Over 100 reference titles covering a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

A search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection. Generally speaking, the library catalog may be more useful for finding sources on themes in American poetry, but this will also be useful for finding sources about specific poets.

Historical reference compendium of renowned texts from the Cambridge Histories series, comprising over 250 volumes published since 1960. Covers political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.

Full-text of over 200 Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics; and Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Includes over 2,200 essays on these topics.

An extensive annotated bibliography on topics in American literature. Useful for brief summaries about key writers and themes, and for finding well-regarded secondary sources on these topics.

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.

Provides a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and scholars from Plato to modern times, examining developments in other disciplines which have shaped literary theory and criticism.

This is an essential database for literary research. It includes journal articles, books, book essays, book reviews, and dissertations. It's a good idea to focus on specific keywords or the names of particular writers or works of literature when doing your search, because the database does not search the full text of sources, it only searches the subject terms that describe the sources.