Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

THEO 100: Introduction to Christian Theology i1

Teresa Calpino

Spring Semester 2022

< add introductory information consistent with other guides >

Find the Primary Sources

If you know the source you want to use, search for it by title in the library catalog (in the case of a book) or by starting with the journals list at the library website (to find the full text of an article in an ejournals collection or database). Alternatively, email the citation to jcurrie@luc.edu so that I may find the full text for you.

If you do not know the source you want to use, search for possibilities in the library catalog (especially to locate books) and the research databases (especially to locate articles). See the next section for details.  In addition, you are welcome to email jcurrie@luc.edu with the name of the theologian and a request for help.

You may also want to consider locating a digital edition in an online text collection.

Find the Secondary Sources

Remember that you want your articles to have been published in reputable academic/scholarly journals. The recommended research databases provide the most efficient means for locating these. Look especially for books published by university presses or by theology/religion-focused publishers such as Augsburg Fortress, Eerdman's, or the Society of Biblical Literature. Also consider the author; look for article/book authors affiliated with universities or seminaries. Learn about an author's background using Google to locate their faculty profile or by assessing their publications; scholars will have published in the kinds of journals and with the kinds of publishers as you already seek as presenters of your secondary sources.

Cite Sources and Annotate

All of the major style guides and handbooks are available at the service desks on all floors in the Information Commons. Copies are available on reserve at the Circulation Desk in Cudahy Library. A simple, accurate tool to help format your citations is the NCSU Citation Builder.  Note the tabs across the top of each template that allow the selection of the style of choice (MLA, for example; APA is selected by default). In addition, note that for Chicago style, the citation builder supports only the author-date method. For the complete Chicago Manual of Style, including the complete notes-bibliography method, consult a quick guide or use the library's ebook edition.

Remember that all of the citation styles have a unique form for passages from the Bible. Instructions for citing scripture in each of the major styles are at https://www.messiah.edu/murraylibrary/guides/bible_cite.pdf.

The library at the University of Toronto provides an excellent guide to writing annotations.

Create Slides Carefully

Your slides should not be a recitation of your presentation--they reinforce for your audience how you are progressing through the presentation, "introducing" them to your theologian of choice.  You may wish to begin with an image (photograph, painting, icon) of your theologian followed by images that connote that person's life and theological contributions. 

For example, an image of candles might be used to remind an audience of contemplative prayer.  The only text on the slide would read "contemplative prayer" and, combined with the image, simply remind the audience of that moment's topical focus.

Remember to place on each slide or on a single slide at the end a URL for the original source of each featured image.