Research and Learning Librarian
Style Guide
Style Guide for Business Writing by
The Style Guide for Business Writing, Second Edition, is designed specifically to assist business writers in both the public and private sector, including those publishing with English as a second language; authors of academic papers; business book authors; financial journalists; and writers of reports, proposals or even just e-mail and memoranda. This book provides a comprehensive guide to clear and precise writing that will help develop basic communication skills for the beginner, and refresh the basics for the experienced business writer.
ISBN: 1547416181Publication Date: 2018-07-23
Company Research
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatistics, reports, infographics, and surveys on business, media, finance, politics and a wide variety of topics. Includes industry and consumer reports, market outlooks, and country reports. Coverage: focus is on current (not historical) statistics.
- Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowDatabase of corporate information covers over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading. Use tools to research or create predefined reports.
- MarketLine This link opens in a new windowCompany profiles, industry reports, and case studies. Also includes city and country reports using PEST/PESTLE standard analysis framework.
Industry Research
- IBIS World Industry Market Research This link opens in a new windowU.S. industry reports including key statistics and ratios, SWOT analysis, industry performance and outlook, competitive landscape, major companies, supply chain influences, market share concentration, key success factors, operating conditions, and trends.
- Mintel Reports This link opens in a new windowResearch reports on consumer markets and products in the United States. Includes related demographic data and analysis, market opportunities and strategies, and articles on trends in global consumer markets. Coverage: new reports added weekly. Create an account for access using your Loyola ID.
News and Trade Publications
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowArticles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
Citing Business Sources
- APA 7th ed. Citation for Business SourcesSchemm, N., Dellenbach, M., Grisham, Z., Hageman, M., Tingle, N., Trowbridge, M., & Wheatley, A. (2020). APA 7th ed. citation for business sources. https://bit.ly/APA7business
APA style guide to electronic references by ISBN: 1433803097Publication Date: 2007Online guide to APA citation.
Publication Manual (OFFICIAL) 7th Edition of the American Psychological Association by ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01Course reserve copy - in library use.
Business Communication Theories
Sage Foundations: Business Communication Theories provide the theories with examples for issues such as Image Repair Theory, Media Richness Theory and others.