Articles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
Comprehensive reports about current events; including social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Coverage: 1923 - present.
Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to current, full-text newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, The Boston Globe, Newsday, and Los Angeles Times as well as over 80 Gannett regional and local titles. In addition, Global Newsstream content also includes newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
U.S. industry reports including key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends.
This resource is funded by the generosity of John and Terese Terry (Loyola class of 1959).
Documentaries, independent and classic feature films, educational videos, and award-winning films and shorts. Distributors include PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and more.
All titles come with full Public Performance Rights. To enable closed captions or subtitles while watching a film, select the CC icon in the bottom-right corner of the video player. Accounts must be renewed yearly on campus and using a browser, rather than the app.
Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
Index with some abstracts and some full-text journal articles, books, series, translations, and dissertations on the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes. Coverage: 1900s - present.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus.
Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users must create an account using their LUC email, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com
For new accounts and renewals click -
Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com
Registration or re-registering off campus issues are mostly resolved by clearing the cache/cookies off the device first.
Full-text news articles covering business, economics, and finances. Coverage: 1984 - present. Users must register to access resource. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again). Please register here: WSJ.com/LUC before attempting to access this resource.
Unlimited access to WashingtonPost.com content. First time users need to create an account from https://www.washingtonpost.com. Click Sign In, then click Sign Up. Enter your LUC email address and agree to the terms of service. Go to your "Account Settings", click on the "My subscriptions"; tab, and click "Activate free digital access" to get free access to the Post. Email verification will follow.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
BigDIVA (Big Data Infrastructure Visualization Application) is a search visualization tool developed to interact with the ARC Catalog’s peer-reviewed digital projects, produced and evaluated by field-specific specialists, and incorporating open-access educational resources, digital artifacts, and traditional scholarly materials across the spectrum of humanities research.
Full-text primary sources on the history of science, including: reports, manuscript materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, brochures and catalogues; field reports and minutes; annual reports. Coverage: 1830 to1970
Book reviews for children's and young adult fiction and nonfiction, story collections and picture books, plus professional literature and book recommendations for librarians and teachers to assist with collection development, curriculum support, and readers’ advisory. Includes Lexile Rank and reading/grade levels.
Clinical overviews, full-text books and journals, drug information, procedure videos, clinical calculators, patient education handouts, practice guidelines, clinical trials, and MEDLINE® citations and abstracts covering medical information. For remote access, users must create an account.
Full text primary source tracing the human impact on the natural world. Including collections from: Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew Gardens), The National Archives (UK), The Commonwealth Forestry Institute and CAB International
Full-text 19th century primary source documents on dozens of Native tribes. Includes records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs superintendents and documents about the encounters between Indigenous people and American Territorial officials.Coverage: 1813-1880.
Full text primary sources from the New York Academy of Sciences, one of the oldest scientific organizations in the United States. Contents include: manuscripts, photographs and scientific illustrations, personal correspondences, and more. Coverage: 1817 to Present
Alternate Name(s):Wiley Digital Archive: RAI; The Royal Anthropological Institute
Full text primary source providing access to over 150 years of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland's collection of association files, manuscripts, including photos and documents of the history of the association.
Full-Text archival manuscripts, images, and personal papers related to contemporary medical advances, as well as the personal affairs of members of the Royal Society of Physicians. Coverage: 14th to 20th centuries
Alternate Name(s):Wiley Digital Archive: RGS; Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers)
Full text primary source collection of the Royal Geographical Society (with Institute of British Geographers). The Archive includes maps, expedition reports, fieldnotes, photographs, illustrations; journal manuscripts, proceedings and lectures.
Annual international trade statistics, provided by over 200 countries. Includes Commodity list, country list, glossary and various methods for selecting and using the data, including graphs, Please note: users must create an individual account with their LUC email address.
Please note: users must create an individual account with their LUC email address.