It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CQ AlmanacThe CQ Almanac is arranged in topical chapter format, providing an overview of the year's issues and political action. Navigate through 60 years of congressional coverage, browse by subject, decade or by a particular year's table of contents.
HeinOnlineHeinOnline indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories including bills and laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, public policy, state newspapers of record, and more.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Social WorkThe 20th edition covers demographic changes from immigration, technology, the implications of managed care, faith-based assistance, evidence-based practice, gerontology, and trauma & disaster.
Tips for policy research
Here are some tips to make it easier to find information on your policy/act:
Be sure that you have /find the formal name, nickname, and numbers for your act (House Number, Senate Number, . . .) these will be used in different sources. For example: newspapers will refer to the nickname and formal government sources will refer to the formal name.
Find the text of the act - this will tell you all the act says, where the responsibility for it's actions lay and what the results of it's work is reported. and how often it is reported. Seeing the reports will show you how effective it has been.
Look at the Hearings for the act, they will include the amended transcripts of the testimony, evidence and discussions of the bill. This will tell you why the bill was proposed and what things it is to address.
Remember that later amendments may be added to your act. You should be aware of these and how they change the act. as well as who and why it was changed.
Access World NewsProvides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers.
Illinois NewspapersFull-text electronic access to over 90 regional daily and weekly newspapers across Illinois. Advertisements are not included.
ProQuest NewsstreamProQuest Newsstream is the online gateway to over 850 international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Over 575 are full-text titles and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.
New York Times WebsiteLoyola students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to NYTimes.com, including archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access is available through ProQuest Newstream). First time users need to create an account from this link: http://flagship.luc.edu/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir to gain access. Returning users can log in from the New York Times' website from this link. Users will have to "renew" their account once a year with their same login information.
For new accounts and renewals: http://flagship.luc.edu/login?url=https://ezmyaccount.nytimes.com/grouppass/redir
Wall Street JournalThe Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverageof the last 90 days and search abilities back 4 years. See Factiva for archives to 1997. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again). Please register here: https://flagship.luc.edu/loggedin/wsj.html before attempting to access this resource.
Encyclopedia of Political TheoryExamines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.
National Journal: Presentation CenterOver the past ten years, the number of places to get information about what’s happening in Washington has doubled, making it harder to identify and distill the most important information. To combat this growing challenge of information overload, in 2012, National Journal launched the Presentation Center: a database of easy-to edit slides and charts that members could download and re-purpose in their own Washington updates.
US Political StatsU.S. Political Stats is a data download and visualization tool covering all three branches of the United States government. Users can find information on election returns, congressional floor votes, Supreme Court decisions, plus presidential performance and economic indicators, as well as diverse demographics.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social JusticeContains topics, concepts, and ideas which shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Includes short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Databases for Public Policy, Political and US Government
CQ ResearcherCovers a wide range of social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Each report is divided into specific sections to guide research. Each report is on a single topic--more than 12,000 words of text and extensive bibliographies.
CQ WeeklyPremier source of information on government, politics and public policy.Each issue contains an unbiased, objective and comprehensive roundup of virtually all Capitol Hill activity from the previous week.
Global-Regulation.comGlobal-Regulation.com is an index that allows you to search (in English) the full text of over 250,000 statutes and regulations, with links to official, full-text sources (translated into English) from over 30 jurisdictions (including the United States).
GPO: Monthly CatalogIncludes references to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.
Political Science Abstracts - World WideProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Major Acts of CongressAn illustrated encyclopedia of congressional acts from the earliest days of the American republic up through recent years.
Nexis UniFormerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.
ProQuest Legislative InsightProQuest Legislative Insight is a Federal legislative history service that provides access to thoroughly researched compilations of full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws. Compiled histories include the Public Laws (covering 1929 to the present), along with related bills, hearings, Congressional Research Service reports, committee prints, committee reports, Congressional Record sections, and Presidential Signing Statements, with all documents available as fully-searchable PDF files. ProQuest Legislative Insight also connects to ProQuest Regulatory Insight for access to related administrative law resources. Access is available on campus, or off campus with a valid Loyola ID and password.
ProQuest CongressionalFormerly LexisNexis Congressional. Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes congressional publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking and research reports from the Congressional Research Service and LRS.
VoxgovVoxgov is a of record of unedited media: news and information from all official government sources, providing reliable access to government communications. Through data mining, real-time updates, and filters, Voxgov aims to help users predict the likely course of government decision-making on important issues.
World Politics ReviewThis database is a daily online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs. Its original articles are written by a network of more than 400 contributors from around the world, including subject-matter experts from journalism, research organizations, academia, government and elsewhere. This database covers topics of key relevance to foreign policy, international politics and foreign affairs
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Also use the databases under the databases tab above.
A think tank, or policy institute, is a research institute that performs research and advocacy concerning topics such as social policy, political strategy, economics, military, technology, and culture. (Wikipedia) Some of their reports can also be found in the databases listed on this page.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)CIAO is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.