Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IRAD: Illinois Regional Archives Depositories
Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), a system administered by the State Archives to manage the archival records of local governments. IRAD at Northeastern Illinois University houses selected governmental records for Chicago and Cook County from the late 1800s to the early 1900s.
City of Chicago Data Portal
The City of Chicago's Data Portal is dedicated to promoting access to government data and encouraging the development of creative tools to engage and serve Chicago's diverse community. The site hosts over 200 datasets presented in easy-to-use formats about City departments, services, facilities and performance.
City of Chicago Homepage
The City of Chicago's Official Homepage
City of Chicago Programs and Initiatives
Information about the different programs providing aid to various groups in Chicago.
City of Chicago Services Directory
The location for online city services. This includes sites for all online city services organized alphabetically.
On January 3rd 2012, the City of Chicago launched Plow Tracker, an app that tracks the city's snow plows in real time. This app, built by Open City, uses the same data. By knowing where the plows are, we've figured which streets have been plowed.
Cook County Data Portal
The Open Data Portal for Cook County Government.
Chicago History Resources: Chicago Public Library
Chicago Public Library's resources on Chicago History.
Chicago Municipal Code
This is the official Municipal Code of Chicago.
Encyclopedia of Chicago
The Encyclopedia of Chicago is a dynamic and unprecedented metropolitan history. Includes thousands of historical resources-including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers-related to Chicago's colorful and complex history.
Government Information Librarian