Research Guides: Social Work Statistics: Local Statistical Sources

Illinois State Sources

Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) Includes all DCFS press releases, newsletters, brochures and publications available online. The Reports include statistics related to affirmative action, child abuse and childhood death investigations.
Illinois Department of Corrections Illinois prisoner and correctional facilty statistics for Illinois.
Illinois Department of Human Services (DHS) Data in this report are from: a) the DHS Child Care Tracking System database for the Child Care Assistance Program; b) the Illinois Network of Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies' aggregate database of the local Child Care Resource and Referral (CCR&R) parent customers, child care providers, and professional development; and, the new Gateways to Opportunity Registry.
Illinois Department of Public Health - Health Statistics The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) collects and evaluates thousands of health statistics to measure progress toward state and national health objectives. These numbers also provide the basis for developing and implementing public health strategies for disease prevention and health promotion.
Illinois General Assembly, Legislative Research Unit provides nonpartisan, objective, documented, and timely information. We are authorized to do research only for members of the General Assembly or their staffs. However, several major publications are available to the public. For statistics, particularly see the County Databook for Illinois.
Illinois Report 2014 Eighth Edition of the publication from the Institute of Government and Public Policy at the University of Illinois. Seeks to provide information and context to help decision makers tackle the state's pressing problems. The mission is to present evidence-based research and analysis that brings critical issues into focus. Covers a broad range of topics, from the state's economic and fiscal condition, to challenges in education, to questions surrounding the state's implementation of the Affordable Care Act.
Illinois State Police Includes the annual Crime in Illinois, published by the Illinois State Police, documenting reported crimes in Illinois cities and counties. The report also covers special jurisdictions such as universities and park district police agencies.
State of Illinois - Data & Statistics Includes the statistics for the state of Illinois, including Datamaps, State Archives, Census & Population, Economy and Environment & Natural Resources.
State of Illinois Open Data Portal Opened in 2017, under Public Act 98-0627, the Open Data Portal is a clearinghouse of various data sets in a standard format that is readable by virtually all computer systems. Its purpose is to increase access to public data or the data used in the operations of government, and to make it accessible to the citizens of Illinois in a conventional method.

Chicago and Subburban Sources

City of Chicago

City’s Data Portal - more than 200 data sets on various city services and functions - including city contract data from as far back as 1993, city employee salaries, and crime data for 2011. In addition, for increased accountability, the public can monitor the progress and performance of various city departments, like response times to 311 service requests, online at www.cityofchicago.org/performance.

Chicago Department of Family and Support Services’ (DFSS)

Division on Domestic Violence - Help Line Report
2009 City of Chicago Homeless Point-In-Time Count Executive Summary (2014 is being prepared now)

Chicago Department of Public Health

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS): Chicago Reference Tables
Birth Outcomes and Infant Mortality in Chicago
HIV Surveillance Report
Leading Causes of Death in Chicago

This year's edition of the Leading Causes of Death in Chicago For all Chicago residents, regardless of gender or ethnicity, all-cause age-adjusted mortality rates decreased from 1995 to 2006.
Profile of Chicago's Mental Health System (2003)
Serving Chicago's Underserved- Regional Health Systems Profiles

Other Organizations

Center for Impact Research - suspended its operations as of April 30, 2006 but publications remain.

Chicago Alliance to End Homelessness - undertakes significant research in the field of homelessness. The goals of this research are to understand barriers to ending homelessness and to highlight best practices in the field. See Data + Research.

Chicago Coalition for the Homeless (CCH) - advocating for public policies that curb and can ultimately end homelessness. Our organization leads strategic campaigns, community outreach, and public policy initiatives that target the lack of affordable housing in metropolitan Chicago and across Illinois see FAQ/Studies and Policy Reports and Publications

Streetwise - publication includes news of reports and studies on homelessness.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Social Work Statistics

Illinois State Sources

Chicago and Subburban Sources