Focus on Alternative News Sources
- Alternative Press Index (Loyola Subscription) Indexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines presenting alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
- Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990) (Loyola Subscription) Indexes 700 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines presenting alternative viewpoints on internationally significant subjects.
- AlterNet Produced by the Independent Media Institute, a nonprofit organization that focuses on promoting, and providing suport for, alternative news sources.
Selected News Web Sites
- BBC World News Service
International radio broadcaster from the United Kingdom. - CNN
News web site for the Cable News Network. - National Public Radio (NPR)
National Public Radio produces and distributes noncommercial news, talk, and entertainment programming. It is a privately supported, not-for-profit membership organization. - SCOLA
A non-profit educational organization that receives and re-transmits television programming from around the word in native languages. - Voice of America
The Voice of America, which first went on the air in 1942, is a multimedia international broadcasting service funded by the U.S. government through the Broadcasting Board of Governors. VOA broadcasts more than 1,000 hours of news, information, educational - World News Network
The World News (WN) Network was founded in 1995 and launched online in 1998, with the primary objective of being the most comprehensive, one-stop news resource on the Internet. Today, World News has over 20,000 global thematic and regional news sites - en - World Press Review
English-language digest of international press coverage.
Current Issues
- CQ Researcher Weekly reports on topics and issues covered in the news. Provides background information, relevant statistics, pro/con statements, recommended reading, and more.
- Access World News -- Special Reports NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms. New
Local Interest
- Illinois Newspaper Project (INP) | University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Part of the U.S. Newspaper Program (USNP), a cooperative project to identify, catalog, and preserve the nation's historical newspapers. Includes a web-based searchable database of all newspapers discovered and preserved through the project. All microfilm
Online Newspaper Subscriptions
- Chicago Sun Times (1986 - ) Complete electronic full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- Chicago Tribune (1985 - ) Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
- New York Times (2000 - ) Full-text electronic edition of the New York Times from 2000-current issue. For older issues, see the Historical edition. Advertisements are not included.
Subscription News Services
- Access World News Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international.
- Factiva Over 6,000 full-text newspapers and trade journals. Company, industry, country and market research reports. Histories on securities, dividends and exchange rates.
- LexisNexis Access over 6,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Mideastwire.com A daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
- Newspaper Source Provides selected full text for U.S. and international newspapers including: The New York Daily News, The Chicago Tribune, The Times (London), and The Christian Science Monitor. Includes full text television & radio news transcripts.
Newspaper Archives
- Access Newspaper Archive (Loyola Subscription) Access Newspaper Archive contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s.
- Chronicling America - The Library of Congress Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910. Jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Google News -- News Archive Search 100+ digitized newspaper backfiles. Content may be freely accessible or require a fee. Loyola subscribed content discovered through the News Archive Search is not identifiable. Ask a librarian before paying fees.
- Historical Newspapers (Proquest) (Loyola Subscription) Allows cross-searching of the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975) and the New York Times (1850-2001).
Newspaper Images
- AP Images (Associated Press)
One of the largest collections of historical and contemporary imagery. AP photographers have captured the greatest moments in history, news, sports and entertainment. - Historical Newspapers (Proquest)
Includes the Chicago Tribune (1890-1985), the Chicago Defender (1905 -1975), and the New York Times (1850-2001). Use the "more options" feature to limit to illustrations or photographs. - Photographs from the Chicago Daily News: 1902-1933 Includes 55,000 images captured on glass plate negatives between 1902 and 1933 by photographers of the Chicago Daily News.
Online Newspaper Directories
- Gale Database of Publications and Broadcast Media Provides information on some 52,000 publications and over 12,400 radio and television stations and cable TV companies.
- Ulrich's Periodical Directory Bibliographic database providing detailed information on serials published throughout the world. Covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
- Chronicling America (Library of Congress) -- Search Newspaper Directory Search or brose the directory of newspapers published in a particular place and time. Use keywords to locate specific titles and subjects.
Print Newspaper Directories
- Bacon’s Newspaper Directory
Call Number: Lewis Ready Reference HD 59 .B32
A directory of daily and weekly newspapers news services syndicates.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info:
Cudahy Library
Loyola University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
6525 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626
Phone: 773-508-2637
Fax: 773-508-2993
Send Email
Subjects:
General Reference, History, Asian Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies
Cudahy Library
Loyola University Libraries
Loyola University Chicago
6525 N. Sheridan Road
Chicago, IL 60626
Phone: 773-508-2637
Fax: 773-508-2993
Send Email
Subjects:
General Reference, History, Asian Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies
LOCLnews

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait