Streaming Films
Find Articles - Databases
- Political Science Abstracts - World Wide This link opens in a new window Indexes of political science and international relations literature. Including abstracts of journals, provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage: 1975 - present.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text journals, periodicals, and U.S. Government Documents pertaining to all branches of the military. Coverage: 1954 - present.
- Political Science Abstracts - World Wide This link opens in a new window Indexes of political science and international relations literature. Including abstracts of journals, provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers. Coverage: 1975 - present.
Data Rescue Efforts
There are a variety of efforts being undertaken to rescue endangered digital content from Ukraine.
For cultural heritage data rescue, there is a cooperative effort called Saving Ukrainian Cultural Heritage. SUCHO is looking for volunteers to help with the identification of valuable web content as well as with the mechanics of web archiving themselves.
The Library of Congress is archiving government websites and web publications in Russia and Ukraine as part of its East European Government Ministries Web Archive.
A small number of sites are being captured for preservation as part of the Eastern Europe and Former Soviet Union collection in the Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation’s Web Archiving program.
Broader Context
The Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies’ Internet Encyclopedia of Ukraine
An online encyclopedia of Ukraine that includes a very detailed and extensive history of Ukraine from 5400 BC through the end of the Soviet period.
Episode from Vox’s Today Explained Podcast Featuring Prof. Timothy Snyder (Yale)
A rich, concise overview of the long history of Russian-Ukrainian relations.
Resources on the 2022 Russian Invasion of Ukraine
This library research guide gathers information resources related to the armed conflict and the Russian invasion of Ukraine.
- The Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute's "War on Ukraine" GuideInformation on the current crisis and its immediate histsorical context from Harvard's Ukrainian Research Institute, the primary center of Ukrainian studies in the United States
- NATO's "The Russian Invasion of Ukraine - Special LibGuide"A structured information resource compiled by the NATO Library, including texts of official documents (NATO, EU), articles, reports, and multimedia content related to Russia's invasion of Ukraine.
- Updated List: The Russian Attack on Ukraine, February 2022Lists of media and academic resources provided in a series of Tweets by Dr. Andrea Orzoff (New Mexico State University)
The following links were shared by LUC faculty council:
- #DADBelieve Today, the closest people do not trust each other. A son from Kyiv calls his father in Nizhny Novgorod to tell him about the war, but the father does not believe him.
Resources on the Russo-Ukrainian Situation 2014-
East Carolina University’s Federal Documents, Sources on the Russo-Ukrainian Conflict and Sources on the Russo-Ukrainian Conflict, Part Two: The Russian Military and Eastern Europe
A collection of US government documents and reports related to the Russo-Ukrainian Conflict 2014-present
News Sources
- UNIANIndependent news agency. In Ukrainian and English.
- UkrinformUkrainian and world news from the national news agency. In Ukrainian and English.
- Ukrainian JournalEnglish-language daily newsletter covering breaking political and business news from Ukraine.
- forUmPolitical, economic, and social news about Ukraine. In Ukrainian and English.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull-text newspapers, magazines, web-only content from U.S. and international news sources. Coverage: 1978 - present.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowFull-text news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites. Coverage: 1980 - present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles on news, business, and legal sources, radio and television transcripts, federal and state court cases, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and law reviews. Coverage: 1790 - present.
- Latin American Newspapers - World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text content from Latin American newspapers. Coverage: 1805 - 1922.
- Mideast Wire.com This link opens in a new windowA daily email newsletter of translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media within 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, MSNBC and NPR.
- New York Times Website This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the New York Times online edition (nytimes.com) from 1980 through the present. Users must create an account using their LUC email, to gain access to nytimes.com from any web browser or smart phone app, on or off campus, with no monthly limits on article access. This resource is limited to current students, faculty, and staff. Note: HSL students/faculty/staff need to sign up via http://accessnyt.com - Washington Post (website) This link opens in a new windowUnlimited access to WashingtonPost.com content. First time users need to create an account from https://www.washingtonpost.com. Click Sign In, then click Sign Up. Enter your LUC email address and agree to the terms of service. Go to your "Account Settings", click on the "My subscriptions"; tab, and click "Activate free digital access" to get free access to the Post. Email verification will follow.
- The Wall Street Journal WebsiteThe Wall Street Journal is the world's leading business publication with coverage from the last 90 days and search abilities back to 2008.
The BBC Ukrainian and Russian Services provide in-depth coverage in Russian and Ukrainian (respectively) by journalists from the region stationed in London and their correspondents inside Russia and Ukraine
TV Rain (Телеканал Дождь) is an independent, web-based news channel out of Russia.
- Bellingcat UkraineBellingcat is an independent international collective of researchers, investigators and citizen journalists using open source and social media investigation to probe a variety of subjects.