Loyola University Chicago Libraries are committed to providing equal access to information and library services for all. We design our services and spaces to be usable by everyone, removing barriers that interfere with effective research and learning. We follow the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) standards for physical accessibility and work toward WCAG 2.2 AA compliance for digital resources.
If you have accessibility needs not listed below, please reach out to libraries@luc.edu so we can assist in any accommodations.
Course materials: Contact Student Accessibility Center at sac@luc.edu for textbooks and course readings in accessible formats. There may be processing delays, so contact SAC as early as possible. For questions about specific items or if you’re not a Loyola student, email Chris Martin.
We maintain fully equipped assistive technology rooms for intensive research and study:
Equipment includes :
Contact the Student Accessibility Center at sac@luc.edu for room access and equipment training.
Quiet study spaces: All libraries provide designated quiet areas with additional support:
Physical access: Due to Cudahy Library’s historic architecture, some older shelving areas are physically inaccessible. Our staff provides full assistance in retrieving materials. Use our online catalog to place holds for pick-up at any circulation desk. If you find another physical barrier while using the library, please ask the Circulation Desk for assistance.
For interlibrary loan items, you can register an ILL proxy to authorize someone else to pick up materials for you.
Room reservations: Book accessible study rooms with features like adjustable furniture, proximity to accessible restrooms, and assistive technology compatibility.
Large-print collection: While our on-site large-print collection is limited, we can request large-print materials through interlibrary loan. In the notes section of the ILLiad request, please say that you are requesting the item in large print for accessibility reasons.
Format conversion: We provide conversion services for print materials to digital text, audio, or other accessible formats as needed.
E-books and digital texts: Most of our digital collections include accessibility features such as:
Most library eBook content can be read with JAWS. In general, any article or book available in PDF can be downloaded and read aloud in Adobe Acrobat. Screens can be enlarged either with software (Chromebook, ZoomText) or hardware (portable or handheld CCTV). eBooks created in HTML are easily accessible using the JAWS reader.
Video resources : Search our catalog for “close* caption*” (with quotation marks) and filter by “DVD/Streaming Video” to find closed-captioned content. Most streaming platforms include captioning options.
Accessibility features in research databases vary significantly between vendors and change frequently. This is because many library databases come multinational companies. EBSCO, Gale and ProQuest provide a substantial number of databases, and these vendors are compliant with Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act and/or W3C WAI WCAG 2.0.
We provide consultations to identify accessible resources for your research, including:
The University Libraries offer streaming videos from various vendors. Alexander Street Press, Kanopy, and Films on Demand provide closed captioning and interactive transcripts for most content. Interactive transcripts are synchronized with the video, will highlight the text spoken as the video plays, and are searchable. If you find a video on these platforms that do not have these services, please contact us at libraries@luc.edu.
We work toward WCAG 2.2 AA accessibility standards for library websites, catalog interfaces, and digital collections where technically feasible. University Libraries web and digital resources are created to meet WCAG 2.0 standards. For vendor-provided resources, we advocate for accessibility improvements and provide alternative access methods when barriers exist.
Unfortunately, the library cannot make statements about all resources listed on our site. Vendors regularly implement, change, and sometimes remove accessibility features. Furthermore, accessibility within a specific resource may vary. Because of this, there are instances where we need to work with you on a case-by-case basis.
Report accessibility issues: Contact libsyshelp@luc.edu for prompt assistance with digital accessibility barriers.
We actively seek feedback to improve our accessibility services. Contact us at libraries@luc.edu with suggestions, concerns, or ideas to better serve you. Your input helps us identify usability barriers, implement practical improvements, and ensure our systems work effectively.
