Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Tutorial: Libraries Catalog
How can I search for books?
Library Catalog - Look for books, DVDs, ebooks, and electronic articles at Loyola.
Where is my book?
Lewis Floor Maps and Cudahy Floor Maps
- Stacks - Your book is on a shelf in either Cudahy or Lewis. Use the call number to find it.
- Reserves - Your book is at the circulation desk of Lewis or Cudahy
- Library Storage - Submit a request and someone will get it for you!
- Reference - Your book is shelved in the reference area
How can I renew a book?
Renew things in person or use your online account
You don’t have the book I need
Request a book or article with our InterLibrary Loan Program (ILLiad).
Intercampus Loan & ILLiad
Students can request books from any Loyola University Chicago Library Campus, through the use of their Library Account accessible through this link. The Discovery Search Tool will also have the same capabilities.
Through the online ILLiad form students can request books and articles that are no available at the Loyola University Libraries, log on to your ILLiad account with your UVID and Password.
- Pay online.
- Pay in person at any circulation desk with cash, checks (made out to "Loyola University Chicago"), or Rambler Bucks.
Find books, journal titles, a/v materials, e-books, dissertations and all materials owned by Loyola Libraries.
Dissertations & Theses (ProQuest)
Formerly Digital Dissertations, this database contains over 2.3 million dissertations and theses completed from around the world. Citations are available dating from 1861, and more than 60,000 new citations are added each year.
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
The LUC Libraries provides access to several different e-book collections. Not all e-book titles are available in one online resource but many are held in the Online Catalog and in a program also used to located e-journals. Please see the E-books Subject Guide for complete information on all the libraries’ e-book collections and use the links below for access.
- Library Catalog
To find e-books in the catalog, enter search terms as normal. Once you receive your search results, you may filter to Books on the left hand side of the screen and Full Text Online.
- Other e-book collections
A listing of other available e-book collections.
Looking for an e-book that the LUC Libraries do not currently have? Please use the Purchase Request form and select "Book/E-book" in the Resource Type field and "electronic" in the Preferred Format field.
Course Reserves FAQS
Course Reserves are course-related materials made available, either electronically or physically, through the Lewis Library. Items that may be on reserve for a class: books, e-books, DVD, streaming videos, and articles.
- Overdue fines for 4 hour reserve items are $1.00 per hour.
- 3 day reserve items may leave the library.
- Overdue fines for 3 day reserve items are $1.00 per day.
- Returns: You must return reserves items to the campus library where you borrowed them.
- No Recalls or Renewals: Reserves items are available on a first come, first serve basis. You cannot renew or recall reserve items.
Finding Course Reserves For Your Class
To find items on reserve for your class:
- Go to the Course Reserves Search in the library's online catalog.
- You can type in your course code (Example: ACWRI 105), Arrupe , or your instructors name.
- Click on the title for the item you want to access.
- For print materials, write down the call number and bring it to the Circulation Desk at the appropriate library.
- For electronic reserves, click on the "View Online" link in the item record.
Please note: Electronic items for your class may be available through Sakai rather than the Course Reserves Search
Scanning Reserve Items
How can I scan the chapters I need to read for my class?
Students can scan chapters in the Lewis Library, there are two copiers in the 6th floor of the library. You can login with your Loyola UVID/password to e-mail scanned chapters. Or you can save the scanned chapters on a flash drive. If you are unable to come into the library you can request scanned chapters of your book through the online Interlibrary (ILLiad) form. Scanned items are available for 30 days, so make sure to save your items elsewhere.