Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Bio 215: Ornithology: Bio 215: Ornithology

Websites on Ornithology

BIRDNET  - BIRDNET is an online repository of information about the science of ornithology, and about issues of interest to ornithologists. The site is intended to provide information to professional ornithologists, and to members of the general public interested in learning more about both the scientific study of birds and the application of information from that study to conservation and other problems affecting or associated with birds. BIRDNET is maintained by the Ornithological Council.

Bird Families of the World   - Descriptions of the distinguishing characteristics of bird families with text and photos. 9th (2009) edition.

IOC World Bird List (version 2.2)  - The International Ornithological Union's list of the extant birds of the world that is updated regularly to include changes of names or classification, additions of newly described species as well as proposed splits and lumps, and taxonomic comments.\

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History Bird Links  - A useful list of links to ornithological collections and museums, checklists/taxonomic and government resources emphasizing North American and the United States.

Ornithology: the Science of Birds - An online site that provides information and links to resources on various topics within Ornithology.

The Cornell Lab of Ornithology - A world class Ornithology program.  This website offers a lot of information on birds and the specific research that Cornell conducts.

Databases useful for Ornithology

Depending on what your specific topic is within Ornithology, you may find the following databases to be useful. 

 

ARGICOLA : Covers every major agricultural subject, including agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, veterinary medicine, and water resources.

 

Annual Reviews : Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Published yearly in focused disciplines within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences. (Click on Ecology, Evolution & Systematics)

 

Biological Abstracts : Indexes bibliographic references to the life science journal literature.

 

Environment Abstracts  : Environment Abstracts encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies.  As of 1994, the database also provides expanded coverage of energy-related issues.

 

Ovid : A collection of biological and medical databases including Medline, CancerLit, and PsycINFO among others. Allows cross database searching.

 

Science Direct : ScienceDirect offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. Over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, as well as hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.

 

Springer Link : A collection of full-text math and science journals.

 

Web of Knowledge (Web of Science) : This resource links to the ISI Citation Indexes: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation.

Subject Librarian

Stephen Macksey's picture
Stephen Macksey
Contact:
office phone: 773.508.2644