Essential tools for starting and managing your research process. These resources help you work more efficiently and avoid common research pitfalls.
New to research? Start with our Introduction to Library Research for step-by-step guidance.
Need citation help? Visit our Citations for comprehensive formatting guides and reference management tools.
- Credo Reference - Articles from reference sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries on a variety of topics. Also includes tutorials on research basics
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - Multidisciplinary collection of full-text reference ebooks
- Oxford Reference Online - Full-text multidisciplinary encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference titles (limited to 5 simultaneous users)
- Sage Knowledge - Full-text encyclopedic entries covering topics in social sciences
Search & Discovery Systems
Statistical Analysis Software
Information Technology Services provide access to statistical software and support for data analysis:
- SPSS - Statistical package for social sciences
- R and RStudio - Open-source statistical computing environment
- Stata - Statistical software package for data analysis
- SAS - Advanced analytics and statistical software
Image Search
- AP Newsroom - Photographs, graphics, charts, news stories, and audio clips provided by the Associated Press
Research Evaluation & Source Analysis
- Journal Citation Reports (JCR) - Provides citation data on multidisciplinary scholarly journals for evaluation and comparison (Coverage: 1997-present)
For more about research impact, see the Bibliometrics guide from MIT Libraries or learn about alternative metrics beyond traditional citation counts.
Reviews & Literary Analysis
Need Help?
Questions about choosing or using research tools? Contact Research & Learning for personalized assistance or schedule a research appointment for in-depth guidance.
