Newspapers, Magazines and Current Events
Loyola provides access to a variety of news and current events resources, from current subscriptions to archives of historical newspapers and magazines.
Loyola offers free website access for the New York Times and Wall Street Journal! See the box below for more information about signing up for your free profiles.
Full Website and Mobile App Access: New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post
- New York Times Website This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users must create an account using their LUC email, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull-text news articles covering business, economics, and finances. Coverage: 1984 - present. Users must register to access resource. Every 180 days users must refresh (or click through the Libraries’ link again). Please register here: WSJ.com/LUC before attempting to access this resource.
- Washington Post (website) This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to WashingtonPost.com content. First time users need to create an account from https://www.washingtonpost.com. Click Sign In, then click Sign Up. Enter your LUC email address and agree to the terms of service. Go to your "Account Settings", click on the "My subscriptions"; tab, and click "Activate free digital access" to get free access to the Post. Email verification will follow.
Focus on Alternative News Sources
- Alternative Press Index Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text bibliographic containing journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from alternative, radical, and left sources with focus on socialism and revolution, ecology, democracy and anarchism, feminism and organized labor, indigenous peoples, and gays/lesbians. Coverage: 1969 - 1990.
- AlterNetProduced by the Independent Media Institute, a nonprofit organization that focuses on promoting, and providing suport for, alternative news sources.
Online Newspaper Directories
- Chronicling America (Library of Congress) -- Search Newspaper DirectorySearch or brose the directory of newspapers published in a particular place and time. Use keywords to locate specific titles and subjects.
- Gale Database of Publications and Broadcast MediaProvides information on some 52,000 publications and over 12,400 radio and television stations and cable TV companies. (Unavailable at this time. 10/14/2010)
- Illinois Newspaper DirectoryThe Illinois Newspaper Project (INP) is an initiative of the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library (HPNL) and the Preservation Services Unit at the University of Illinois Library.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary directory of international journals and magazines.
Print Newspaper Directories
- Bacon’s Newspaper DirectoryCall Number: Lewis Ready Reference HD 59 .B32A directory of daily and weekly newspapers news services syndicates.