Alumni Services: Home

Table of Contents

All Loyola graduates, including those from our specialized schools and international programs, are welcome to use alumni library services. 

Getting Started

1. Obtain your Alumni Card through the Campus Card Offices. Apply in person and bring a government-issued photo ID. For more information, review the Alumni Card Information page.
2. Visit any library location with your card to set up computer access - see our Using the Library guide for complete information about visiting in person
3. Consider Friends of the Libraries membership for expanded borrowing and programming benefits.
4. Connect to guest WiFi immediately with any personal device.

Library Access and Services

What You Can Access

• Browse print collections during open hours for all locations →
• Borrow up to 100 items at a time from all library locations
• Request materials from other Loyola campuses for pickup at your preferred location
• Use Wi-Fi and public computers (with guest ID) to browse our Database A to Z list when you arrive on campus.   
• Some databases have licensing restrictions preventing access by alumni and in-person visitors, including:
  • Passport GMID
  • SciFinder Scholar
  • Web of Science Databases - Journal Reports
  • Arts and Humanities & Science Citation Indexes
  • Web of Science

Workstation Locations

• Lake Shore Campus: 4 workstations in Cudahy Library 1st floor
• Water Tower Campus: 4 workstations in Lewis Library (2 on 6th floor, 2 on 9th floor)

Electronic Resource Off-Campus Usage Restrictions

Off-campus access to most electronic resources (databases, e-journals, and e-books) are restricted to current Loyola students, faculty, and staff due to licensing agreements with publishers.   See complete visitor policies for details. 

Enhanced Benefits Through Friends of the Libraries

Consider joining the Friends of the Libraries for expanded access and borrowing privileges:

Basic Membership ($50)

• Access to databases using designated workstations
• Expanded facility access during all open hours
• Invitations to Friends events and special programs

Borrowing Membership ($100-$250)

• Full borrowing privileges for you and your spouse/partner
• Reserved seating at events
• Invitations to exclusive author receptions

Friends membership also connects you with a community of book lovers and provides opportunities to support library collections and programming.

Questions and Support

• General Library Information: libraries.LUC.edu
• Alumni Relations Office: LUC.edu/alumni
• Friends of the Libraries: jcheng5@LUC.edu or 773.508.2616

For comprehensive information about guest and alumni computer access, visit the Guest & Alumni Access page. For general technology help, see our Technology Help page.