Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News from Loyola University Chicago Libraries.
Anthropology Research Guide
This Subject Guide is designed to provide resources and helpful information for Anthropology majors/minors.
Anthropology is a discipline that uniquely bridges the social and natural sciences. Anthropologists study the diversity of humankind as manifest through time and across the globe. The scope of anthropology is vast, and is divided traditionally into four major subfields, each of which contribute distinct perspectives on the issues of what makes us human:
- Biological anthropology addresses the physical properties of humans and their primate relatives, both now and in prehistory.
- Cultural anthropology investigates contemporary human cultures and the diversity of human social institutions.
- Archaeology concerns cultures of the past.
- Linguistic anthropology focuses on language and its interrelationship with culture.
Together, these branches of study teach us about modern human biological and cultural diversity, as well as our evolutionary origins, thereby enhancing our understanding of the past, present and future of the human species.
Most Used Resources
The American Anthropological Association (AAA) collection of journals, newsletters, and bulletins, including the complete archival holdings.
A collection of electronic full-text journals. Titles are usually covered from their first issue, excluding only the most recent 2-5 years.
Academic Search Complete
Features thousands of full-text journals and offers coverage spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields
eHRAF World Cultures
Contains more than a quarter of a million pages of full-text descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Indexed by culture and subject.
Social Science Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over 1,700 of the world's leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.
Subject Specialist for English
Writing & Style Guides, etc
LUC Writing Center - The center is a great resource that supports all undergraduate writing, especially upper and lower division writing assignments.