Whether you’re new to academic libraries or need to clarify unfamiliar terminology, this glossary provides explanations with links to more detailed information.
The design of library services, spaces, and resources to be usable by people with disabilities. Includes physical access, assistive technology, alternative formats, and inclusive digital design.
At Loyola: We provide assistive technology rooms , screen reader compatible resources, and accommodation services for users with disabilities.
More info: Accessibility
Alma is the library management system that library staff use behind the scenes to catalog materials, manage patron accounts, and process requests. Developed by Ex Libris (now Clarivate), Alma handles circulation, acquisitions, and electronic resource access. Students and faculty primarily interact with Alma's public interface through Primo VE.
At Loyola: Staff access Alma through the staff login portal, and users can find Ex Libris documentation online.
More info: Discovery
Former students who have graduated from Loyola University Chicago. Alumni have access to library buildings, borrowing privileges, and limited electronic resources with proper identification.
At Loyola: Alumni services include building access with Alumni Association membership and borrowing up to 100 items.
More info: Alumni Services
Collections of historical documents, records, and materials preserved for research and historical value. Archives contain unique, often irreplaceable primary sources that document the activities of organizations, institutions, or individuals.
At Loyola: University Archives & Special Collections preserves Loyola’s institutional history, and the Women and Leadership Archives documents women’s roles and contributions to society.
More info: Archives
ArchivesSpace (by Lyrasis) is an open-source archives information management system used to describe and provide access to archival and manuscript collections. It creates finding aids and collection records that help researchers discover and use archival materials.
At Loyola: ArchivesSpace supports our University Archives & Special Collections and Women and Leadership Archives finding aids and collection descriptions.
More info: University Archives
A piece of writing published in a journal, magazine, newspaper, or other periodical. Scholarly articles are written by experts and peer-reviewed, making them reliable sources for academic research.
At Loyola: Find articles through our Collections Search or specialized databases.
More info: Finding Articles
A service providing research assistance through multiple communication channels. Available for quick questions, research guidance, and connecting users with appropriate resources.
At Loyola: Available 24/7 through chat, email, phone, and in-person consultation at all library locations.
More info: Ask a Librarian
A recording of a book being read aloud, available for listening on computers, smartphones, tablets, or dedicated audio devices. Academic libraries increasingly offer audiobook collections alongside print and e-books.
At Loyola: Access audiobooks through the Libby app using your Loyola credentials.
More info: Audiobooks
A service that creates professional hardcover versions of documents, typically used for theses, dissertations, and other important academic works.
At Loyola: Professional binding services available for $25 per copy with 5-7 week turnaround time.
More info: Binding Services
A list of sources (books, articles, websites, etc.) used in research or recommended for further reading. Also called “References” (APA style), “Works Cited” (MLA style), or “Sources” depending on citation style.
At Loyola: Get help creating bibliographies through our citation guides and citation management tools.
More info: Citations
A unique identifier assigned to library materials that indicates their location on the shelf. Call numbers group materials by subject, making it easier to browse related items.
At Loyola: Our libraries use the Library of Congress Classification system. Use call numbers to locate books in Cudahy , Lewis , and other library locations.
More info: Using the Library
A searchable database of all materials owned by a library, including books, journals, videos, and digital resources. Modern library catalogs are called discovery systems because they search multiple resources simultaneously.
At Loyola: Our catalog uses Primo , which searches across books, articles, and digital collections from all Loyola libraries.
More info: Discovery
The service point where you check out and return library materials, pay fines, pick up holds, and get help with your library account.
At Loyola: Circulation desks are located at Cudahy Library , Lewis Library , Health Sciences Library , and other locations.
More info: Library Locations
Real-time research assistance provided through instant messaging or chat interfaces. Allows immediate help with research questions, database access, and library services.
At Loyola: Available 24/7 through our Ask a Librarian service , staffed by Loyola librarians during business hours and partner AJCU libraries after hours.
More info: Ask a Librarian
A reference to a source that provides enough information for readers to locate the original material. Citations give credit to authors and allow verification of research claims.
At Loyola: We provide comprehensive citation guides for APA, MLA, Chicago, and other academic styles.
More info: Citations
A group of library materials organized by subject, format, or purpose. Collections may be physical (books on shelves) or digital (online databases and e-books).
At Loyola: Explore our diverse collections including books, streaming media, digital archives, and specialized subject collections.
More info: Collections
CollectiveAccess is an open-source collections management system used by museums, archives, and libraries to catalog and manage digital and physical collections. It provides tools for creating detailed metadata and relationships between collection items.
At Loyola: CollectiveAccess supports metadata management for our digital collections and special collections materials.
More info: Digital Collections
Legal protection for creative works that gives creators exclusive rights to reproduce, distribute, and display their work. Understanding copyright is essential for academic research and teaching.
At Loyola: Get guidance on copyright compliance for research, course reserves, and teaching materials.
More info: Copyright Information
Materials set aside by instructors for specific classes, available for short-term borrowing with special loan periods. Reserves ensure all students can access required readings.
At Loyola: Search for reserve materials by instructor name or course . Items may have 4-hour (in-library use) or 3-day loan periods.
More info: Course Reserves
A searchable collection of information, typically containing journal articles, books, or other specialized content. Academic databases focus on scholarly materials in specific subject areas.
At Loyola: Browse our complete database list or find recommended databases through subject guides .
More info: Databases
Historical documents, photographs, and other materials that have been digitized and made available online. Digital collections preserve unique materials while making them accessible to researchers worldwide.
At Loyola: Explore our digital collections featuring Loyola history, Chicago area materials, and specialized research collections.
More info: Digital Collections
A unified search interface that allows users to search across multiple library resources (catalog, databases, digital collections) simultaneously. Modern library catalogs are discovery systems.
At Loyola: Our discovery system is Primo , accessible through the Collections Search on our homepage.
More info: Discovery
A permanent link to an online article or document that remains valid even if the web address changes. DOIs typically begin with “10.” and provide the most reliable way to access scholarly articles. Example: https://doi.org/10.1080/02763877.2016.1157778
More info: Articles
A digital version of a book that can be read on computers, tablets, or e-readers. Academic e-books often include search features and may allow multiple simultaneous users.
At Loyola: Access thousands of e-books through our collections , available 24/7 with your Loyola login.
More info: E-books
eCommons is Loyola's institutional repository that preserves and provides open access to research, scholarship, and creative works created by the university community. Part of the Digital Commons Network from BePress (now part of Elsevier), eCommons includes faculty publications, student theses and dissertations, conference proceedings, and digital collections.
At Loyola: Access eCommons to browse faculty scholarship, student work, and digital collections, or to submit your own publications.
More info: Faculty Scholarship
See Course Reserves
EndNote is a citation management software that helps researchers collect, organize, and format bibliographic references. Available to current Loyola students, faculty, and staff.
At Loyola: Download EndNote through ITS services or get training through our citation tools guide .
More info: Citation Tools
Teaching and research staff at the university who have enhanced library privileges including extended loan periods, course reserves, and research support services.
At Loyola: Faculty receive priority research assistance, course integration support, and access to specialized services for faculty .
More info: Services
A membership organization that supports library programs, collections, and services through donations and advocacy. Members receive enhanced library privileges and event access.
At Loyola: Join the Friends of the Libraries for expanded borrowing privileges, special events, and community programming.
More info: Friends of the Libraries
The complete content of an article, book, or document, not just a summary or citation. Full-text access allows you to read the entire source.
At Loyola: Look for “PDF,” “HTML,” or “View Online” links in search results, or use the “Find It @ Loyola” button to locate full-text access.
More info: Articles
Web pages created by librarians that organize the best resources for specific subjects, courses, or research topics. Research guides save time by pointing you to the most relevant databases and sources.
At Loyola: Browse research guides by academic discipline or course, created by our subject specialist librarians.
More info: Research Guides
What a library owns or has access to, including physical and electronic materials. Holdings information shows you which volumes, years, or issues are available.
At Loyola: Check holdings information in our catalog to see what years of a journal we have or whether an e-book is available.
More info: Discovery
The times when library buildings and services are available to users. Hours vary by location, academic calendar, and special circumstances.
At Loyola: Current hours for all locations are posted online and updated for breaks, finals, and special events.
More info: Library Hours
A database that lists articles by subject, author, and title, helping researchers find relevant sources. Some indexes include abstracts (summaries) and full-text content.
At Loyola: Many of our databases are indexes that help you find articles in your field of study.
More info: Databases
A library space that combines traditional library services with technology resources, collaborative learning areas, and multimedia capabilities.
At Loyola: The Information Commons on Lake Shore Campus provides computer labs, study rooms, and technology support alongside library services.
More info: Information Commons
A service that allows you to request books and articles from other libraries when Loyola doesn’t own them. ILL expands your access to materials from libraries worldwide.
At Loyola: Request materials through ILLiad at no cost. Most requests arrive within 1-2 weeks.
More info: Interlibrary Loan
A scholarly publication that contains multiple articles on related topics, usually published regularly (monthly, quarterly, etc.). Journals are the primary way scholars share research findings.
At Loyola: Search our journal collection or find journal articles through databases and our discovery system .
More info: Journals
A formal statement recognizing the Indigenous peoples who originally inhabited the land where an institution is located. Land acknowledgements honor Indigenous sovereignty and ongoing connections to the land.
At Loyola: Read our Land Acknowledgement recognizing the Council of the Three Fires and other tribes whose ancestral homelands we occupy.
More info: Acknowledgements
A browser extension that automatically provides access to full-text articles available through your library’s subscriptions while browsing the web.
At Loyola: Install LibKey Nomad for seamless access to library resources from Google Scholar, PubMed, and publisher websites.
More info: LibKey Nomad
A librarian with expertise in specific academic disciplines who provides research assistance, creates research guides, and develops collections in their subject areas.
At Loyola: Find your subject librarian for personalized research assistance and collection recommendations.
More info: Directory
See Catalog
A standardized format for library catalog records that allows libraries to share bibliographic information. MARC records contain detailed information about books, articles, and other materials.
At Loyola: MARC records in our catalog provide comprehensive details about library materials including subject headings, call numbers, and descriptions.
More info: Discovery
A publication that reports current events and news, published daily or weekly. Academic research may use newspapers as primary sources for historical events or contemporary analysis.
At Loyola: Access current and historical newspapers through our news resources , including free access to the New York Times , Wall Street Journal , and Washington Post .
More info: News Resources
A 2021 initiative to align all Loyola University Chicago libraries (University Libraries, Health Sciences Library, and Law Library) into a unified system serving the entire university community.
At Loyola: Learn about the One Loyola Library task force and strategic vision for integrated library services.
More info: One Loyola
Omeka is an open source web publishing platform designed for creating digital collections and scholarly online exhibitions. It allows users to organize items, create metadata, and build narrative exhibits around digital materials.
At Loyola: Omeka hosts our Digital Special Collections and various digital exhibits showcasing archival materials and historical collections.
More info: Digital Collections
Scholarly materials made freely available online without subscription or payment barriers. Open access increases the visibility and impact of research.
At Loyola: We support open access through eCommons , our institutional repository for faculty scholarship and student research.
More info: eCommons
A person who uses library services and resources. Academic libraries serve multiple patron types including students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members.
At Loyola: Different patron types have different borrowing privileges and access levels based on their relationship to the university.
More info: Borrowing
A process where experts in a field evaluate scholarly articles before publication to ensure quality and accuracy. Peer-reviewed sources are considered more reliable for academic research.
At Loyola: Use peer-review filters in databases to find scholarly sources, or ask librarians for help identifying credible sources.
More info: Articles
A general term for publications issued regularly (journals, magazines, newspapers). The term encompasses both scholarly journals and popular magazines.
At Loyola: Find periodicals through our catalog and databases .
More info: Journals
Official rules and guidelines governing the use of library services, spaces, and resources. Policies ensure fair access and appropriate use of library materials.
At Loyola: Review our library policies for information on access, conduct, borrowing, and usage guidelines.
More info: Policies
Activities designed to maintain and protect library materials for future use. Includes both physical preservation of books and digital preservation of electronic resources.
At Loyola: Our preservation efforts include climate-controlled storage, digitization projects, and professional binding services .
More info: Digital Collections
Preservica is a digital preservation platform that ensures long-term access to digital materials through format migration, redundant storage, and preservation metadata. It provides a secure repository for born-digital and digitized materials.
At Loyola: Access Preservica collections at [https://luc.access.preservica.com/] to browse digitized photographs, documents, yearbooks, and other historical materials.
More info: Digital Collections
Original documents or firsthand evidence from the time period being studied, such as letters, government documents, photographs, or artifacts.
At Loyola: Explore primary sources in our digital collections , University Archives , and Women and Leadership Archives .
More info: Digital Collections
Primo VE is the discovery system that powers "Collections Search" on the library website. Developed by Ex Libris, this system searches across the library catalog, databases, electronic journals, course reserves, and special collections simultaneously to provide comprehensive results in a single interface.
At Loyola: Access Primo VE through our homepage Collections Search or visit our Primo VE instance directly.
More info: Discovery
The protection of user information and research activities. Academic libraries have strong commitments to protecting patron privacy and intellectual freedom.
At Loyola: Read our privacy policy outlining how we protect your personal information and research confidentiality.
More info: Privacy
A system that allows off-campus access to licensed electronic resources by routing connections through the library’s network. Users authenticate with their credentials to access subscription materials.
At Loyola: Our proxy system provides seamless off-campus access to databases and e-journals.
More info: Off-Campus Access
Pure4EGS (or Pure from Elsevier) is a research information management system that creates faculty profile pages showcasing expertise, publications, and research activities. It helps connect faculty with potential collaborators and makes research visible to the broader academic community.
At Loyola: Browse faculty profiles or consult the Pure4EGS user guide for instructions on creating and maintaining your profile.
More info: Faculty Scholarship
A service point staffed by librarians who provide research assistance, answer questions, and help users find information and resources.
At Loyola: Get research help at reference desks in the Information Commons , Cudahy Library , and Lewis Library , or use our 24/7 chat service .
More info: Research Help
See Course Reserves
A source that analyzes, interprets, or discusses primary sources or events. Most scholarly articles and books are secondary sources that build upon primary evidence.
At Loyola: Find secondary sources through our databases and research guides .
More info: Research Guides
A publication issued in parts over time, such as journals, magazines, newspapers, or annual reports. Serials are distinguished from books, which are typically published once.
At Loyola: Search for serials through our catalog and journal directory .
More info: Journals
Standardized terms used to describe the topics covered in books and articles. Subject headings help you find materials on the same topic even when authors use different terminology.
At Loyola: Use subject headings from relevant results to find additional materials on your topic.
More info: Search Strategies
A librarian with expertise in specific academic disciplines who provides research assistance, creates research guides, and develops collections in their subject areas.
At Loyola: Find your subject librarian for personalized research assistance and collection recommendations.
More info: Directory
WordPress is an open source content management system used to create websites and blogs. In academic libraries, WordPress often hosts digital collections, conference websites, and collaborative research platforms.
At Loyola: WordPress powers various digital projects including scholarly websites and digital collections that complement our repository and exhibition platforms.
More info: Digital Services
WorldCat (from OCLC) is the world’s largest library catalog, containing records from thousands of libraries worldwide. WorldCat helps you find materials and identify which libraries own them.
At Loyola: Use WorldCat to find materials not available at Loyola, then request them through Interlibrary Loan.
More info: Interlibrary Loan
If you encounter library terms not defined here, or need clarification on any definition:
Last updated: 2025-08-14
