LibGuides: Criminal Justice and Criminology: Databases

Criminal Justice Databases

Consult the databases below for highly-relevant subject-specific information about criminal justice, criminology, and related topics.

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Full-text articles covering criminal law, corrections, policing, forensics, and other essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Coverage: 1910 - present.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals (Hein Online)
The Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) provides a list of the most recently published journals in the legal field. This resource is updated weekly.

Global Terrorism Database
Full-text collection of information on domestic and international terrorist attacks around the world. For each event, information is available on the date and location of the incident, the weapons used and nature of the target, the number of casualties, and when identifiable, the group or individual responsible. Coverage: 1970 - 2019.
HeinOnline
Full-text of historical and government documents in a searchable, image-based format. Includes law journals and historical collections of U.S. federal government documents. Coverage: 1925 - present.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, History, Philosophy, and Religion
Collection of handbooks containing articles by scholars in classical studies, criminology and criminal justice, history, philosophy, and religion.

Offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study.

Sage Criminal Justice
Encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries related to criminal justice, criminology, and other topics.
National Institute of Corrections Library Collection
Access NIC's collection of research materials and publications.

Criminal Justice and Criminology is an interdisciplinary field that often spans many topics. Databases in the legal, psychology, sociology, and social work fields may contain useful information that can support your work.

Foreign Law Guide
Full-text collection of relevant sources on foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation. Updated monthly.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Full-text collection of U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses, and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources. Coverage: 1811 - present.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
Index of selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays. Coverage: 1984 - present.
Major Acts of Congress
Full-text volume set contains landmark pieces of legislation, aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act, and much more.
Military & Government Collection
Full-text journals, periodicals, and U.S. Government Documents pertaining to all branches of the military. Coverage: 1954 - present.
Nexis Uni
Full-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
World Wide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes of political science and international relations literature. Including abstracts of journals, provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage: 1975 - present.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
Full-text book reviews and article abstracts on the topic of child development and adolescent studies, related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Includes articles, technical reports, books, book chapters, theses, and dissertations.
GenderWatch
Index of some-full text articles and abstracts related to gender studies, including women's studies, feminism, masculine studies, masculinity studies, transgender studies, LGBTQ, LGBTQA, and sexuality.
PsycArticles
Full-text articles from journals covering general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1894 - present.
PsycINFO
Indexes literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1800s - present.
Social Science Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index of social science journals. Coverage: 1980 - present.
Social Services Abstracts
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1981 - present.
Social Work Abstracts
Indexes social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation and community organization.

Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
Special Ed Connection
Provides access to statues and regulations related to education law and childhood disability law, legal and policy updates and news, advocacy information, IDEA and Section 504. Coverage: 2006 - present.

More Resources

Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online contains over 70,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street. Database includes the Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video collection.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy Streaming is a new service offering access to thousands of titles from the largest educational film providers. The library will license some whole collections while other titles may be previewed and requested a la carte directly by faculty for instruction. All titles come will full Public Performance Rights and may even be screened outside the classroom where no admission is charged.

Browse under Law & Criminal Justice to find videos related to these topics.

Some titles come with full Public Performance Rights. To enable closed captions or subtitles while watching a film, select the CC icon in the bottom-right corner of the video player. Accounts must be renewed yearly on campus and using a browser, rather than the app.

Distributors part of Kanopy Streaming include Media Education Foundation, Documentary Education Resources, California Newsreel, Criterion Collection/Janus Films, Psychotherapy.net, and many more.
PsycTHERAPY
Comprehensive collection of unscripted streaming videos of psychotherapy demonstrations. Coverage: 2011 - present.

Roper Center
Comprehensive collection of social sciences data sets and public opinion poll data with results. Coverage 1930 - present.

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Pew conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.

Access World News
Full-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
Chicago Sun-Times 1986-current
Full-text local and regional newspaper articles covering many topics including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Coverage: 1986 - present.
Chicago Tribune (1985-current)
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
Global Newsstream
Provides access to current, full-text newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, The Boston Globe, Newsday, and Los Angeles Times as well as over 80 Gannett regional and local titles. In addition, Global Newsstream content also includes newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
Illinois Newspapers
Full-text daily and weekly newspapers from Illinois. Coverage: 1972 - present.

Other newspapers can be found on the News Resources Guide.

Chat with Us

Research & Education Librarian

Monique Clark

Contact:

Cudahy Library, Rm 108
773.508.2677

Subjects:

African Studies and the African Diaspora, Anthropology, Criminal Justice &
Criminology, Pastoral Studies, Theology & Religion

Email Me

Ask A Librarian