SOCL 272 - Dr. Akchurin - Sociology - LibGuides at Loyola University Chicago

Sources for Environmental Sociology

Library Databases

LUC Library Catalog
A search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection.
Academic Search Complete
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.

Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reports about current events; including social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Coverage: 1923 - present.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Full-text articles, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications covering agriculture, animal sciences, biodiversity, biotechnology, botany, climate change, conservation, and cytology. Coverage: 1960 - present.

Think Tank Sources

The following resources may be helpful in evaluating and assessing think tanks.

Writing about think tanks and using their research: a cautionary tip sheet: An article from Journalist's Resource. Provides helpful tips about the critical questions to ask when drawing upon think tank research.

Think Tanks and Civil Societies Project (TTCSP): The Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (TTCSP) at the Lauder Institute of the University of Pennsylvania conducts research on the role policy institutes play in governments and in civil societies around the world. Often referred to as the “think tanks’ think tank,” TTCSP examines the evolving role and character of public policy research organizations.

Think Tank Search: Search Think Tank documents using the Harvard Kennedy School of Government Think Tank Search

International and Governmental Sources

Newspaper Resources

Loyola News Resources
Loyola provides access to a variety of news and current events resources, from current subscriptions to archives of historical newspapers and magazines.

Evaluating News Sources

Information of all kinds should be closely evaluated. The following sources focus on news information, but these principles can be applied to information from any source, including social media.

Society of Professional Journalists Code of Ethics outlines the values and practices contributing to reliable journalism. The Code of Ethics is organized around four topics.

Seek Truth and Report It: Ethical journalism should be accurate and fair. Journalists should be honest and courageous in gathering, reporting and interpreting information.
Be Accountable and Transparent: Ethical journalism means taking responsibility for one’s work and explaining one’s decisions to the public.
Minimize harm: Ethical journalism treats sources, subjects, colleagues and members of the public as human beings deserving of respect.
Act Independently: The highest and primary obligation of ethical journalism is to serve the public.

Does a newspaper or news source abide by these principles and have its own ethics statement?

Example: New York Times: Ethical Journalism: A Handbook of Values of Practices for News and Editorial Departments

The International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) has a helpful guide and graphic for spotting fake news - IFLA How To Spot Fake News

American Press Institute: Six Questions That Will Tell You What Media To Trust

Type: What type of content is this?
Source: Who and what are the sources cited and why should I believe them?
Evidence: What's the evidence and how was it vetted?
Interpretation: Is the main point of the piece proven by the evidence?
Completeness: What's missing?
Knowledge: Am I learning every day what I need?