Skip to Main Content

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

One Loyola Library

An informational guide for the One Loyola Library initiative

The Provost's Vision for One Loyola Library

This text has been excerpted from Provost Norberto Grzywacz's statement distributed on March 4, 2021 entitled One Year at Loyola

Reimagining Our Libraries

Teaching, learning, research, and scholarly work at Loyola is supported by a cluster of libraries across our campuses. The libraries include the Health Sciences Library, the Law Library, and the University Libraries. The latter encompasses the Cudahy Library, the Loyola Information Commons, and the Library Storage Facility on the Lake Shore Campus. The University Libraries also include the Lewis Library on the Water Tower Campus and the Information Commons at the John Felice Rome Center. We plan to unify all Loyola libraries into a One Loyola Library. The goal of this unification is to build a library structure that is more nimble; aware of the unique needs of each individual campus; and responsive to the faculty, students, and staff of today and tomorrow. The Office of the Provost has formed a task force to study this unification comprising key stakeholders representing all Loyola campuses. University Libraries Dean Marianne Ryan is leading this task force. Task force members will work together to identify needs and solicit input from University stakeholders. The task force will also surface current opportunities and challenges for building a more coherent 21st century academic library. The work will culminate at the end of this year with recommendations and a vision for a One Loyola Library system.