Research Guides: Library Orientation: Supplemental Tutorials

Supplemental Tutorials

These tutorials are optional, and are meant to support you.

Research Questions to Your Conclusion (CREDO Reference)
Overview of the research gathering process used to support a thesis or hypothesis. Includes questions students may ask to draw conclusions based on their research findings.
How to Find Relevant Sources (CREDO Reference)
Presents search as a process that requires flexibility and open mindedness. Includes strategies to help students navigate towards the most relevant results.
How to Avoid Bias in Your Searches (CREDO Reference)
Encourages students to use neutral terminology to retrieve the most objective and relevant sources. Directs students to seek a balanced understanding of their research topic by consulting a variety of sources.
How to Select a Topic (CREDO Reference)
Reminds students that research is a process that requires flexibility and curiosity. Includes strategies to make connections between ideas and form a focused research question.
Using Pre-Research to Understand Your Topic (CREDO Reference)
Reminds students to make use of a variety of source types and background resources to fully understand their research topic. Includes strategies for locating related sources and other avenues of research.
What To Do When Your Topic is Too Broad (CREDO Reference)
Introduces students to strategies for refining the scope of a research topic. Encourages students to engage in reflection and revision based on the analysis of their search results.
Why You Need Many Sources (CREDO Reference)
Encourages students to seek out multiple sources of information in order to gain a fuller understanding of their research topic Reminds students not to analyze information in isolation. Instead, students are encouraged to make connections between sources to get a sense of the full picture.
Synthesizing Research (CREDO Reference)
Provides overview on sythesis - the process of finding connections between different perspectives and sources of evidence to come up with an accurate, evidence-based conclusion or explanation.
Paraphrasing (CREDO Reference)
When presenting your research findings, you can quote, paraphrase, or summarize to capture the original meaning of your sources. This video takes a look at the process.
Using Images (CREDO Reference)
Helps learners evaluate and select images that are appropriate for research assignments.

Hoonuit (Formerly Known as Atomic Learning)
An online, on demand, training site that offers over 50,000 tutorial videos on over 250 technology applications, including Microsoft and Adobe. Topics are subdivided into very small chunks, and presented in videos of one or two minutes, so learners can easily and quickly find the training they need on specific topics.
EBSCO database tutorials
EBSCO provides LUC libraries with access to Academic Search Complete, Alternative Press Index, America: History and Life, Anthropology Plus, ATLA Religion Index with ATLA Serials, Child Development & Adolescent Studies, CINAHL Plus with Full-text, Criminal Justice Abstracts, Education Research Complete, Educational Administration Abstracts, ERIC Via Ebsco, Index Islamicus, Reader's Guide Retrospective, Social Work Abstracts, Wilson OmniFile Full-Text Select, and Women's Studies International.
OVID SP database tutorials
OVID provides LUC libraries with access to PsycInfo, Medline, OldMedline, Books (selected by LUC), Full Text Journals (selected by LUC), Joanna Brigs Institute EBP, ACP Journal, the EBM Reviews databases, Biological Abstracts, ERIC, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Nursing, PsycCritiques, and OVID Table of Contents.
Proquest database tutorials
Proquest provides LUC Libraries with access to ABI/Inform, American Periodicals (1740-1940), Chicago Tribune (1985-current), Dissertations and Theses, ebrary, Environmental Abstracts, ERIC, GenderWatch, MLA International Bibliography, Civil War Era, Historical Newspapers (Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times), Newsstand, Social Services Abstract, Sociological Abstracts, Vogue Archive and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. This link is to the Proquest Training channel on Youtube.

Overview of the Social Work Research Guide

Since the LUC Libraries have a broad and robust collection of research materials, the subject specialists in each area have created guides to the materials you are most like to use in their areas. The tutorial hear is designed to give you a quick overview of the guide for Social Work. As you walk through the sections of the guide, major tools will be pointed out. Please feel free to take your time exploring the pages in the guide.

Move the browser and tutorial windows around so you can see both in your monitor's resolution.

Start the Tutorial

Loyola University Chicago Libraries

Library Orientation

Supplemental Tutorials

SAGE Student Success Tutorials