It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Global studies prepares students to address international issues by providing them with a deep understanding of the culture, history and politics of other regions of the world, coupled with a proficiency in a modern language.
Alternative Press Index Archive is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990. Born of the New Left, the Alternative Press Index was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. Includes coverage of theories and practices of socialism and revolution alongside ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians.
The Chicago Defender is an African American newspaper important for historical research on civil rights, segregation, migration to the industrial states, anti-lynching legislation, the modern civil rights movement and radical sentiments of the late 1960s.
Complete electronic full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Allows cross-searching of the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975) the New York Times (1850-2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Database of news, business and legal information. Includes Company News and Financial Information, Country and State Profiles, Law Reviews, Federal Case Law, U.S. Code, Constitution and Courts Rulings, State Legal Research.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The New York Times with Index (1851-2016) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times
Loyola students, faculty, and staff have unlimited access to NYTimes.com, including archives from 1851 to the present (articles from 1923 to 1980 are limited to five per day per user; unlimited access is available through ProQuest Newstream). First time users need to create an account from this link: http://accessnyt.com to gain access. Returning users will have to "renew" their account once a year using the link above with their same login information.
For new accounts and renewals: http://accessnyt.com
ProQuest Newsstream is the online gateway to over 850 international, national, and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Over 575 are full-text titles and many with backfiles dating back to the 1980s and 1990s.