In this book, Timothy B. Neary reveals the history of Bishop Bernard Sheil's Catholic Youth Organization (CYO), which brought together thousands of young people of all races and religions from Chicago's racially segregated neighborhoods to take part in sports and educational programming. Tens of thousands of boys and girls participated in basketball, track and field, and, the most popular sport of all, boxing, which regularly filled Chicago Stadium with roaring crowds. The history of Bishop Sheil and the CYO shows a cosmopolitan version of American Catholicism, one that is usually overshadowed by accounts of white ethnic Catholics aggressively resisting the racial integration of their working-class neighborhoods. By telling the story of Catholic-sponsored interracial cooperation within Chicago, Crossing Parish Boundaries complicates our understanding of northern urban race relations in the mid-twentieth century.

This book explores how the spirit of BVM Foundress Mary Frances Clarke shaped the direction of the BVM congregation in the 24 years between the first and second World Wars.

This book examines the changes of the BVM congregation before and after the Second Vatican Council.

The Game of Change reaches far beyond sports, demonstrating this particular event's significance in the battle for race equality in a largely segregated country. This is the story of two seemingly different teams of young men who were unknowingly thrust into the harsh spotlight of racism in America who only wanted an opportunity to compete as equals on the basketball court, and who did so with respect and dignity.

In 1963, at the height of the civil rights movement, the Loyola Ramblers of Chicago broke racial barriers and changed college basketball forever. Now, nearly 60 years later, this legendary team is reexamined by Loyola basketball player and co-captain, Lucas Williamson. Woven together with archival footage and modern day interviews, this captivating story continues to provide inspiration in the fight for equality.

A collection of essays that captures the history, memory, and essence of Mundelein College.

Urban Education in the United States examines the development of schools in the large cities of the USA. John Rury, a well-known historian of education, introduces and highlights the most significant and classic essays dealing with urban schooling in this collection. Urban Education in the United States will provide an introduction to critical themes in the history of city schools and will frame each section with an overview of urban education research during particular periods in US history.

With Visual Habits, Rebecca Sullivan brings this unexamined history of nuns to the fore, revisiting the intersection of three distinct movements - the Second Vatican Council, the second wave of feminism, and the sexual revolution - to explore the pivotal role nuns played in revamping cultural expectations of femininity and feminism.

Represents a microcosm which reflects the unity and diversity of the members of the order. Challenged by their long tradition of community and service, they look forward to new women of promise who seek to join them in their on going gospel commitment.

Articles describing Loyola's Men's Basketball Team experience in the 2018 NCAA Basketball Tournament

Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections compilation of Loyola memories from March Madness 2018

Browse issues of the student newspaper at Loyola during the 1962-1963 NCAA championship season

Loyola University Chicago Digital Special Collections exhibit on the history of sports at Loyola, including the origin of the Ramblers name

This collection aims to capture the national and international reaction to Sister Jean Dolores Schmidt, BVM, during the 2018 March Madness tournament. Sister Jean, then 98 year-old chaplain for Loyola University Chicago's Men's basketball team, captured the hearts of people all over the world. She became the subject of countless news articles, videos, and memes. This collection contains material from a wide range of sources to show how Sister Jean infiltrated not only sports news but also pop culture.

University Archives digital exhibit celebrating women's varsity sports at Loyola

This digital collection includes photographs, slides, and negatives of Mundelein College student activities, faculty, and more.

Explore the history of Mundelein College from its founding in 1929 to its affiliation with Loyola University in 1991.

Part of the Voices from Mundelein Media Portal, you can hear Sister Jean telling her own story in this oral history interview.