Environmental Science Resources
Failed Promises by Call Number: GE230 .F35 2015 & Online AccessISBN: 9780262527354Publication Date: 2015-03-27
Systems Thinking for Sustainable Development by Call Number: HC79.E5 S26614 2018ISBN: 9783319705842Publication Date: 2018-02-08
Climate Change and Post-Political Communication by Call Number: P96.C58 H36 2018ISBN: 9781138777491Publication Date: 2017-11-30
A People's History of Environmentalism in the United States by
This book offers a fresh and innovative account of the history of environmentalism in the United States, challenging the dominant narrative in the field. In the widely-held version of events, the US environmental movement was born with the publication of Rachel Carson's Silent Spring in 1962 and was driven by the increased leisure and wealth of an educated middle class. Chad Montrie's telling moves the origins of environmentalism much further back in time and attributes the growth of environmental awareness to working people and their families. From the antebellum era to the end of the twenties.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781441116727Publication Date: 2011-12-08
Garbage Wars by
In Garbage Wars, the sociologist David Pellow describes the politics of garbage in Chicago. He shows how garbage affects residents in vulnerable communities and poses health risks to those who dispose of it. He follows the trash, the pollution, the hazards, and the people who encountered them in the period 1880-2000. What unfolds is a tug of war among social movements, government, and industry over how we manage our waste, who benefits, and who pays the costs.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0262162121Publication Date: 2002-08-02
Environmental Justice in Latin America by
Scholars and activists investigate the emergence of a distinctively Latin American environmental justice movement, offering analysis and case studies that illustrate the connections between popular environmental mobilization and social justice in the region.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0262269953Publication Date: 2008-02-15
Toxic Communities by
Renowned environmental sociologist Dorceta Taylor focuses on the locations of hazardous facilities in low-income and minority communities and shows how they have been dumped on, contaminated and exposed.Drawing on an array of historical and contemporary case studies from across the country, Taylor explores controversies over racially-motivated decisions in zoning laws, eminent domain, government regulation (or lack thereof), and urban renewal.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781479852390Publication Date: 2014-06-20
Environmental Justice in America by
A new approach to environmental justice and its equitable distribution.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 025334137XPublication Date: 2003-01-01
Religion and Sustainability by
Sustainability is now key to international and national policy, manufacture and consumption. It is also central to many individuals who try to lead environmentally ethical lives. Historically, religion has been a significant part of many visions of sustainability. Pragmatically, the inclusion of religious values in conservation and development efforts has facilitated relationships between people with different value structures.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781908049810Publication Date: 2014-08-08
The Routledge handbook of environmental justice by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1317392817Publication Date: 2018
Introduction to Environmental Science: 2nd Edition by Publication Date: 2017
Physical Geology by Publication Date: 2015- Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation by Publication Date: 2015
- Culture: An enabler for environmental sustainability The International Congress "Culture: Key to Sustainable Development" was held in Hangzhou (China) from 15 May to 17 May 2013. This was the first International Congress specifically focusing on the linkages between culture and sustainable development organized by UNESCO since the Stockholm Conference in 1998. As such, the Congress provided the very first global forum to discuss the role of culture in sustainable development in view of the post-2015 development framework, with participation of the global community and the major international stakeholders.
- EnviroLink Network Sponsored by a nonprofit organization, this site catalogs links to nonprofit, trade, government, and scholarly resources on environmental issues. Topics covered include alternative fuels, sustainable development, and environmental legislation.
- EPA Climate Change Research EPA research improves knowledge of the impacts of climate change on human health and the environment. The scientific information and tools can be used by communities to effectively, equitably and sustainably tackle the climate crisis.
- EPA: Environmental Topics The United States Environmental Protection agency Environmental Topics reference page.
- National Renewable Energy Laboratory (U.S. Department of Energy) The "primary laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development (R&D)." Includes sections on Science & Technology, Technology Transfer, Applying Technology, and Learning About Renewables.
- Pew Center on Global Climate Change "The Pew Center on Global Climate Change brings together business leaders, policy makers, scientists, and other experts to bring a new approach to a complex and often controversial issue."
- Power Shift NetworkThe Power Shift Network mobilizes the collective power of young people to mitigate climate change and create a just, clean energy future and resilient, thriving communities for all.
- Science Daily: Renewable Energy News Breaking news about the latest discoveries and research studies in renewable energy.
- SoilWeb This interactive map allows you to explore USDA-NCSS soil survey data for locations throughout most of the U.S. It is compatible with smartphones, tablets, and desktop computers.
- Tox Town "...an interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances, your health, and the environment. Tox Town helps users explore a Port, Town, City, Farm, or US-Mexico Border community to identify common environmental hazards."
- U.S. Department of Energy: Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Includes links to the office's programs, including Biomass, Building Technologies, Industrial Technologies, Weatherization, and Wind & Hydropower Technologies.
Science Resources
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index of scholarly journals with citations. Coverage: 1980 - present. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndex of scientific journals, books and conference proceedings focused on the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Agricola This link opens in a new windowIndex of citations from the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s National Agricultural Library for materials covering agriculture and related disciplines. Cited materials include journal articles, books, patents, technical reports, etc.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications covering agriculture, animal sciences, biodiversity, biotechnology, botany, climate change, conservation, and cytology. Coverage: 1960 - present.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowIndex of articles with some full-text covering global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and recycling. Coverage: 1900s - present.
- Medline This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, and multimedia.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowIndex of biomedical and life-science resources including mostly full-text articles, ebooks, as well as many citations.
- Science Direct (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowCompilation of Chemical Abstracts, Medline, and related substance and reactions databases. Chemical Abstracts includes indexes and abstracts of articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations.
Library Resources for Background Information
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new windowPhotographs, graphics, charts, news stories, and audio clips provided by The Associated Press. International in scope. Coverage: 1826 - present.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowIndex of cross-cultural and ethnographic descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Collection is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text multidisciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference titles. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Sage Knowledge (Sage Reference Online) This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences.
Kanopy Database: Online Videos
- Chemerical Chemerical explores the life cycle of everyday household cleaners and hygiene products to prove that, thanks to our clean obsession, we are drowning in sea of toxicity. The film is at once humorous, as we watch the Goode family try to turn a new leaf by creating and living in a toxic free home, and informative, as director Andrew Nisker works with many experts to give audiences the tools and inspiration to live toxic free.
- Heavy Metal: An American Pollution Story Heavy Metal explores the haunting controversy behind a century of silver-lead-zinc mining in Idaho's panhandle and reveals the dangerous health impacts it left behind for its inhabitants. The Silver Valley region is slated to become the largest Superfund in the nation.
- In Our Backyard An expose on the polluted industrial towns surrounding the St. Louis area, and their connections to a well known chemical company known as Monsanto.
- Silent River The Santiago River, known locally as "the River of Death," flows along the outskirts of Guadalajara, Mexico. For forty years, waste from one of Mexico's largest manufacturing corridors has been dumped into the Santiago. 80% of the companies in the corridor - brands like IBM, HP, Coca-Cola, Levi's, Honda and Nestle - are American and Japanese. The river has been transformed into a sewer with over 1000 known chemicals, including dangerously high levels of arsenic, chrome, and lead. Silent River follows a young woman and her family as they defy death threats to try and save the one of the most polluted rivers in Mexico.
- Trashed with Jeremy Irons Jeremy Irons sets out to discover the extent and effects of the global waste problem, as he travels around the world to beautiful destinations tainted by pollution. This is a meticulous, brave investigative journey that takes Irons (and us) from skepticism to sorrow and from horror to hope.
Google News: Pollution
Loading ...