Using the Library: Home

Access Loyola University Chicago Libraries services and resources, both in-person and online. This cheat-sheet provides an overview to help you make the most of your library’s resources and services. This is a great page to bookmark!

For a gentle introduction, start with our Welcome to the Library guide.

Need immediate help? Ask a librarian - we can help you plan your visit, confirm availability of specific collections, and provide guidance on making the most of your time at the Library.

Quick Access

Borrowing & Renewing Policy

Check out and renew items online through My Library Account. Request items from any campus through the Library Catalog. Most materials renew automatically unless requested by another user.

Standard loan periods:

• Undergraduates: 6 weeks
• Graduate students: end of semester
• Faculty: 1 year
• Films: 5 days (all users)

See our Borrowing & Renewals page for complete borrowing policies: limits, special materials, and visitor access.

• Borrowing & Renewals
• Requesting Items
• Returning Items
• Fines & Fees

Visiting In Person

All Loyola library locations welcome students, faculty, staff, and visitors during regular hours. Each campus offers specialized collections, services, and study environments.

• Getting Here: See campus maps and directions for all Loyola locations
• Current Hours: See Hours
• Library Locations: Visit Places for detailed information about all library locations and facilities

Lake Shore Campus

Cudahy Library

• Main collections for humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
• Quiet study areas and group spaces.
• University Archives & Special Collections (by appointment only)

Information Commons

• Technology center and collaborative learning.
• Computer labs and multimedia workstations.
• Group study rooms and open seating.
• Assistive technology room (Room 229).

Women and Leadership Archives (Piper Hall)

• Women’s history collections (by appointment only)

Water Tower Campus

Lewis Library

• Business, education, communication, and social work.
• Individual and group study rooms (floors 6, 8, 9).
• Children’s books and curriculum materials.
• Silent study spaces on 8th floor.
• Assistive technology room (Room 910).

Law Library

• Legal resources for Law School community

Health Sciences Campus (Maywood)

Health Sciences Library

• Medical, nursing, and health sciences collections.
• Specialized health sciences databases and resources.
• Study spaces designed for health sciences students.

Rome Center (Italy)

Rome Center Library

• Resources and support for study abroad students.
• International research collections.
• Support for students studying in Rome.

Study Amenities (All Locations)

• Book a study room - for group work or quiet study
• Study Tools - Whiteboards, markers, and study aids available at service desks
• Food & Drink - Covered beverages and quiet snacks welcome in most areas
• Accessibility - All locations provide accessible entrances, elevators, and assistive technology services
• Special Collections - University Archives and Special Collections, and the Women and Leadership Archives, require advance appointments - we encourage you to contact us before your visit to confirm availability of specific collections.

Technology & Support

• See Technology Access - Connect to WiFi, find computers, and get started with printing

Working Online

Access the full range of library services and collections from anywhere.

Most resources require your Loyola login credentials. Most resources are available 24/7 with Loyola login, from campus or at home.

Off-campus connectivity - See our off-campus access guide for database access and VPN setup.

• Search Our Collections - Books, articles, media, and digital materials
• Browse Databases - Subject-specific research tools
• Research Guides - Librarian-curated resources by topic
• Request Items - Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for materials we don’t own
• Course Reserves - Materials set aside by instructors
• Chat with a Librarian - Real-time assistance during business hours
• Schedule a Research Consultation - One-on-one help with projects
• Distance Education Services - Support for online learners

For Visitors & Alumni

Visitors Welcome: The University Libraries welcome visitors to our spaces and to consult our collections during regular hours.

Getting Access: Check in at any library service desk with current, government-issued photo ID.

What You Can Access:

• Browse collections in open stack areas
• Use library spaces for study and research
• Access reference assistance from librarians
• Use Wi-Fi and public computers (with ID)

Restrictions: Some electronic resources are limited to Loyola-affiliated users. See complete visitor policies for details.

• Alumni Services - Learn about alumni access to resources and borrowing privileges
• Special Collections Access - Both University Archives & Special Collections and Women and Leadership Archives require advance appointments for access

Getting Help

• Research Questions - Ask a librarian through chat, email, or appointment
• Technical Issues - Contact ITS for computer, Wi-Fi, or login problems
• New to Research? - Start with our Introduction to Library Research for step-by-step guidance.

Remember: Learning to use library resources effectively takes practice. We’re here to help you succeed!