SOCL 121 - Dr. Krogh - Sociology - LibGuides at Loyola University Chicago

Finding Reference Sources

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Multidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks.

Search by Subject grouping: Social Science
- International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences
- Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender

CQ Researcher
Comprehensive reports about current events; including social, economic, political, and environmental issues. Coverage: 1923 - present.
Opposing Viewpoints
Comprehensive information on social issues with different perspectives.
ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes congressional publications, Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking and research reports from the Congressional Research Service and LRS.

Finding Encyclopedias

Tip: When searching by keyword in the library catalog, use the limiter on the right for Resource Type. Then limit to Reference Entries. The results will be from handbooks and encyclopedias that we have available online.

Finding Books

LUC Library Catalog
A search tool for finding books, journal articles, media, and other materials in the library collection.
WorldCat Discovery
Records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete
Full-text articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources that covering a broad range of academic study.

Covers anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journal articles and ebooks related to the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Coverage: 2-5 years from current.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes from international journals in sociology, social psychology, and behavioral sciences. Coverage: 1952 - current.

Finding Newspaper Articles

News Resources
Loyola provides access to a variety of news and current events resources, from current subscriptions to archives of historical newspapers and magazines.

Loyola offers free website access for the Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post!