Subject Guide
General Reference Sources
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text multidisciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference titles. Limited to five simultaneous users.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.
- Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) This link opens in a new windowThe accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of sources. Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text essays from Cambridge Companions in literature, classics; philosophy, religion, and culture.
Search the Library Catalog
- LUC Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowA search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection. Consider typing in your topic and adding the work "encyclopedia" to find reference books related to your research.
Researching Literature
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowIndex of literary criticism with full-text from several collections including Contemporary, 20th-Century, 19th-Century, Shakespearean, 1400-1800, Classical & Medieval, Poetry, Short Story, Drama and Children's.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some abstracts and some full-text journal articles, books, series, translations, and dissertations on the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Includes. Coverage: 1900s - present.
Researching History
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowFull-text ebooks covering history. Coverage: 1960 - present.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowIndex, abstracts and some full-text on the history of the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1960 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full-text and abstracts covering world history, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage: 1450 - present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Researching Primary Sources: Historical Newspaper and Magazine Databases
- American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1940) This link opens in a new windowDigitized images of full-text articles from American magazines and journals, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historical sources. Coverage: 1741-1900.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text news articles from 19th century newspapers published in the United States.
- Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text historical newspaper articles from the Chicago Tribune (1905 - 1975), the New York Times (1850 - 2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) This link opens in a new windowFull-text primary sources covering history and literature from the 19th century. Coverage: 1773 - 1900.