An electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in 68 volumes by the Societe des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. Examines the lives of saints organized according to each saint's feast day.
The Ancestry Library collection provides coverage for genealogical research within the United States and the United Kingdom. It includes census, vital, church, court, and immigrations records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas,
The corpus of Latin literature produced in Celtic-speaking Europe. Contains texts from important authors such as St. Patrick, Augustinus Hibernicus, Columbanus, Sedulius Scottus, John Scottus Eriugena, and Peter Abelard.
The complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle. The texts included are prepared and supervised by the Aristoteles Latinus Centre of the Catholic University of Leuven, and produced in collaboration with the CTLO.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1 contains over five million pages of content, and consists of titles from the 13th century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions with the majority of titles from the 19th century. Since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection, historians researching a wide range of areas, not just religion, will find invaluable material relevant to their work. Series 2 consists of titles published from 1894 through 1923. This collection offers material on the significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans and the growing interest and experimentation with non-Western religions.
Each week a selection of Russian-language press materials are presented in carefully translated English. They are intended for use in teaching and research. Therefore they are presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment.
A resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries. Includes an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
The Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation contains all the key documents that sparked and sustained the reform from within the Catholic Church before, during, and after the landmark decrees of the Council of Trent.
Reproduces works listed in: Pollard & Redgrave's Short-title catalogue, Wing's Short title catalogue and Thomason tracts, created by scanning the microfilm of this set: over 4500 reels of film and 22 million pages of text.
HarpWeek provides electronic access to Harper's Weekly, a primary resource for examining nineteenth century America on a cumulative week-to-week basis. Editorials, news stories, illustrations, cartoons, and even advertisements are included.
Allows cross-searching of the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975) the New York Times (1850-2001), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), and the American Periodical Series I, II & III (1741-1900).
A collection of medieval historical sources for the study of Germany, Austria and Switzerland in the Middle Ages. The collection consists of six main divisions, Antiquitates, Diplomata, Epistolae, Leges, Scriptores, and Alia as well as numerous subseries.
A major multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and many others.
An online version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina published between 1844-1855. It comprises the works of the church fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocence III in 1216.
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents.
Sanborn maps are large-scale, historic plans of cities and towns in Illinois. They include information such as outline of each building, the size, construction materials, heights, location of windows and doors, street names and property boundaries.
The Shakespeare Collection brings together general reference data, full-text scholarly periodicals, reprinted criticism, primary source material and the full-text annotated works from The Arden Shakespeare.
Provides digital facsimile images on every page of 61,000 works of literature on economic and business published from 1450 through 1850. Full-text searching on more than 12 million pages provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport.
Significant primary materials from cultures around the world, including manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, architectural drawings, and other significant cultural materials.
CARLI Digital Collections was established in 2006 as a repository for digital content created by member libraries of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI) or purchased by the consortium for use by its members.
ChicagoAncestors.org is a project of the Department of Local and Family History of the Newberry Library, an independent research library in Chicago. The project is intended to help genealogists and local historians discover and share historical informatio
The Illinois Digital Archives (IDA) was developed to provide access to primary source materials in Illinois libraries, archives, museums, historical societies and other cultural institutions. Ida was unveiled in November 2000 as part of the Illinois State
The Industrial Heritage Archive of Chicago's Calumet Region is an online museum of images that commemorates and celebrates the historic industries and workers of Chicago's Calumet Region, made possible by a Library Services and Technology Act grant admini
Mapping the Stacks (MTS) aims to identify and organize uncatalogued archival collections that chronicle Black Chicago between the 1930s and 1970s, in order to increase their use by researchers and the general public. We work with varied kinds of artifacts