Gangs
A Library Research Guide providing suggested resources and other information for beginning research on the topic Gangs.
eBooks
Resources
Always Running by Call Number: Curriculum Collection HV6439.U7 L77 2005ISBN: 9780743276917Publication Date: 2005-10-04
Lady Q by Call Number: Lewis Library Curriculum Collection (6th Floor) HV6439.U6 C383 2010ISBN: 9781569762851Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Monster by Call Number: Lewis Library Main Stacks HV6439.U7 L774 1993ISBN: 0871135353Publication Date: 1993-05-01
My Bloody Life by Call Number: Curriculum Collection F548.9.P85 S26 2000ISBN: 1556524013Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Once a King, Always a King by Call Number: Online Access & Curriculum Collection F548.9.P85 O53 2003ISBN: 9781556525056Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Yummy by Call Number: Curriculum Collection F548.9 .N4 N47 2010ISBN: 9781584302667Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice by
From boot camps to truancy, this book provides more than 200 up-to-date and concise entries in a single, authoritative volume. The editors cover historical and contemporary theories, concepts, and real-world practices of juvenile justice in the United States. The entries address a broad range of issues and topics, such as alcohol and drug abuse, arson, the death penalty for juveniles, computer and Internet crime, gun violence, gangs, missing children, school violence, teen pregnancy, and delinquency theories. In addition, topics cover society's response to the problems of juvenile justice, punishments meted out to America's juvenile offenders, juvenile rehabilitation programs, and well-known researchers and professionals in the field.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 0761923586Publication Date: 2002-12-18
Gangs by
A compendium of viewpoints--both pro and con--on several issues relating to the prevalence of gangs in American society.
Call Number: HV6439 .U5 G3586 2009ISBN: 9780737743661Publication Date: 2009-06-05Guns, Violence, and Identity among African American and Latino Youth by
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1593320094Publication Date: 2003-06-01
The Handbook of Gangs by
Pulling together the most salient, current issues in the field today, The Handbook of Gangs provides a significant assessment by leading scholars of key topics related to gangs, gang members, and responses to gangs. * Chapters cover a wide array of the most prominent issues in the field of gangs, written by scholars who have been leaders in developing new ways of thinking about the topics * Delivers cutting-edge reviews of the current state of research and practice and addresses where the field has been, where it is today and where it should go in the future * Includes extensive coverage of the individual theories of delinquency and provides special emphasis on policy and prevention program implications in the study of gangs * Offers a broad understanding of how other countries deal with gangs and their response to gangs, including Great Britain, Latin America, Australia and Europe * Chapters covering the legacies of four pioneers in gang research--Malcolm W. Klein, Walter B. Miller, James F. Short Jr., and Irving A. Spergel
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781118726785Publication Date: 2015-07-21
Introduction to Gangs in America by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781439869451Publication Date: 2011-12-02
Juvenile Homicides by
Laurikkala studies youth homicides between 1965 and 1995 in Chicago. She considers variables relating to the offender, victim, setting, and precursors to the homicide by race and gender. Her results indicate that youth homicides involved increases in lethal gang altercations, particularly among Latinos, and an increased use of automatic weapons. Young females had very little impact on homicide rates in Chicago. The findings point to several measures of social disorganization that could aid in the prediction of youth homicides, albeit varying across groups.
Call Number: Online AcessISBN: 1593326688Publication Date: 2011-01-01
U. S. Latinos and Criminal Injustice by
Latinos in the United States encompass a broad range of racial, socioeconomic, and sociopolitical identities. Originating from the Caribbean, Spain, Central and South America, and Mexico, they have unique justice concerns. The ethnic group includes U.S. citizens, authorized resident aliens, and undocumented aliens, a group that has been a constant partner in the Latino legal landscape for over a century. This book addresses the development and rapid growth of the Latino population in the United States and how race-based discrimination, hate crimes, and other prejudicial attitudes, some of which have been codified via public policy, have grown in response. Salinas explores the degrading practice of racial profiling, an approach used by both federal and state law enforcement agents; the abuse in immigration enforcement; and the use of deadly force against immigrants. The author also discusses the barriers Latinos encounter as they wend their way through the court system. While all minorities face the barrier of racially based jury strikes, bilingual Latinos deal with additional concerns, since limited-English-proficient defendants depend on interpreters to understand the trial process. As a nation rich in ethnic and racial backgrounds, the United States, Salinas argues, should better strive to serve its principles of justice.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1609174631Publication Date: 2015-07-01
Violent and Non-violent Disputes Involving Gang Youth by Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 1593321899Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Gangs, Drugs and Violence Chicago Style by Call Number: HV6439.U52 C45 1994ISBN: 096450510XPublication Date: 1995-12-01
The In$Ane Chicago Way by Call Number: HV6439.U7 C355 2015ISBN: 9780226232935Publication Date: 2015-08-19
Gangs in the Global City by Call Number: HV6437 .G354 2007ISBN: 9780252073373Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Female Gangs in America by Call Number: HV6439 .U5 F46 1999ISBN: 0941702480Publication Date: 1999-12-01
The Gang's All Queer by Call Number: HV6439.U5 P36 2017ISBN: 9781479870028Publication Date: 2017-08-15
Gangs in America III by Call Number: HV6439 .U5 G36 2002ISBN: 0761924248Publication Date: 2001-11-06
The History of Street Gangs in the United States by Call Number: HV6439.U5 H6794 2015ISBN: 9781498511322Publication Date: 2015-06-09
The Gangs of Chicago by Call Number: HV6439 .U52 C52 2002ISBN: 1560254548Publication Date: 2002-09-25
Explosion of Chicago's Black Street Gangs, 1900 to Present by Call Number: F 548.9 .N4 P437 1987ISBN: 0883781204Publication Date: 1987-06-01
- National Gang Threat Assessment (2005, 2009, 2011)The assessment is based on federal, state, local, and tribal law enforcement and corrections agency intelligence, including information and data provided by the National Drug Intelligence Center (NDIC) and the National Gang Center.
- Chicago Crime Commission to advocate for sensible and promising programs and policies which focus on the central issues to Chicago's crime problem; gangs, guns and drugs. The Commission does this by partnering with the academic, philanthropic, business and civic communities to identify, advocate for, and educate the public about promising programs and policies.
- Chicago Gang History Project Updated version of Chicagogangs.org by author Zach Jones.
- FBI Records - The VaultThe FBI's electronic reading room, containing 6,700 documents and other media that have declassified thanks to FOIA requests, and have been scanned from paper into digital copies. Includes FBI Reports on specific gangs.
- Gang Research Affiliated with John Hagedorn, Associate Professor of Criminal Justice at UIC.
- Illinois Criminal Justice Information Authority (ICJIA) A (Illinois) state agency dedicated to improving the administration of criminal justice. The Authority brings together key leaders from the justice system and the public to identify critical issues facing the criminal justice system in Illinois, and to propose and evaluate policies, programs, and legislation that address those issues.
- National Gang Center (NGC) operated by the Institute for Intergovernmental Research on behalf of the U.S. Department of Justice’s Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention and the Bureau of Justice Assistance. NGC conducts research on street gangs, provides technical assistance and training to communities that are planning and implementing multistrategy approaches to their gang problem, and training for state, federal, and tribal criminal justice personnel engaged in gang suppression.
- National Gang Intelligence Center To help curb the growth of gangs and related criminal activity, the FBI, at the direction of Congress, established the National Gang Intelligence Center, or NGIC, in 2005.
- Encyclopedia of Chicago Cudahy Ref F548.3 .E53 2004 ; Lewis Ref Chicago Section F548.3 .E53 2004 (Print) The Encyclopedia of Chicago is a dynamic and unprecedented metropolitan history. Includes thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers-related to Chicago's colorful and complex history.
Black and Gold by
In 1994, the Latin Kings - the largest and most powerful street gang in New York - became the Latin King and Queen Nation. They claimed to have abandoned their criminal past and to be following in the footsteps of the Black Panthers and the Young Lords. With over 3,000 members in New York, some saw the Latin King and Queen Nation as the most important political voice to rise from the streets in decades. The NYPD did not agree, calling them a vicious gang with a PR campaign. One thing is certain, the City was never the same after the Nation went downtown. In 1997 Big Noise films became the only media group ever given unrestricted access to the Nation. For two years they ran with the Kings and Queens in New York City, filming on the front lines of their everyday struggle for survival. 'Black and Gold' explores a reality that is too often reduced to a stereotype or a slogan. Its unblinking lens puts you at the center of a complex and controversial movement. The Nation was one of the major forces that made police violence and the prison system political issues in New York City. But from the beginning the NYPD has questioned the sincerity of the Nation's political involvement, and has systematically worked to dismantle what they see as the most dangerous street gang in the City. Their efforts culminated in a spectacular midnight raid on May 15, 1998 when over 1,000 Federal and City agents simultaneously raided homes across the city making over 100 arrests in what was the largest coordinated FBI action since prohibition. 'Black and Gold' lets you feel the tension inside the movement as it comes under fire from midnight police raids and assassination attempts. In the end it shows us both the black and the gold - both the fear and violence of the street and the fierce love inside the most dangerous movement in the City. "Black and Gold offers a potent portrait of bootstraps idealism in an embattled community ... this energetically packaged documentary deserves to be seen." - Dennis Harvey, VARIETY.
Call Number: Online AccessISBN: 9781604860108Publication Date: 2007
The Seventh Fire by
When Rob Brown, a Native American gang leader on a remote Minnesota reservation, is sentenced to prison for a fifth time, he must confront his role in bringing violent drug culture into his beloved Ojibwe community. As Rob reckons with his past, his seventeen-year-old protege, Kevin, dreams of the future: becoming the most powerful and feared Native gangster on the reservation.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 2016
The Interrupters by
The Interrupters tells stories of three violence interrupters who try to protect their Chicago communities from the violence they once employed. The film's main subjects work for an innovative organization, CeaseFire. Founded by an epidemiologist who believes that the spread of violence mimics the spread of infectious diseases, and so the treatment should be similar: go after the most infected, and stop the infection at its source. One of the cornerstones of the organization is the violence interrupters program. The Interrupters--who have credibility on the streets because of their own personal histories--intervene in conflicts before they explode into violence.
Call Number: Online Access &Publication Date: 2011
The Heart Broken in Half by
Gangs are society's ultimate devil figure. They symbolize transgression and embody the deepest fears of middle class citizens. Few filmmakers have dared or been able to get behind the headlines to confront the human reality and complexity of street gangs in urban America. THE HEART BROKEN IN HALF challenges stereotypes, giving a voice to the street youths and revealing their underground culture, uncovering an intricate web of symbols and passions, territory and brotherhood, honor and all too often, death.
Call Number: Online AccessPublication Date: 1990
Subject Specific Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
- Criminal Justice Abstracts This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles covering criminal law, corrections, policing, forensics, and other essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Coverage: 1910 - present.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowIndexes literature in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1800s - present.
Open Books: Gangs in Latin America
Violento, luego existo. Pandillas y maras en Guatemala by
Spanish Book: El barrio 18 y la Mara Salvatrucha proliferan en contextos donde la pruducción de la violencia se agudiza. Las pandillas pertenecen a una realidad dominante de muerte y optan por reproducir relaciones injustas de poder. Estos conjuntos exponen la regularidad del uso de las agresiones en Guatemala, por tanto, los ataques que dirigen a la sociedad, las conductas intergrupales y las embestidas que les propina el Estado y algunos sectores de la población son materia de análisis. Para pensar a las clicas nos preguntamos: ¿qué fines persiguen?, ¿qué lógicas concretas explican su permanencia y cambio? y ¿qué fenómenos se asocian a su presencia? Dichas interrogantes son abordadas en este libro.
Call Number: 2018ISBN: 9786073002769
THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE MARAS: Between Politicization and Securitization by
High levels of crime and violence in Central America’s northern triangle are a major preoccupation of politicians, policy-makers and citizens. Public authorities in El Salvador, Honduras and Guatemala have sought repressive measures to increase public safety and to contain such violence, for which youth gangs (maras) are principally held responsible. Substantiated by interviews with key stakeholders in Geneva, Switzerland, this desk review offers a comprehensive understanding of the motivations and the intended effects behind the suppressive strategies of the respective governments.
ISBN: 9782940503353Publication Date: 2013
Google News : Gangs
Loading ...