Research Guides: Global Studies: Databases

Biographical Sources

American National Biography This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographical entries on deceased Americans who have shaped the nation. Updated quarterly and limited to ten simultaneous users.

Dictionary of National Biography
Offers 50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2000.

United Nations

Because of the broad scope of its mission and the need to satisfy a global audience, the United Nations Web site is complicated and frustrating, at times, to navigate. Contact your librarian if you need any help making the most of these links.

For additional suggestions, see the International Organizations tab above.

The United Nations
The UN's English language Web site. Note links to significant areas of interest in the header of the page.
Advanced Search page for the UN
Documentation Centre
Search for UN resolutions and reports from the General Assembly, the Security Council, and other main bodies.

Research Tools and Article Databases

These databases are recommended for broader topical searching in International Studies. See center column resources for additional resources arranged by topic.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.
Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Index of dissertations and theses with abstracts and full-texts. Coverage: 1861-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals covering literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies. Coverage: 1993 - present.
Roper Center This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of social sciences data sets and public opinion poll data with results. Coverage 1930 - present.
OmniFile Full Text Select This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, images, abstracts, and citations covering education, general science, humanities, social sciences, and business. Coverage: 1982 - present.
Political Science Abstracts - World Wide This link opens in a new window
Indexes of political science and international relations literature. Including abstracts of journals, provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage: 1975 - present.

Business and Economics

ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform) This link opens in a new window
Search nearly 1,800 worldwide business periodicals for coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, economics, and more. Expanded international coverage.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, marketing, economics from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Includes the full-text of the Harvard Business Review. Also includes company profiles, investment, country reports, SWOT analyses, and more. Coverage: 1820 - present.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, dissertations and working papers from the American Economic Association. Topics include economic theory and practice, fiscal theory, econometrics, agricultural economics, public finance, demography, monetary theory, international economics, and more. Coverage: 1886 - present.
MarketLine This link opens in a new window
Company profiles, industry reports, and case studies. Also includes city and country reports using PEST/PESTLE standard analysis framework.
Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access to a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.

Elections and Election Monitoring

American National Election Studies
Produces data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to help researchers better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
United Nations Electoral Assistance Division
One of the most widely recognized international election monitoring organizations. See "United Nations" below for additional UN links.
National Democratic Institute
The Carter Center
Founded by former U.S. President Jimmy Carter, the Carter Center observes and reports on elections around the world.
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe
Among its many functions, the OSCE assists the participating States in building democratic institutions.

International Culture Databases

AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings from the American Anthropological Association (AAA).
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Indexes including international coverage of the fields of anthropology and archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1899s - present.
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text collection of ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Index of cross-cultural and ethnographic descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Collection is organized by cultures and ethnic groups.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries