Research Guides: Arrupe College: Technology

Computer Science is for everyone!

Computer Science Software/IDE's

Click the links below for more detailed information on the individual product's, most include an introductory tutorial. The application files are located under the START menu of any public computer on-campus: look for Loyola Software- Math & Computer Science to download.

Eclipse (Java)
Blue J (Java)
Netbeans (Java)
IDLE (Python)
Visual Studio Code (various)
Sublime (various)
Visual Studio Community Edition (C++, C#, ASP.Net, and others)
R

Loyola University Lab Software List
Lists the various software applications available for use in the computer labs. Some limited licensed or discipline-specific software is not available in all locations, only where denoted.

How Computers Learn to Recognize Objects Instantly

Departmental Labs

Computer Science Departmental Labs
Further information on Computer Science specific labs can be found here
Loyola's Computer Lab Information
Offers maps and charts of each lab to see up-to-the-minute usage and availability, as well as information on the number of machines and additional hardware located at each location.

Technology (Computer Science & IT)

This guide will introduce you to resources that are available to you, if at any point you are not sure where to find information, you can always contact me or use our Ask a Librarian chat.

Free Coding Games

CodinGame CodinGame offers up fun free games to help learn more than 25 programming languages, including JavaScript, Ruby, and PHP. One of the great things about CodinGame is that you can play with friends or colleagues, and also enter international coding competitions.
CSS Diner CSS Diner is a simple but fun way to learn CSS. There are 32 levels that will teach you the basics of how CSS selectors work. Each level of this free coding game gets progressively more complex, building on what you’ve learned in previous lessons.
CodeMonkey CodeMonkey teaches coding using CoffeeScript, a real programming language, to teach you to build your own games in HTML5. It’s aimed at coding for kids, but it’s definitely fun for adults, too.
Flexbox Froggy Want to learn how CSS flexbox works? Check out Flexbox Froggy. It has a simple interface that teaches you the basics of how things align in flexbox while you help Froggy and his friends.
Flexbox Defense Flexbox Defense is another great way to practice your flexbox skills. This time, you’ll move gun towers into position along a path to defeat oncoming waves of enemies, using the same kinds of commands as Flexbox Froggy.
CodeCombat CodeCombat is aimed at teachers and students, but anyone can play. Learn Python, JavaScript, CoffeeScript, or the Lua game scripting language. On the beginner Dungeon level, you’ll move your Hero through the game using some basic commands according to the tutorial alongside the game.
Ruby Warrior If you want to learn Ruby, then Ruby Warrior is the game for you. There are beginner and intermediate tracks to suit your skill level. The lessons start out easy and go from there. You’ll need to login with Facebook to save your progress.
Untrusted Untrusted is a meta-JavaScript adventure game that tests your JavaScript skills to solve problems. You use JavaScript to guide Dr. Eval through a machine continuum and alter his reality to move between levels. It’s a free fun game for practicing more complex JavaScript skills.
Code Hunt Code Hunt teaches you coding in a unique way. To play, you identify code fragments, analyze them, modify code to match the fragments, and then capture the working code fragment. You can use it to learn Java or C#.
Robocode If you ever watched the show BattleBots, then Robocode is for you. You’ll learn programming skills by building virtual robot battle tanks in Java or .NET. Battles are then played out onscreen in real time.
CheckIO and Empire of Code CheckIO and Empire of Code are both strategy games that can teach you JavaScript or Python. Empire of Code uses a space setting and you learn by defending your own base and attacking others, while CheckIO lets you improve your skills by using others’ solutions.
VIM Adventures Vim is a highly configurable text editor used by programmers. If you want to learn how to use Vim, then VIM Adventures is a great place to start! Use common VIM keyboard shortcuts to navigate your way through a Zelda-like adventure game.
Cyber Dojo Cyber Dojo has practice exercises and challenges for dozens of coding languages including Ruby, JavaScript, PHP, Python, and more. Each exercise spells out a challenge to complete with an example showing what the end result should look like. It’s a great way to practice your code skills.
Elevator Saga Elevator Saga tests your JavaScript knowledge with challenges related to moving an elevator and transporting people in the most efficient manner possible. It starts out with a challenge to move 15 people in less than a minute, with challenges getting progressively harder from there.
Code Wars Code Wars helps you improve your skills by training in challenges with others. They offer a huge variety of languages, including JavaScript, Swift, PHP, Python, Ruby, and Haskell. You’ll have to prove your skills first with a basic test of your understanding of the language you want to practice.

eBook Collections

Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window Ebooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.

EBL eBooks- Computer Science

E-Books

Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
Ebooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.

EBL eBooks- Computer Science

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks, including reference books, scholarly monographs, university press publications and consumer books.

Free Programming Books Links to hundreds of free programming books.
Green Tea Press: Books Series of open access computer science books.
Open Textbook Library: Computer Science & Information Systems Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Bibliographies

Computer Science Bibliographies This is a collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science. The collection currently contains more than 1.4 million references (mostly to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports), clustered in about 1400 bibliographies
On-line CS Techreports A searchable list of sites around the world that have online Computer Science technical reports.
New Zealand Digital Library's Computer Science Technical Reports Collection A searchable digital library that provides a full-text index to over 20,000 technical reports culled from the archives of over 250 university and research institutions around the world.
Digital Bibliography and Library Project (DBLP) The Digital Bibliography and Library Project (DBLP) indexes over 1.3 million conference proceedings, articles, series, and books in Computer Science.
Human-Computer Interaction Bibliography Over 63,000 entries on HCI hosted by ACM SIGCHI.

Directories

CiteSeer: Computer Science Directory A well-organized search capability for computer science papers and algorithms. CiteSeer is a digital library of scientific literature developed and maintained by the NEC Research Institute, Inc., a subsidiary of NEC Corporation. The CiteSeer uses search engines and crawlers to locate scientific and technical papers on the Web.
Infomime A virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level.
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 50% of which comes from sponsors and 50% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

Dictionaries

BABEL A glossary of computer oriented abbreviations & acronyms.
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing A browsable and searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, and more.
Webopedia online dictionary for computer and internet terms

Algorithms

Collected Algorithms (CALGO) of the ACM
The Stony Brook Algorithm Repository
This page is intended to serve as a comprehensive collection of algorithm implementations for over seventy of the most fundamental problems in combinatorial algorithms.

Most Used Resources

ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new window
Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines and ebooks covering computing and information technology. Includes the full collection of ACM Journals.

IEEE Xplore The IEEE Xplore Digital Library is a research database for electrical engineering, electronics, computer science and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore includes access to over 3.5 million full-text documents, including IEEE journals, magazines, conferences, standards, as well as IET journals, magazines, and conferences with a backfile to the late 1800s for select titles.
SpringerLink Computer Science Collection Online access to Springer journals, books, and reference works in Computer Science.
w3schools Free tutorials for all web development technologies.

Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
Ebooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.

Other Useful Resources

CS Department Systems Handbook
Provided by the Computer Science Department at Loyola University Chicago, this guide is aimed at helping you understand the services provided in the department and those offered by university IT (ITS) that might also be helpful to your work in CS and related majors.

Also available in PDF and ePub. formats for offline or tablet reading.
Citation and Writing Guide
A guide to resources for citing materials used in research

Additional IT Certification

Comptia Certifications
Comptia (Computing Technology Industry Association) is an association of more than 8000 companies. They provide the IT certifications for IT professional on a number of topics. Comptia offers a wide range of industry’s recognized certifications such as Comptia A+, Comptia Linux+, Comptia Security+, Comptia Server+, Comptia CDIA+, Comptia Project+ and Comptia Convergence+.
ISC2
ISC2 offers a wide range of advance security related certifications which include CISSP, ISSAP, ISSMP and SSCP for IT professionals interested in network/system securities.

TechCrunch

Programming Resources

Catalog of Free Compilers and Interpreters This list catalogues freely available software for language tools, which includes the following: compilers, compiler generators, interpreters, translators, important libraries, assemblers, etc. -- things whose user interface is a language. Natural language processing tools may also be included.
DevX Archives Recommended using the custom search.
freecodeCamp Learn to code.
Free Programming Resources Free Programming Resources is a directory of links to free programmer resources including tutorials, online programming books, compilers, programming tools, source code, programming libraries, game programming resources, graphics resources and security tools.
w3schools Free tutorials for all web development technologies.

Computer Science Databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines and ebooks covering computing and information technology. Includes the full collection of ACM Journals.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, ebooks, and conference preecedings covering computer science, electrical engineering and electronics, and allied fields. Coverage: 1800s - present.
Safari Tech Books Online This link opens in a new window
Ebooks covering business, data, design, STEM, security, hardware & software development, system administration, and web & mobile design.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Index of citations of journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Coverage: 1990 - present.

SpringerLink Computer Science Collection Online access to Springer journals, books, and reference works in Computer Science

ECO -- Electronic Collection Online This link opens in a new window
ECO indexes more than 5,000 academic and professional journals in the fields of agriculture, anthropology, business, economics, education, fine arts, geography, history, language, law, political science, literature, medicine, philosophy, and others.
ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new window
Articles from trade journals and magazines, scholarly journals, and general interest magazines covering accounting, advertising, business, company information, industry Information, management, marketing, real estate, economics, finance, human resources, and international business. Coverage: 1923 - present.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.

Ingenta: Table of Contents Alert Service & RSS feeds Up to 50 periodical titles per profile can be selected for table of contents alerting, or alerts can be customized using 25 keywords and/or author search strategies. Research alerts are delivered by email. RSS feeds of TOCs are also available. Contains a number of titles in Computer and Information Sciences
ArXiv.org Open access to 760,000+ e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.

Bioinformatics

European Bioinformatics Institute Toolbox
Provides a comprehensive range of tools for the field of bioinformatics.
Open Bioinformatics Foundation
Open Bioinformatics Foundation or O|B|F is a non profit, volunteer run organization focused on supporting open source programming in bioinformatics. Contains information and links to BioPerl, BioJava and Biopython.

Proceedings

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines and ebooks covering computing and information technology. Includes the full collection of ACM Journals.
ArticleFirst This link opens in a new window
Index of citations of journals related to science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Coverage: 1990 - present.
PapersFirst This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index of individual papers presented at conferences, with abstracts from the British Library. Coverage: 1993 - present.
Proceedings This link opens in a new window
Citations of individual papers presented at conferences throughout the world. Coverage: 1993 - present.

Miscellaneous

AI (Artificial Intelligence) Topics Gateway to the research, people, and applications of Artificial Intelligence. Includes a searchable archive of news articles, interviews, lecture notes, instructional tools, RSS feeds, recommended readings, podcasts, and videos.
Microsoft Academic Search Searches approximately 30 million scholarly articles from 14 million different authors. Very broad coverage, but searches can be limited by subject, including Computer Science.
Odysci Academic Search for Computer Science and Electronics Search engine that covers scholarship in CS and ECE such as ACM, IEEE, DBLP, CiteSeerX, and others with some unique functionality for limiting searches and controlling results (e.g., by university, only papers that received awards, etc.) Beta version.
Wolfram Alpha An online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from selected, externally sourced, data sets and research. Examples of questions relating to Computer Systems that can be asked can be found here: http://www.wolframalpha.com/examples/WebAndComputerSystems.html

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Arrupe College