Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Historical Resources
America's Historical Documents
The National Archives preserves and provides access to the records of the Federal Government. Here is a sample of these records, from our most celebrated milestones to little-known surprises.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
The gateway to the Library of Congress’ digital resources, users may search and view collections for free, from streaming video to audio recordings and still images. Collections span over several hundred years, and may be limited to specific subjects, time periods, and media format.
National Archives and Records Administration
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. They retain government records of enduring legal or historical value.
Primary Documents in American History
The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents.
Illinois Digital Archives
The Illinois Digital Archives (IDA) was created in 2000, as a repository for the digital collections of the Illinois State Library as well as other libraries and cultural institutions in the State of Illinois.
What can you find in the Illinois Digital Archives?
Photographs, slides, glass negatives
Manuscripts and letters
Federal government documents
and much more.
Executive Branch History
Foreign Relations of the U.S.
The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes. Foreign Relations volumes contain documents from Presidential Libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency. SuDoc: S 1.1.
Public Papers of the Presidents (NARA)
Compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration, began in 1957 in response to a recommendation of the National Historical Publications Commission.
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
The Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders is an editorial codification prepared by the Office of the Federal Register and is not intended to be used as a definitive legal authority. It is published to provide in one convenient reference source proclamations and Executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect. This codification covers the period April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989--a timespan encompassing the administrations of Harry S. Truman through Ronald Reagan--and replaces the previous volume, which covered the period January 20, 1961, through January 20, 1985. Proclamations and Executive orders issued before April 13, 1945, are included if they were amended or otherwise affected by documents issued during the 1945-1989 period.
HeinOnline indexes legal and legislative information available for U.S. states and territories including bills and laws, constitutions, regulations, legislature membership, public policy, state newspapers of record, and more.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
Basic biographical information for the United States Congress, including pictures and photographs when available.
Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1873
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1873, contains records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress through the Forty-second Congress. The records of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress comprise a rich documentary history of the construction of the nation, the development of the federal government, and its role in the national life.
Formerly LexisNexis Congressional. Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes congressional publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking and research reports from the Congressional Research Service and LRS.
Congressional Hearings at Library of Congress
The Law Library of Congress contains approximately 75,000 volumes of printed Congressional Hearings. Committees hold hearings for a variety of purposes. Testimony is received from members of Congress, officials of the executive branch, policy experts, interest groups and sometimes the general public on legislative proposals, the functioning of government programs, subjects of controversy, and matters under investigation. The Law Library’s hearing collection is a rich resource for anyone interested in the history of issues that still face our country today.
Voxgov is a of record of unedited media: news and information from all official government sources, providing reliable access to government communications. Through data mining, real-time updates, and filters, Voxgov aims to help users predict the likely course of government decision-making on important issues.
Government Information Librarian