Subject Librarian
Where are the books and journals?
The Loyola Library catalog includes a variety of resources, including books and print journals, but where do you locate the physical item in the library?
Cudahy Library, on the Lake Shore Campus, contains the print collections for English language and literature. You can find:
- Print journals on the lower level
- Reference materials on the first floor, in the reference collection (Stack Deck B)
- Books on the second floor
Loyola uses the Library of Congress classification system; materials on language and literature are located in Class P in the following call number ranges, if you would like to browse the stacks:
- PE: English language
Lewis Library, on the Water Tower Campus, contains the print collections for Education. You can find:
- Print journals on level 6 (current) and level 8 (bound)
- Curriculum materials on the sixth floor in the curriculum collection
- Reference materials on the sixth floor in the reference collection
- Books on the ninth floor
Loyola uses the Library of Congress classification system; materials on the theory and practice of education are located in Class L in the following call number ranges if you would like to browse the stacks:
- LB: Theory and practice of education
Use the "Find Books & E-Books" link below to easily access the catalog and start searching for books!
- Find Books & E-BooksUse the library's search to find books. Both physical and e-books will appear in your search results. You can use the facets to limit your results to only e-books or only books we physically have.
Journals
The following journals, available in print or online, may be especially useful for this assignment:
- Composition Forum Composition Forum is an open-access journal for scholars and teachers interested in the intersection of composition theory and pedagogy.
- Composition Studies The oldest independent journal in its field, Composition Studies publishes three issues per year focused on writing instruction. Its editorial leadership is dedicated to inclusive activism.
- The Dangling Modifier A national newsletter produced by peer tutors for peer tutors, The Dangling Modifier originated in the Penn State Writing Center in 1994.
- Peer Review: Emerging Trends and Key Debates in Undergraduate Education A fully online, open-access, multimodal scholarly journal that promotes the work of emerging writing center researchers.
- Praxis The University of Texas, Austin's university writing center has been producing Praxis since 2003. Since 2011, Praxis has been published as a peer-reviewed journal.
- WLN: A Journal of Writing Center Scholarship An open-access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal published quarterly.
- The Writing Center Journal This academic, peer-reviewed journal is the flagship publication of the International Writing Centers Association.
Use the "Find Journals" link below to easily access the catalog and start searching for journals!
- Find JournalsUse the library's search to find journal titles, or use the sidebar on the left to browse journals by category.
Searching Beyond Loyola's Collection
Worldcat and other local institutions can also be searched for resources.
- WorldCat Firstsearch This link opens in a new windowRecords of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
- Additional SearchingCurrent Loyola students, faculty, and staff may borrow items directly from other institutions. View the information under the "Other Options" and "Other Catalogs" heading on the main search page here.