Skip to Main Content

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Library Orientation

Searching in Databases

While searching:

  • Break your search into keywords. Keywords are the most important concepts in your topic and their synonyms. For example:
    • Your topic is: What killed the dinosaurs?
      • Some possible keywords are: dinosaurs, extinction
    • Your topic is: Using drama across the curriculum in a middle school classroom.
      • Some possible keywords are: drama, theater, curriculum, subjects, middle school, elementary, integrated curriculum, etc. 
  • Limit to peer-reviewed journals. That's what your professors expect you to use in your research.
  • Narrow your search. Add a date range, keyword, etc. 
  • Expand keywords with truncation:  bicycl* (retrieves bicycle, bicycles, bicycled, bicycling).
  • Read the abstract of an article to find out if it really is beneficial to your research.
  • Ask for help:  https://libraries.luc.edu/ask

Database Searching Tips from University Librarians

  • LOOK AT THE WHOLE SCREEN FIRST. Before you start searching in an unfamiliar database, look at the whole search screen first. What search tools are available to you? Are there check boxes, limiters, subject headings, indexes, a link to get help?
  • KEEP IT SIMPLE. Search with only the most necessary keywords from your topic and don't use all of them at once. Example (keywords in italics): What are the effects of global warming on the animals in national parks?  You might want to get more specific and search for:  climate change, wildlife, Yellowstone. 
  • FIND A FEW (2-3) RELEVANT ARTICLES. You don't need to start with 20 articles; find a couple of very relevant ones and read those first. You may discover other topics, authors or references or you may decide to change your topic.
  • SEARCH USING SUBJECT HEADINGS.  Browse a database’s Thesaurus or list of Subject Terms to find subject headings relevant to your topic OR use a subject heading link in an article record to search for more articles with that heading. The Using Subject Headings on the next tab explains it better.

Subject Headings can save you a lot of time and frustration by limiting to articles that are right on your topic. 

A subject heading is an assigned word (or phrase) used in a database to describe a concept. Search using this standardized word instead of keywords, so you do not need to worry about synonyms and spelling variations. 

  • Subject headings are assigned to each article by a subject specialist (indexer) who has read the article and determined its main subjects.They usually assign 10 -20 subject headings per article.
  • Subject searching is like using the index in the back of a book.  It directs you to the information on your subject.
  • Subject headings are also called controlled vocabulary terms, descriptors, MeSH terms (PubMed), CINAHL Headings, Index Terms, Tags, etc.
  • Most databases have their own unique subject headings, so when you search a different database, you will need to review their own subject headings.
  • Most databases provide a list (thesaurus) with definitions of their subject headings. Subject Headings are usually organized hierarchically, so you can browse for related, broader, & narrower subject headings.

Subject headings yield very precise, focused searches, so as a general rule of thumb, if there is an appropriate subject heading for one of your concepts--USE IT!

  • Subheadings: Some databases offer subheadings to use with subject headings, so you can focus the search even more.
  • Major Subject Headings: Some databases allow you to search subject headings as "Major", so you only retrieve articles with that subject heading as the main topic of the article.

Please note: Not all databases have subheadings or allow 'major' headings. Check the Help section of the database for clarification.

Why use subject headings?

Keyword searches can results in a large number of irrelevant results.

  • The keyword may appear in the abstract, but it may not be the focus of the article. 
  • The keyword may be used in a different context than you intended. Example: If you search for "AIDS" (disease), your results may include hearing aids, audiovisual aids, clinical aides, teaching aids, etc.

Search by subject headings, keywords or both?

Comprehensive searches usually use a combination of both keywords and subject headings

  • Keywords are great for the initial exploratory searches
  • If there is not a relevant subject heading for a concept, you will need to use your keyword list.
  • You can combine keywords & subject headings in one search.

Comparison Chart

Two ways to locate subject headings:

Method 1: Keyword Search Results

  1. Start with a keyword search
  2. Browse the results looking for relevant articles
  3. Look at the subject headings for each article that are usually listed near the abstract (note: newer articles may not have subject headings assigned yet)
  4. Revise your search using these terms

Method 2:  Browse Thesaurus

Browse the thesaurus (subject heading list), if available. 

Most thesauri include:

  • Subject heading definitions
  • Year the subject heading was added to the thesaurus
  • List of subheadings for that subject heading
  • Related terms
  • Hierarchy with broader and narrower subject headings (good way to find other possible search terms)
  • Some databases allow selecting & searching subject headings from within the thesaurus