Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These reference works contain useful overviews of a number of topics in East Asian Foreign Policy. My recommendation is to use these volumes to help your search in two ways.
1. Finding relevant keywords and personages in various countries that can be search terms in Worldwide Political Abstracts and ProQuest Newsstand.
2. Using the bibliographies of individual entries to find relevant books and articles.
Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World
This Encyclopedia has entries for many different countries and entities and provides a good overview to help with deeper searching.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics
A useful resource for the examination of political terms and concepts. Organized by topic, not by country.
Oxford Dictionary of Political Biography
Personal biographies of select world political figures.
Gale Encyclopedia of Modern China
Provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization are explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day.
CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, marshals facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. We share this information with the people of all nations in the belief that knowledge of the truth underpins the functioning of free societies.
These are some of your best sources for articles on international Foreign Policy. Their particular uses are noted beneath the individual databases. Some include journal articles, some primary documents and some newspaper articles.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is an excellent journal database for Political Science. The subject terms "international relations" and "foreign policy" work especially well when combined with country names.
ProQuest Newsstand includes newspapers from around the World, many of them in English. These can provide valuable context for different nations.
Military & Government Collection
This database is specific to military and government publications, worth examining for military policy.
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.
This is organized by President and then by country or region. However, it is primarily useful as background, because material is only slowly declassified.
There are a number of specific Journals that the library subscribes to that may be useful for projects on East Asian Diplomacy.