored in. You can compare colleges average financial aid packages and get estimates on how much you can expect to get in scholarships based on your GPA and SAT/ACT test scores.
- RaiseMe Raise.me, a college scholarship app, rewards high school students for their advanced classes and extracurricular activities with “micro-scholarships” -- guaranteed tuition payments paid by their eventual college -- that range from $25 to $1,000 for each of their academic achievements.
- Scholarship Advisor Scholarship Advisor is one tool in the larger toolkit of StudentAdvisor. The app allows you to search a database of thousands of scholarships by type and by school. You can see which scholarships are highly competitive and which are more easily attainable. Scholarship Advisor keeps track of your scholarships for you so you can easily see which ones you have already applied for and when applications are due.
- Scholarship Owl Similar to the Common App for college applications, Scholarship Owl allows you to submit for hundreds of scholarships with a single application. The site uses your information to find all of the scholarships in its database that you might qualify for and you are able to easily apply for one or all of them at once.
- Scholarships.com Scholarships.com gives you access to over 3.7 million local, state, and national college scholarships and grants. After filling out a questionnaire on your academic strengths, interest, activities, and skills, their platform will show you a list of scholarships matched to your profile. Available on iOS and Android devices
- SCHOLLY Scholly has helped students win more than $50 million in college scholarship money. It’s both an online search engine and mobile app. Just create an account, enter information about your location and activities, and Scholly will match you with local and national scholarships.
Government Resources
-
Federal Student AidFederal Student Aid, a part of the U.S. Department of Education, is the largest provider of student financial aid in the nation. The Office of Federal Student Aid helps to make college education possible for every dedicated mind by providing more than $150 billion in federal grants, loans, and work-study funds each year to more than 13 million students paying for college or career school.
-
College ScorecardFind school and financial aid information from this US Department of Education Website.
Additional Resources for Undocumented Students
- BigFuture A comprehensive guide to college created by The College Board, this site offers resources specifically for undocumented students like articles, testimonials, and financial aid calculators.
- Questions and Answers – Financial Aid and Undocumented Students This site provides information from the U.S. Department of Education on various sources of financial aid available to undocumented students and their accompanying requirements.
- United We Dream United We Dream works to promote collaboration among immigrant students along with engagement in community efforts to improve educational opportunities for undocumented students.
- “For Undocumented Students: Questions and Answers About Paying for College”: This FAQ-style page from The College Board answers common questions on financial aid for undocumented students and provides helpful advice on how to cut costs.
- My Undocumented Life: Blog on Resources and Scholarships This blog provides up-to-date information on resources and scholarships that pertain to undocumented immigrants. They strive to provide a sense of community for all of their readers.
General Resources
In addition to the funding portals listed below, many programs provide information on scholarships and loans. Check out Loyola University's Financial Aid page!
-
College BoardScholarships, loans, and financial aid information from the College Board.
-
College Scholarships OnlineScholarship, loan, and financial aid information.
-
FastwebSearchable scholarship and loan database.
-
FinAidFinAid was established in the fall of 1994 as a public service. This award-winning site has grown into the most comprehensive source of student financial aid information, advice, and tools -- on or off the web.
-
Mach25A searchable bank of over 600,000 scholarships for students at all levels of study.
-
Paying for College - US NewsUS News provides tips, tools, and articles that will help you to stay up-to-date on the best ways to pay for college, including scholarships, savings, grants, loans, and more.
-
Peterson's Online ResourcesPeterson's does not only provide a searchable database of graduate programs but also includes information on scholarships and financial aid for both undergraduates and graduate students.
-
Scholarships.comScholarships.com is one of the most widely-used and trusted free college scholarship search and financial aid information resources on the Internet. Its mission is to assist students and their families; not only in finding college scholarships, but also helping them explore valuable financial aid opportunities they may not have discovered otherwise.
-
TERI College AccessTERI College Access assists young people and adults from all backgrounds with planning for college and identifying sources of financial aid through school-based programs and college access centers located in libraries and community agencies.
-
Understanding CreditA student loan may be your first major credit experience. This is a good time to become aware of what credit is and how to responsibly manage credit health. This resource from Sallie Mae and FICO can help you to understand all of your options and responsibilities.
Scams
From Consumer Fraud Reporting, the following are the warning signs of a college scholarship scam. See their section on Scholarship Scams for more.
Warning signs of a college scholarship scam:
- "The scholarship is guaranteed or your money back."
- "You can't get this information anywhere else."
- "I just need your credit card or bank account number to hold this scholarship."
- "We'll do all the work."
- "The scholarship will cost some money."
- "You've been selected by a 'national foundation' to receive a scholarship" or "You're a finalist" in a contest you never entered.
- "Millions of dollars in aid go unclaimed every year; don't you want some of that money?"
- "Buy now or miss this opportunity."
Books
How to Get Money for College - Financing Your Future Beyond Federal Aid by Call Number: Lewis Library Reference LB2337.2 .C65ISBN: 0768938686
How to Go to College on a Shoe String by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1601380208Publication Date: 2008-01-12
Scholarships, Grants and Prizes 2013 by Call Number: Lewis Library Reference LB2337.2 .P468 2013ISBN: 9780768936087Publication Date: 2012-08-07
The Ultimate Scholarship Book 2018 by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1617601225Publication Date: 2017-06-13
Scholarship Handbook 2013 by Call Number: Lewis Library Reference LB2338 .S245 2013ISBN: 9780874479836Publication Date: 2012-07-03
Help! How do I fill out the FAFSA?
Watch this video for help in filling out your FAFSA. Or try one of the resources below for more help in different formats:
- FAFSA Tutorial
As you complete the FAFSA, refer to this EducationQuest tool for a user-friendly explanation of each FAFSA question. (The tutorial opens in a separate window allowing you to access the online FAFSA and the tutorial at the same time.)
- 7 Easy Steps to the FAFSA
From UC Santa Barbara, a video tutorial that provides a students' guide to filling out the FAFSA.
College Affordability & Transparency Center
-
College Affordability & Transparency Center, U.S. Dept. of EducationFind out which colleges have the highest and lowest tuition and net costs. How fast are college costs going up?
-
Mapping Student DebtHow borrowing for college affects the nation.
More Federal, State, and Regional Resources
There are many federal, state and regional programs that can help you to secure financial aid. Explore the resources below for more.
-
FAFSA: Free Application for Federal Student AidYou must complete the FAFSA online in order to qualify for federal aid.
-
FedMoney.orgFedMoney.org is the most comprehensive free full-text online resource on all U.S. government grants and student financial aid programs. Here you will find detailed and up-to-date information about who can apply, how to apply, and contact information for over 240 government loans and grants (scholarships, fellowships, traineeships) related to education.
-
SallieMae Scholarship SearchScholarship Search by Sallie Mae® is a fast, easy, and free way to search for more than three million college scholarships worth up to $18 billion that can help you pay for your college education. You can even set up alerts to notify you when new scholarship opportunities become available.
- 40 SCHOLARSHIP OPPORTUNITIES FOR UNDOCUMENTED STUDENTS This page has a search feature for a variety of scholarships. Scrolls down and click through the dropdowns below to sort by award amount or if you’re looking for need-based aid.
- ANHELO PROJECT DREAM SCHOLARSHIP Established in 2009, the Anhelo Project offers its Dream Scholarship based on financial need to undergraduates and graduates who are undocumented immigrants. Selected recipients will exhibit academic achievement, community leadership, and perseverance with challenging obstacles. The only stipulation is students must commit 20+ hours paying it forward as Anhelo Project volunteers. Apply before January 13th with two recommendations, a resume, and proof of income.
- CHICAGO COALITION FOR THE HOMELESS SCHOLARSHIP Fighting for housing rights since 1980, the Chicago Coalition for the Homeless (CCH) offers renewable $2,500 scholarships each June. Funded by the Alvin H. Baum Family Fund, the program is currently helping 20 formerly homeless youth graduate with bachelor’s degrees. Before the April 15th deadline, interested students must submit a transcript, two references, shelter verification, and FAFSA forms.
- DAN L. MEISINGER, SR. MEMORIAL LEARN TO FLY SCHOLARSHIP Named after the founder of Executive Beechcraft in Kansas City, the Dan L. Meisinger, Sr. Memorial Learn to Fly Scholarship is presented by the National Air Transportation Association. This renewable $2,500 award assists future pilots with affording tuition and fees for initial or primary flight training. Application materials must arrive before November’s last Friday. Recipients are also featured in NATA’s Aviation Business Journal.
- GEORGE M. PULLMAN EDUCATIONAL FOUNDATION SCHOLARSHIPS Celebrating over 65 years, the George M. Pullman Educational Foundation has awarded over 14,000 scholarships to diverse young adults from Chicago’s Pullman/Roseland community. Based on merit and need, the renewable $10,000 awards could lower tuition for finishing your first bachelor’s degree full-time. Until February 3rd, online applications are accepted with three essay responses, two recommendations, a transcript, and Student Aid Report
- ILLINOIS CONSERVATION ACHIEVEMENT SCHOLARSHIP Annually, the Illinois Conservation Foundation (ILCF) in Springfield awards the Conservation Achievement Scholarship for $2,000 to support young preservationists. Ambitious, determined high school seniors who work to develop a more sustainable outdoor environment are selected. Until January 15th, interested candidates can submit their transcript, letter of support, proof of acceptance, and one-page essay on voluntary conservation efforts.
- KINNETT SCHOLARSHIPS FOR COLLEGE/FURTHER EDUCATION The Northern Suburban Special Education District (NSSED) serves approximately 40,000 students with disabilities from three to 21 years old on Chicago’s North Shore. They’ve formed the Kinnett Scholarship for College/Further Education to gift $1,000 annually. Students who’ve received special education services and aspiring teachers earning special education majors could qualify. Download the application packet before the April 7th deadline for consideration.
- MARIANJOY SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM Located in Wheaton, the Marianjoy Rehabilitation Hospital Foundation’s Scholarship Program has awarded nearly $750,000 since its inception in 1994. It’s designed to help talented students with disabilities who are exploring new post-secondary possibilities. Applicants must reside in the Illinois counties of Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, McHenry, and Will. Chicagoland applicants should submit an original transcript, autobiography, and two references by March 28th.
- MARY T. WASHINGTON WYLIE OPPORTUNITY FUND The Illinois CPA Society maintains several endowments providing $4,000 each, including the Mary T. Washington Wylie Opportunity Fund. This internship preparation program selects racial minority students of Black, Asian, Hispanic, and Native American ethnicities who have aspirations in accounting. Applicants must submit a transcript and faculty recommendation before November 30th. The MTWW training will take place in Chicago in January.
- MINORITY TEACHERS OF ILLINOIS SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM Administered by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the Minority Teachers of Illinois Scholarship Program offers up to $5,000 annually. African American, Hispanic, Asian, and Native American students attending partnering Illinois colleges and taking at least six units per semester in education majors should apply. Chosen scholars must sign a promissory note to teach full-time at high-need schools. The application priority consideration date is March 1st.
- NIADA REGION III SCHOLARSHIP Sponsored by Manheim, the National Independent Automobile Dealers Association (NIADA) offers one Region III Scholarship of $3,500 annually for tuition and fees. Applications are considered from North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. Before March 31st, send an official transcript, SAT/ACT score, recommendation, and minimum 1,200-word essay to Arlington. Writing prompts ask how services like Uber will potentially impact automobile sales.
VICE News: How To Get A Full-Ride Scholarship For Playing Videogames
Google News: College & Financial Aid
Loading ...