News
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
- Newspaper SourceProvides full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX, MSNBC, NPR, and other mainstream Western media sources.
- Washington Post (website) This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to WashingtonPost.com content. First time users need to create an account from https://www.washingtonpost.com. Click Sign In, then click Sign Up. Enter your LUC email address and agree to the terms of service. Go to your "Account Settings", click on the "My subscriptions"; tab, and click "Activate free digital access" to get free access to the Post. Email verification will follow.
- New York Times Website This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users must create an account using their LUC email, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com
Newspapers, Periodicals, and Alternative Media Outlets
- Al JazeeraThe English language Web site for the Arabic news and current affairs satellite TV channel with the same name.
- AllAfrica.comSimilar in purpose to MidEast Wire (see below), AllAfrica.com is a distributor of news from specifically African press, with stories posted daily in English and French language text.
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text bibliographic containing journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from alternative, radical, and left sources with focus on socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians. Coverage: 1969 - 1990.
- Alternative Press Index 1991-Present This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of alternative sources, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering international and interdisciplinary subjects. Coverage: 1991-present.
- American Periodical Series I, II & III, 1741 - 1900Covering more than 150 years of American magazine journalism, the more than 1,000 periodicals in these three collections provide the materials necessary to study trends in the United States from 1741 to 1900.
- Black Studies CenterIncludes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspaper articles. Collections include Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
- Chicago Defender Historical, 1910 - 1975The Chicago Defender is an African-American-interest newspaper important for historical research on civil rights, segregation, migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, and radical sentiments of the late 1960s
- Chicago Sun-Times, 1986 - PresentComplete full-text content from one of Chicago's two major, general interest newspapers. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Chicago Tribune Historical, 1849 - 1986Full-text and full-image articles published in the Chicago Tribune for the dates listed.
- Chicago Tribune, 1985 - PresentComplete full-text content from one of Chicago's two major, general interest newspapers. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Illinois NewspapersFull-text electronic access to over 90 regional daily and weekly newspapers across Illinois. Paid advertisements are not included.
- Mideast WireFull-text English-translated newspaper content from all 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab media Diaspora.
- Palmer's Index to The TimesSearchable electronic index to The Times (of London) from 1790-1905.